Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

'Super HD' 1080P for everyone that has compatible players


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   oldschoolecw

oldschoolecw

    HarpoonIPA

  • Registered
  • 1,532 posts
  • LocationHalifax, MA
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 26 September 2013 - 03:23 PM

http://www.engadget....en-to-everyone/

 

Feeling left out because your internet provider isn't on board with Netflix's Open Connect program that provides access to its Super HD high-bitrate 1080p streams? Let that feeling of abandonment go, as the company has announced all of its customers (with compatible players) now have access to the higher quality video (and, in the US, 3D).

 

More at link above


LG Cinema Screen 47LM7600
Pioneer VSX-1120
X1 unit and yes it's Comcastic
Comcast Triple Play


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,113 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 26 September 2013 - 04:12 PM

Guess I better get that new Roku out of the box it's been sitting in and hook it up.

Was waiting on a replacement receiver.  Got a new one because Denons do not play nice with my HR34 (tinny audio on either the regular show or commercials that no combination of receiver & DVR settings helps, except for those that fake multichannel output), and also needed more HDMI ports but it's been sitting around in a box too. 


-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#3 OFFLINE   oldschoolecw

oldschoolecw

    HarpoonIPA

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,532 posts
  • LocationHalifax, MA
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 26 September 2013 - 06:50 PM

It's not showing up on my 360 yet, but it did for a day sometime last month


LG Cinema Screen 47LM7600
Pioneer VSX-1120
X1 unit and yes it's Comcastic
Comcast Triple Play


#4 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 27 September 2013 - 08:34 AM

Anyone know how to check for it?  The link to the Netflix page I've found on the 'net is no longer there.  My ISP is Charter so I haven't seen it yet.


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#5 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 378 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 27 September 2013 - 07:41 PM

I have Charter, and its showing up in SuperHD on both my AppleTV and Oppo BDP-103


HR44-700, HR22-700, HR21-200, SWM16


#6 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 378 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 27 September 2013 - 07:43 PM

It shows up right in the item/title description


HR44-700, HR22-700, HR21-200, SWM16


#7 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 05:52 AM

I've had 'Super HD' in the description of many titles for months, but I haven't been able to stream it because Charter wasn't part of Netflix's content-delivery network.

 

Netflix used to have a web page that would test whether or not Super HD was getting through and it always indicated 'not available' for me, even though the title listed 'Super HD'.

 

My guess is folks see that designation even if watching Netflix on a device that doesn't support 1080p.  Doesn't mean they are actually seeing it though.


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#8 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 378 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 28 September 2013 - 07:00 AM

Mine only just showed up in SuperHD, across town my friend had Frontier DSL, and its been showing SuperHD for 6 months, and on the same Netflix account


HR44-700, HR22-700, HR21-200, SWM16


#9 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,723 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 29 September 2013 - 04:38 AM

Anyone know how to check for it?  The link to the Netflix page I've found on the 'net is no longer there.  My ISP is Charter so I haven't seen it yet.

 

Quite a few people have been having problems even streaming the standard HD streams with Charter off and on since July. https://secure.dslre...at-is-going-on-

 

But anyway to answer your question, an easy way to check - play "Example Short 23.976 (2010)" if you get 4300 or 5800 kbps bit rate you are getting 'Super HD'

 
The bit rate is displayed on screen with this 'interesting' title.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#10 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 29 September 2013 - 07:10 AM

 

Quite a few people have been having problems even streaming the standard HD streams with Charter off and on since July. https://secure.dslre...at-is-going-on-

 

But anyway to answer your question, an easy way to check - play "Example Short 23.976 (2010)" if you get 4300 or 5800 kbps bit rate you are getting 'Super HD'

 
The bit rate is displayed on screen with this 'interesting' title.

 

 

Thank you for that!  Never knew those example videos were there!!

 

On my PC it stopped at 3000 kbps.  On my 1080p Roku it scaled all the way up to 5800 kbps at 1920 x 1080!  Looks like Super HD for me......

 

Thanks again.

 

drinks.gif


  • coolman302003 likes this

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#11 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,694 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 29 September 2013 - 07:20 AM

Just tested on my MacBook Pro w/Retina and it maxed at 3000

 

On my iPad Mini it maxed at 1750

 

I'll try the AppleTV and BluRay player later.

 

Thanks for the info.


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#12 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,408 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:23 AM

Mine is staying around 1750. That's disappointing.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#13 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:30 AM

Mine is staying around 1750. That's disappointing.

