Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR44 HR24 Whole Home DVR broken


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   logdy

logdy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationPhoenix
Joined: Sep 18, 2013

Posted 18 September 2013 - 05:29 PM

Hi.. 1st post.. I just received my Genie and installed it Sunday. I moved my HR24 to the bedroom. Went through the installs and the Genie and HR24 work well on their own. But I can't see either from any DVR. My Hr 24 now has the wireless connection kit hooked up. I also can't get to the internet from the HR24.

 

I used to have the HR24 and the older (non-DVR) working well with the whole home working well with the non-DVR unit.. It seems like this is a real crap shoot getting the damn HR44-HR24 to work..



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 18 September 2013 - 06:13 PM

Under Whole Home - it says you are authorized right?

 

Go under Menu -> Settings -> Whole-Home -> Status and see if it says "Whole-Home DVR: Authorized"

 

Also - logon to Directv.com and look at "My Equipment" - make sure your Genie says "Genie HD-DVR" and not "Unknown Device".

 

If it says Unknown Device - you need to call Directv and see if they can get it changed to a Genie HD-DVR.

 

When you only have 1 device recognized in the system, DTV will not authorize Whole Home since you only have 1 Whole Home capable receiver.  

 

This could be the problem - but there could be other issues as well - would need more information about how your receivers are connected to better help you troubleshoot.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#3 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,864 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 18 September 2013 - 09:24 PM

Is there any way you can connect Ethernet directly to the HR44? so that you can get coax connection to the HR24 from the SWM system, don't think you can connect a wireless kit to the HR24(I could be wrong) which has built in deca, which doesn't play well with MRV.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#4 OFFLINE   logdy

logdy

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationPhoenix
Joined: Sep 18, 2013

Posted 19 September 2013 - 01:08 PM

Thanks.. I found the problem. My older HR21 had the DECA attached for whole home. I did not remove it when I moved the HR24 and re-installed.. The HR44 and HR24 are now happy with internet connection and whole home! I looked at some Google wiring diagrams and found my error... I have the Cinema kit in series with the HR24 and it works great!



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 September 2013 - 07:11 PM

My Hr 24 now has the wireless connection kit hooked up. I also can't get to the internet from the HR24.

 

 

Since the HR44 has WiFi built in, you dont need the wireless CCK


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   logdy

logdy

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationPhoenix
Joined: Sep 18, 2013

Posted 20 September 2013 - 03:33 PM

Since the HR44 has WiFi built in, you dont need the wireless CCK

 

does it hurt to leave it in? I thought I had to use the CCK for wireless? Do I need to go back and reconfigure my HR44 for wireless? It says connected now but is that through the CCK or through the HR44 built in wireless?



#7 OFFLINE   filthyfun

filthyfun

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2013

Posted 20 September 2013 - 03:56 PM

Don't use the original wifi kit now. Disconnect it and reconfigure internal wifi on hr44. The two will eventually conflict if used on the same swm system.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:10 PM

does it hurt to leave it in? I thought I had to use the CCK for wireless? Do I need to go back and reconfigure my HR44 for wireless? It says connected now but is that through the CCK or through the HR44 built in wireless?

Yes remove the CCK and use the the HR44 built in wireless


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   logdy

logdy

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationPhoenix
Joined: Sep 18, 2013

Posted 20 September 2013 - 11:03 PM

Thanks all... I pulled the cinema kit. Now use the hr44 wireless... It works great!


Edited by logdy, 23 September 2013 - 10:11 AM.


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 September 2013 - 08:48 PM

Awesome.  Thanks for the update. 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...