Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

A Genie "upgrade" - is there a downside to this?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MadMac

MadMac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 240 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 28 September 2013 - 11:41 AM

I had an idea.....

 

Current setup - three HD DVRs and four HD receivers. Two of the receivers see minimal use, but I like the convenience of having them. Here's what I was thinking:

 

Replace one of the DVRs with a Genie, replace the two little-used receivers with a client. Move the client between the two little-used locations as needed. Ideally, the Genie would be an HR-44 for wireless capability, but I know I can't specify that. Question is, would my bill go up even though I effectively go down by one box?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,111 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 28 September 2013 - 11:49 AM

Reads like a good plan.


Edited by Drucifer, 28 September 2013 - 11:49 AM.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#3 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,461 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 11:56 AM

If you are already paying for whole home service, then your fees will not go up.  But you will get re-upped for 2 more years of contract.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#4 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,187 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 28 September 2013 - 02:37 PM

If you are already paying for whole home service, then your fees will not go up.

Even if they have WHDS, the TS may be jumped from the separate fees (HD, DVR, WHDS) to the Advanced Receiver Fee that could represent a $2 monthly increase (along with the 24 month commitment).

Having one less box will probably make up for any fee increase.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#5 OFFLINE   PHL

PHL

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2004

Posted 02 October 2013 - 09:47 PM

A better idea:

 

Keep the three HD DVR's and replace one of the receivers with a Genie. Then do what you want with the other three receivers.


HR34 Living Room
HR24-500 Office
HR24-500 Bedroom
Whole Home DVR enabled :)

#6 OFFLINE   MadMac

MadMac

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 240 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 02 October 2013 - 10:53 PM

Thanks to all for their responses. From what's being said, any increase would be marginal and more than offset by reducing the box total. I'm already on WH and understand that a fresh two year commitment would be triggered.

 

PHL - I see your thinking, but I don't need the ability to record 11 shows at once :-)

 

Follow-up question: Am I correct in my thinking that the client effectively runs from one of the Genie tuners and as such, has all the pause/rewind/FF functionality of a DVR being used to watch live TV?



#7 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,461 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 02 October 2013 - 11:19 PM

Yes. The clients are "slaves" of the Genies. They use one tuner of the Genie and can do almost everything a Genie can do.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using DBSTalk mobile app


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#8 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,220 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 02 October 2013 - 11:57 PM

Yes. The clients are "slaves" of the Genies. They use one tuner of the Genie and can do almost everything a Genie can do.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using DBSTalk mobile app

Everything at about a step behind the Genie itself that is, due to processing and two way communication delay between client and server.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#9 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,925 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 03 October 2013 - 09:37 AM

Even if they have WHDS, the TS may be jumped from the separate fees (HD, DVR, WHDS) to the Advanced Receiver Fee that could represent a $2 monthly increase (along with the 24 month commitment).

Having one less box will probably make up for any fee increase.

If they already have HD, DVR and whole home as seperate fees, they will not be replaced with the "rolled up" fee.  This is an equipment change only, no change to services.


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#10 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,490 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 03 October 2013 - 12:17 PM

Thanks to all for their responses. From what's being said, any increase would be marginal and more than offset by reducing the box total. I'm already on WH and understand that a fresh two year commitment would be triggered.

 

Since you're already on WH, your bill should be reduced by $6 per month with your proposed plan.



#11 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,835 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 03 October 2013 - 12:21 PM

I had an idea.....

Current setup - three HD DVRs and four HD receivers. Two of the receivers see minimal use, but I like the convenience of having them. Here's what I was thinking:

Replace one of the DVRs with a Genie, replace the two little-used receivers with a client. Move the client between the two little-used locations as needed. Ideally, the Genie would be an HR-44 for wireless capability, but I know I can't specify that. Question is, would my bill go up even though I effectively go down by one box?

do you record everything you watch?


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

#12 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,567 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 03 October 2013 - 02:02 PM

Down Side your locked in for 2yrs - If That's not an Issue Then Upgrade


"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#13 OFFLINE   AnonomissX

AnonomissX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 08 October 2013 - 01:14 AM

I recently upgraded to the Genie and Genie GO. Haven't used the "go" part of it, and now my sister got into ancient movies on TCM, and blew up my terrabyte drive with black and white oldies. Sheesh!

 

Meanwhile, because I kept the 2 original HDDVRs and got the Genie in the living room, because that made more sense than having 1 genie and 2 clients. I can record 8 shows at once, because I was too nice to make the installer crawl through the fiberglass in the attic :)


Edited by AnonomissX, 08 October 2013 - 01:16 AM.

~Melodie~ Aka AnonomissX

If you have a question, I may or may not have an answer.

"Fat people are harder to Kidnap" :lol:

#14 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 08 October 2013 - 07:44 AM

If they already have HD, DVR and whole home as seperate fees, they will not be replaced with the "rolled up" fee.  This is an equipment change only, no change to services.

Are you 100% certain of this? The rolled up fee increase is the only thing that's been holding me back. I'd already resigned myself to the fact I'd be stuck with my HR23 and H21 forever.



#15 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,925 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 08 October 2013 - 11:28 AM

Are you 100% certain of this? The rolled up fee increase is the only thing that's been holding me back. I'd already resigned myself to the fact I'd be stuck with my HR23 and H21 forever.

Yes...we have had all 3 charges on our account since DirecTV introduced whole home service.  When we upgraded our original HR20 to a Genie last winter, we had NO increase in any fees.  If you were to drop one of the services and then add it back in, then you MIGHT get the rolled up fee.  But if you already are paying for HD, DVR and Whole Home as separate services simply adding/upgrading to a Genie will not force you to the rolled up fee.


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#16 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,362 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 08 October 2013 - 11:35 AM

I replaced an HR 20 with a Genie HR44 in July. Still have my $10 DVR, $10 HD and $3 MRV. No changes on equipment or programming fees.

#17 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 08 October 2013 - 12:55 PM

Awesome. Thanks to you both for the confirmation.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...