Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie with older equipment question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cyfan88

cyfan88

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2006

Posted 28 September 2013 - 03:58 PM

To start, here is my equipment: 1 H20-100, 1 HR22-100, 1 HR20-700, 2 HR24-500. I just got a new Samsung tv so I am looking into getting a genie to take advantage of the built in tuner. When I called the rep said everything but the HR 24's need replaced need replaced to be compatable. The H20-100 is in my RV , and the HR22 and HR20 are at my lake home so to me they really don't need replaced. Do I tell Directv this or do I just swap them out when the installer comes. By the way, I want to keep the HR24's in addition to the genie at my primary residence. Thanks for the help.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,151 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 04:01 PM

No they don't need to be replaced.  The non HR24s would need a DECA for internet connectivity, but you said they are not even inside your house.  So that is a mute point.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#3 OFFLINE   cyfan88

cyfan88

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2006

Posted 28 September 2013 - 04:03 PM

Do I tell DTV that they are at a second home or that I just don't want to replace them?



#4 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,151 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 04:06 PM

I think I would just tell them you don't want to replace them.  But you also need to make sure that they don't deactivate them either. 


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,149 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 September 2013 - 07:40 PM

What you are doings is against DirecTV ToS.  Dont be surprised if this thread gets locked.  


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,149 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 September 2013 - 07:41 PM

No they don't need to be replaced.  T

The H20 is NOT MRV compatible, so it will need to be replaced. This is standard procedure 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,151 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 08:13 PM

The H20 is NOT MRV compatible, so it will need to be replaced. This is standard procedure 

Won't it work with a Deca? I don't have any plain receivers, just DVRs and clients, so I have no experience in this area.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,149 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 September 2013 - 08:43 PM

Won't it work with a Deca? I don't have any plain receivers, just DVRs and clients, so I have no experience in this area.

The H20 does not have an ethernet port.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,151 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 08:54 PM

Thanks Peds.  Learned something new again!


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup





spam firewall