Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Help needed for upgrade to swm

swm deca hr24 hr22 h21

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   irishnut

irishnut

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationPa
Joined: Sep 20, 2013

Posted 20 September 2013 - 12:52 PM

I am in need of some assistance. I am upgrading my directv to swm. I have the following receivers 1-HR24, 1-HR22 and 2 H21.  I have the following parts. A new swm lnb, a power inverter, a 1x4 switch. What else do I need to connect all my receivers so it would work for whole home? And can someone possibly diagram it for me. I also have a DIRECTV DECA BROADBAND ADAPTER - DECABB1MR0-01.  Rush assistance please. Thank you in advance



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,602 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 September 2013 - 01:36 PM

First you have 5 "devices" that is your 4 receivers and the DECA BB.  You will need a bigger splitter, an 8 green label will do the  trick.  you will also need 3 DECAs home adapters for the HR22 and the 2 H21s.

 

one cable from the dish to the IN on the 8 way, coax jumper from PI PWR to SWM port.  terminate the "signal to IRD" port.  run one coax to each receiver and one more to were ever your router is located to connect the DECA BB.  if the DECA BB is next (or close to) a receiver, you can use the 4 way and just get a 2 way.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   irishnut

irishnut

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationPa
Joined: Sep 20, 2013

Posted 20 September 2013 - 02:59 PM

Okay, let me try to and map it out then.  Right now both dvrs have 2 coax coming to them, with upgrade they will only need one. So, if I attach the power inverter to one coax behind the HR22 and connect the other end to the splitter marked in red, terminate the signal to ird on power inverter. Connect all the other receivers to the splitter and adding the DECA home adapters to those that need them. Then I have a router near the HR24, connect the old 2nd coax to the DECA BB and to the router. Does that sound right?    

 

 

Also, Explain better if I want to use the 1x4 splitter with a 1x2 splitter



#4 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,641 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 03:11 PM

You would put the 2 way inline right near the router between the receiver and the line in that feeds it.

 

Alternately you can keep the 4 way and get a diplexer to route the DECA to the Internet bridge instead of a 2 way.

 

http://www.solidsign...sing-(std-9501)

 

Looks a lot like a splitter but only takes off the DECA bands maintaining the 4 way's signal level for your SWM to receiver inputs.

 

DECA works without the internet connection so you can hook up on the 4 way and order the parts to bridge in the Internet later. Won't have on demand till the Internet is added but . . .

 

Don "either way works" Bolton


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,602 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:14 PM

 

 

Alternately you can keep the 4 way and get a diplexer to route the DECA to the Internet bridge instead of a 2 way.

 

 

 

Diplexer and WHDVR (MRV) dont like to play well together 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,924 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:51 PM

Diplexer and WHDVR (MRV) dont like to play well together 

From all reports I've gotten on the NAS 9501 pictured in the link, its preformed quite well.

 

Therefore option 2 in this image for hooking up a CCK as suggested by lugnutathome should have no problems.

 

CCK Installation Options.jpg

 

EDIT: Resubmitted image as first had blurred lettering due to attempts at enlargement prior to posting.


Edited by HoTat2, 20 September 2013 - 05:14 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#7 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,641 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:56 PM

Tis true. You are quite correct if using said diplexer to merge in terrestrial signals as they can interfere with the signals passed for DECA in those frequency bands. But in a "sealed" system where the sole inputs are your DirectTV coax lines the diplexer can be used to split off the DECA signals to your Internet bridge device without introducing signal loss for sat signal frequencies like a true splitter would.This is the method used and approved for combining two SWiM16s into a single DECA infrastructure. I am running such as part of my own infrastructure.Don "it works quite well in fact" Bolton

Diplexer and WHDVR (MRV) dont like to play well together
Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#8 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,834 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:57 PM

Yes, the NAS STD-9501M is specifically made for DIRECTV. It's not the diplexer that's the problem, it's trying to fit OTA on a SWM system.


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#9 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,641 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:54 PM

Been ill today so was a bit lethargic prior. Here are a few links to help with the set up. when the OP was explaqining where to connect the PI I cocked my head a bit as I recalled hitting the legacy section with a direct connection like the 16 has a dedicate power port.

 

http://forums.solids...ECTV-Networking

http://forums.solids...ers-in-the-home

 

Don "hope this helps" Bolton


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,651 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 September 2013 - 04:37 AM

Diplexer and WHDVR (MRV) dont like to play well together 

As been posted, they do play well, "but" you need to be careful how and where you use them.

I too was ready to jump on the post you replied to, but the diagram Hotat2 posted "works" and may be the only way it would.


A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,602 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:58 PM

As been posted, they do play well, "but" you need to be careful how and where you use them.

I too was ready to jump on the post you replied to, but the diagram Hotat2 posted "works" and may be the only way it would.

what would be the difference between the diagram and using a 2 way


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,924 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 September 2013 - 09:23 AM

what would be the difference between the diagram and using a 2 way

Efficiency from what I can see; 

 

Mainly due to reduced signal loss of the DECA (MoCA) signal on the path to or from the CCK, since none is wasted being sent to the SWiM LNB or external multiswitch.  


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,602 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 September 2013 - 03:12 PM

Efficiency from what I can see; 

 

Mainly due to reduced signal loss of the DECA (MoCA) signal on the path to or from the CCK, since none is wasted being sent to the SWiM LNB or external multiswitch.  

so this diplexer has no insertion loss?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,924 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 September 2013 - 04:29 PM

so this diplexer has no insertion loss?

Sure, but then I imagine so would a splitter in addition to it's splitting loss.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#15 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,641 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 23 September 2013 - 04:38 PM

Essentially correct. Though fittings introduce nominal signal loss, the diplexer is not splitting (dual pathing) its signals so there is no signal loss introduced save for that of a fitting.For most installs this may be moot but it saves several DB loss.Don "technically it is the right piece but a splitter is common" Bolton

so this diplexer has no insertion loss?
Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?





spam firewall