Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Aiming Dish for Sat 119* when other Sats are Good


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   seigell

seigell

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSuburbs in Central Arid-zona
Joined: May 08, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:05 PM

I'm having troubles (771's) trying to access any of the Local HD Stations.

I have a HR44-500 and a Slimline-5SWM.

Is there a special trick to aiming the Slimline-5SWM dish for Sat 119* (signal strengths 50-70) when I already have good signal on all other Sats (signal strengths 85-100)?? 

When I "Redo the Dish Setup" at the "Verify Installation" step it shows Red "X" for Sat 119* for both "Odd" and "Even". 

I also note that the Signal Strength for the "SWM" Sat instance shows low (60 ot zero) for the 2nd "Transponder" but 100's for all others.  Is this related ??



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,264 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:17 PM

it can be a mast not properly level of something blocking LOS to the 119.  and very rarely a bad LNB


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:28 PM

If 119 LOS is clear, the mast is plumb, 101 is dialed in correctly, and dish "tilt" is set correct for your location, the LNB could be bad if levels are still low.

 

Pay no attention to the "0" reading on the SWiM signal strength screen. The 0 simply indicates that SWiM channel is in use by a tuner on another receiver.


Edited by HoTat2, 20 September 2013 - 04:29 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#4 OFFLINE   seigell

seigell

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSuburbs in Central Arid-zona
Joined: May 08, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:42 PM

I believe the Dish is pointed correctly, given the majority of 95-100 Signal Strength scores for all other Sats.

 

I have a tall but thinly branched PaloVerde tree in neighbor's yard which might be encroaching on Line Of Sight, but only to the west of my N-S fenceline. 

The Dish is pointed a bit East of South (AZ 149* El 49* Tilt 106*), and there are none of the 5 LNB on the side of the Head which would point W of Centerline of the Dish, so it seems unlikely that those branches are zero-ing out my Sat 109* reception.  Doesn't it ??

 

If I do have to refine the aim of the Dish, how do I do it such that I don't lose the high scores on all the other Sats ??



#5 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 05:01 PM

But refining or fine tuning the aim of the dish is really only necessary for peaking the Ka band at 99 ad 103. .

 

119 is Ku band and should just fall in with a coarse adjustment setting to the tilt after 101 is dialed in correctly with only coarse adjustments necessary for it as well, assuming the LNB is good and the mast plumb of course.  


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#6 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,228 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 05:54 PM

None of your local HD stations come from 119, they come from either 99 or 103.  However, if 119 is not aligned properly, it is possible 99 and/or 103 are not either.

Post your signal strength readings for all transponders on all satellites in the following format:

Sat 101

1-8: xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx

9-16: xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx

17-24: xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx

25-32: xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx

where xx is either the signal strength or N/A.

 

And repeat for each of the satellites - 99s, 99c, 103s, 103ca, 103cb, 110 and 119.  Note that 99s and 103s will be very slow to fill in, and many/most could be low or zero (but at least one should be high).

 

That will give us a much better idea of what your alignment looks like.

 

If you have very good signals on all the 101 transponders, then you may just need to do the fine tuning, or "dithering" to bring in 99 and 103.  110 isn't used at all anymore, and 119 is primarily for foreign language (Spanish), and some local SD stations.



#7 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 06:08 PM

And remember for your location a tilt of 106 degrees, actually means a tilt a 16 degrees counter-clockwise from completely level (which is 90 degrees) when viewing behind the dish.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#8 OFFLINE   seigell

seigell

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSuburbs in Central Arid-zona
Joined: May 08, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 06:31 PM

Signal Strengths (really wish this were a Copy/Paste task)

 

Sat 101

  1-8   96  95  95   0  96  99  96  99

 9-16  96  96  96   0  97 100  96  99

17-24  97  74  96 100  97  99  97 100

25-32  96  69  96  76  98  99  96 100

 

Sat 110

8          95

10,12  96  95

 

Sat 119

22-24    59  71  58

25-32   0  65  62  60   0  60   0  67

 

Sat 99c

   1-8   89  91  82  84  86  88  83  85

  9-16  88  90  85  85  91  90

 

Sat 99s

    1-8  0  0  0  0  0  0  n/a n/a

 15-16  0  71

17-24  69  72  83  70  24  26  0   0

 

Sat 103s

    1-4   0   0   0   0 

 15-16 100   0

 17-24   95  96   0   0   0   0 100 100

 

Sat 103ca

  9-16  85  83  85  84  83  82  83  84

 17-24  83  82  86  82  83  82  85  85

 

Sat 103cb

    1-8   89  93  83  85  86  92  83  86

   9-14  85  92  82  87  84  92

 

SWM

   1-8  100   0   0 100 100 100 100 100

    9      96



#9 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,709 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 20 September 2013 - 06:56 PM

Something is either blocking your dish's view of 119ºW, or you've got a dish LNB problem.  Do all of your Receivers show this same problem?


