Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Can't have too much signal


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 04 October 2013 - 09:51 AM

Time Warner guy is here trying to fix by friend's cable. I pointed out that the signal is too strong (According to the receiver's built in diagnostics) and the "Technician" responds that you can never have too strong/much of a signal lol

Sent from my SPH-L720 using DBSTalk mobile app



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,097 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 04 October 2013 - 10:42 AM

That's why they make attenuators . . . .

 

 

:coffee



#3 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,300 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 04 October 2013 - 01:04 PM

"Overdrive" ain't just for  '56 Buicks. :rolleyes:


.


~ 12 Year Anniversary ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#4 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,898 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 04 October 2013 - 03:42 PM

I had trouble with a satellite signal a few years back (C Band but digital signal) ... threw a -10dB attenuator inline and the signal to noise ratio was greatly increased. No more problems with signal.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,097 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 04 October 2013 - 03:47 PM

I used FAR more attenuators in the analog era, but I still keep a bunch on the truck.



#6 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,586 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 04 October 2013 - 06:49 PM

Time Warner guy is here trying to fix by friend's cable. I pointed out that the signal is too strong (According to the receiver's built in diagnostics) and the "Technician" responds that you can never have too strong/much of a signal lol

 

Was he wearing a lead vest??  :)


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#7 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,097 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 04 October 2013 - 07:18 PM

Free diathermy treatment!

 

!rolling






Protected By... spam firewall...And...