Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

CSR says no to AM21


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   hornmdt1

hornmdt1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2013

Posted 25 September 2013 - 07:30 AM

I have had trouble with the original AM21 blanking out the screen except for a tiny bit at the top of the screen on fast forwarding OTA recordings  I own 2 and both do it on all my DVRs including the Genie.  It makes it practically impossible to determine when to stop the FF and begin watching again.  Has anyone else encountered this and does possibly the AM21N fix this problem?

 

Thanks



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,039 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 25 September 2013 - 08:16 AM

Its not the AM21, its the MPEG2 encoding on your local affiliate...I believe you will find it only happens on 720 resolution stations...I occasionally see it on FOX and/or ABC.  I dont see it on my local CBS or NBC because they are 1080 res broadcast stations. So no, getting an AM21N will not fix it.


Edited by CCarncross, 25 September 2013 - 08:16 AM.


#23 OFFLINE   hornmdt1

hornmdt1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2013

Posted 25 September 2013 - 10:44 AM

Thank you very much.  You saved me from trying a AM21N.



#24 OFFLINE   dlleno

dlleno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2008

Posted 25 September 2013 - 11:55 AM

I got a new AM21 delivered yesterday that I had ordered about 2 days ago, it comes with the extra power cord.

 

Having received mine today, I can confirm that the DTV OTA tuner package contains ALL of the following:

 

1.  the tuner, either AM21 or AM21N.  I have no idea what the differences are, beyond the exterior cosmetics.  AM21 is gloss finish and says "AM21 off air tuner" on the front bezel.  AM21N is flat black finish and says "off air tuner" on the front bezel. 

 

2.  a power cord, so that the tuner can itself plug into 115v without steeling the power cord from the receiver to which it is married. 

 

3.  A protective CAP, to be installed on the unused pigtail power cord that is permanently installed into the tuner and normally supplies power to the DTV receiver who's power cord is stolen in (2) above. 

 

per the instruction sheet "All AM21s are being retrofitted to include the electircal cap and a power cord.  The AM21N has a power cord included in the pack out.  If an electrical cap is not installed, request another AM21/AM21N that has one."

 

4.  an instruction sheet ambiguously and incorrectly describing the way power is distributed between the tuner and the receiver: "The AM21/AM21N typically obtains power (110VAC) from an HD/HD DVR Receiver ..." wow, they got that so backwards...



#25 OFFLINE   o7RAVENS

o7RAVENS

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 72 posts
  • LocationBaltimore Md.
Joined: Oct 28, 2007

Posted 26 September 2013 - 07:32 AM

They say the am21 works the same as the hr20 if so I will need the zip for Washington as my secondary choice.

anyone know this zip?



#26 ONLINE   coconut13

coconut13

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 26 September 2013 - 08:16 AM

They say the am21 works the same as the hr20 if so I will need the zip for Washington as my secondary choice.

anyone know this zip?

Washington DC (20001).



#27 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,039 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 26 September 2013 - 10:48 AM

You can't look up a zip code?



#28 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,572 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 September 2013 - 07:35 PM

They say the am21 works the same as the hr20 if so I will need the zip for Washington as my secondary choice.

anyone know this zip?

you need this 

 

https://tools.usps.c...on!input.action


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 


#29 OFFLINE   o7RAVENS

o7RAVENS

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 72 posts
  • LocationBaltimore Md.
Joined: Oct 28, 2007

Posted 27 September 2013 - 06:14 AM

You can't look up a zip code?

 

Even in my 80s I can look up a zip code its just that I didn't know how, thanks to peds48 I do know now.



#30 OFFLINE   o7RAVENS

o7RAVENS

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 72 posts
  • LocationBaltimore Md.
Joined: Oct 28, 2007

Posted 27 September 2013 - 06:35 AM

Washington DC (20001).

Thanks coconut  much appreciated.



#31 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,039 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:38 AM

No matter how old you get to be o7Ravens....google search is always your friend......

 

I typed in washington dc zip codes....

 

and got this page:

 

http://www.unitedsta...ipcodes.org/dc/



#32 OFFLINE   dtparker

dtparker

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 27 September 2013 - 06:29 PM

One extra power cord, and a matte black finish on the AM21N instead of glossy black on the AM21   I have them both.


DirecTV since 10/29/1999

Slimline-5, SWiM 8, MRV with DECA Broadband

H24-700    - AM21n - Toshiba 29" LED  - Exercise room

H23-600   - AM21n - DECA  - Sony 55" SXRD - Bonus Room

HR23-700 - AM21 - DECA - 2TB e-Sata - TT Max 5 - Sony XBR 32" - Bedroom

HR24-100  - AM21 - 1TB e-Sata - WD MyBook AV - Sony 40" W3000 - Living Room


#33 OFFLINE   dlleno

dlleno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2008

Posted 27 September 2013 - 06:41 PM

They r sending the old am21 with an extra cord and cap too :-)




spam firewall