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#10 OFFLINE   seigell

seigell

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSuburbs in Central Arid-zona
Joined: May 08, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:03 PM

Something is either blocking your dish's view of 119ºW, or ...

 

OK, I described the surroundings of my Dish.  Which direction from the Center-Line of the Dish would be the Sat 119 ??  Which LNB on the 5-LNB-SWM head ??



#11 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:21 PM

From behind the dish the 119 feedhorn is the one all the way to your left;

 

But it receives off axis from 18 degrees west of where the 101 (actually 99, 101, and 103 feedhorns grouped together) feedhorn is pointing which is the larger oval shaped eye furthest to the right, again from behind the dish.     


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#12 OFFLINE   seigell

seigell

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSuburbs in Central Arid-zona
Joined: May 08, 2009

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:29 PM

Arghh...  So, 119 is likely effected by the neighbor's tree.  It's going to be fun talking to the neighbot that just moved in this past Spring about lopping part off a tree planted by their predecessor's predecessor.

 

Beyond that, does anything in my Signal Strengths indicate why I'd not receive any of my Local HD Stations ??



#13 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,228 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:35 PM

Your signal strengths do not suggest what might be the problem with you not getting some HD stations (which you mentioned in your original post). Your signal strengths are sufficient that those should be working. "Suburbs of Central AZ" suggest the Phoenix market. If that is true, then your SD locals are on 101 and your HD locals are on 103S TP15, 23 and 24, all of which you have 100 signal on.

 

I'm inclined at this point to suspect a defective LNB. And 119 pretty much doesn't have anything to do with your reception (but needs to be working for some guide data).

 

One thing to do though is to re-authorize your Genie (you can do that online or by calling a CSR). If you have recently moved from a different market, you need to make sure that DirecTV sets your account correctly for the Phoenix market, as you cannot get locals from a different market (technical and terms of service reasons).



#14 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:47 PM

Your signal strengths do not suggest what might be the problem with you not getting some HD stations (which you mentioned in your original post). Your signal strengths are sufficient that those should be working. "Suburbs of Central AZ" suggest the Phoenix market. If that is true, then your SD locals are on 101 and your HD locals are on 103S TP15, 23 and 24, all of which you have 100 signal on.

 

I'm inclined at this point to suspect a defective LNB. And 119 pretty much doesn't have anything to do with your reception (but needs to be working for some guide data).

 

One thing to do though is to re-authorize your Genie (you can do that online or by calling a CSR). If you have recently moved from a different market, you need to make sure that DirecTV sets your account correctly for the Phoenix market, as you cannot get locals from a different market (technical and terms of service reasons).

TS described it as a SWiM LNB in the first post, so it shouldn't ever need the mirrored guide data on 119.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#15 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,228 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 September 2013 - 10:03 PM

TS described it as a SWiM LNB in the first post, so it shouldn't ever need the mirrored guide data on 119.

Good point, thanks. Still looks to be an LNB problem though. Any other ideas?



#16 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,812 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 September 2013 - 05:51 AM

Can this TS change to the Slimline 3 SWM and cure his problem or would that cause another problem ?


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#17 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 September 2013 - 01:07 PM

Can this TS change to the Slimline 3 SWM and cure his problem or would that cause another problem ?

Should be able to, unless there is something on 119 the TS wants or is a part of his package. 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#18 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 September 2013 - 01:10 PM

Good point, thanks. Still looks to be an LNB problem though. Any other ideas?

Could be the tree or like you suggest. just a bad LNBF, for the 119 receive circuitry at least.

 

Though first I would like to know how any other boxes are receiving 119.  


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,264 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 September 2013 - 08:16 PM

Can this TS change to the Slimline 3 SWM and cure his problem or would that cause another problem ?

NO, SWM LNB is selected by the receiver automatically 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...