 

On what device?  It's download speed and device dependent.


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#14 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,408 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:37 AM

On what device?  It's download speed and device dependent.

Oops, sorry I forgot. Uverse 18/1 plan, Roku 2xs.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#15 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:41 AM

I have the XS and 15/5 w/Charter and get Super HD.  If your download speed is supposed to be 18 then you might want to check to make sure you're getting what you're paying for.  

 

http://www.speedtest.net/


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#16 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:48 AM

I just did a test and got this:

 

speedtest09-29-13.png


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#17 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,408 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:12 AM

3000130819.png


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#18 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:16 AM

Strange you are seeing only 1750 on your XS.  Wired or wifi?  (Mine is wired.)


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#19 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,408 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:18 AM

Wifi, only 2 feet away.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#20 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,035 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 September 2013 - 10:01 AM

Anyone know how to check for it?  The link to the Netflix page I've found on the 'net is no longer there.  My ISP is Charter so I haven't seen it yet.

 

I use Cablevision and I've had it from the time it was introduced.  You have to go into the movie/program summary to see if it is in Super HD or not.  If you haven't seen it yet you're in for a treat.  It's actually hard to go from watching programs on NF in Super HD to D*'s 1080i.  Takes a few minutes to adjust.  Sure would be nice if D* could send out the same PQ.

 

Rich



#21 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,035 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 September 2013 - 10:04 AM

I've had 'Super HD' in the description of many titles for months, but I haven't been able to stream it because Charter wasn't part of Netflix's content-delivery network.

 

Netflix used to have a web page that would test whether or not Super HD was getting through and it always indicated 'not available' for me, even though the title listed 'Super HD'.

 

My guess is folks see that designation even if watching Netflix on a device that doesn't support 1080p.  Doesn't mean they are actually seeing it though.

 

You will know it when you see it.  Almost as good as a BD.  What I don't get is why all the Super HD content doesn't have 5.1 sound.

 

Rich



#22 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,035 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 September 2013 - 10:12 AM

I just did a test and got this:

 

speedtest09-29-13.png

 

I find Speed Test to be very misleading.  If your router's software allows you to run a speed test I think you're more likely to see what you're actually getting.  I went thru a couple of years with speed problems and Speed Test is what Cablevision kept telling me to use.  It disagreed with my router's speed test by a great deal.  I finally found out what the problem was and now both Speed Test and my router agree.  But it all depends on which location you pick to test from.  Naturally, Cablevision chooses the NYC Optimum server.  And they don't care what your router says, which is just wrong.  

 

Rich 



#23 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 30 September 2013 - 02:53 PM

I use Cablevision and I've had it from the time it was introduced.  You have to go into the movie/program summary to see if it is in Super HD or not.  If you haven't seen it yet you're in for a treat.  It's actually hard to go from watching programs on NF in Super HD to D*'s 1080i.  Takes a few minutes to adjust.  Sure would be nice if D* could send out the same PQ.

 

Rich

 

The movie summary always says if it's available in 'Super HD' if it is made available at all, not necessarily if you can actually get it or not.  

 

I asked my question because the movie summary is not tailored to your account/device/ISP combination.  Therefore I asked if there is a way to test my connection like there has been in the past (the old web page to do that is gone).  That old web page always said I could not get it even if the title was available with it and I saw it in the description.

 

The 'example' video does just that.  Charter did not let 'Super HD' through to me before Netflix just opened it up, so even though it was available on some titles, I could not get it because of Charter.  Now I get it on my Roku XS as evidenced by the example video test.  I can actually watch it slowly scale to my connection with live stats on my screen right up to my download speed.


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#24 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 968 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 30 September 2013 - 03:49 PM

I'm happy they're doing this since it will shift performance pressure to the ISPs who refuse to partner with Netflix's free CDN.

I'm disappointed at myself now for cheapening out and buying a 720p screen for the bedroom, where my Roku is. I never thought in a million years I'd have access to 1080p Netflix content so I didn't bother to pony up a few extra bucks for a higher res screen.

Sent from my Droid DNA via the DBSTalk app.



#25 ONLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,907 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 30 September 2013 - 05:36 PM

Anybody have success getting the Netflix sample to report bit rates using a Sony Bluray player or Sony smart tv? My two Chromecast-enabled TVs report Super HD specs, but my Sony TV and Bluray player simply stream the video without showing any information.
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo




Protected By... spam firewall...And...