Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Sony HD-200 Reciever plus directv slimline dish


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   duckland23

duckland23

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
  • Locationwisconsin
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Posted 17 September 2013 - 09:26 PM

Hi

 

Im wanting to upgrade to directv hd , but my question is will the sony hd-200 receiver work with the slimline dish . I only have two LMB'S on it .also the dish is pointing up and down not like some of the dishes I see on youtube . Im wanting to buy this receiver for because its got a built in over the air hdtv tuner in it so I can watch stations from Chicago . Directv don't offer these channels for local programming just the channels from Milwaukee ,WI . So I wanted to know that I need to do first .



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 995 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 17 September 2013 - 09:39 PM

It will work, but you won't get Directv hd channels with it. It uses the older mpeg2 technology, Directv hd is now mpeg4. You can use it as a stand alone ota tuner and it will get the ota channels in hd.


Edited by studechip, 17 September 2013 - 09:40 PM.


#3 ONLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,081 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 18 September 2013 - 06:22 AM

And it won't work with the SWM slimline, which is what the installer will want to use.



#4 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 18 September 2013 - 06:55 AM

duckland, just get any current HR2x model and order an AM21 from your on-line acct.  It will allow you to integrate all the OTA channels into any of the current HD models Directv supports






spam firewall