Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Wall mount and monopoles?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   iluvtv

iluvtv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2005

Posted 05 October 2013 - 10:38 AM

Installed my slimline dish on wall the other day, it is mounted with 6 lag screws into the plate on a walk out basement so it's good and solid. I have some monopoles that I  want to add to give extra support for both wind and weight but am unsure of how or where they should be positioned.  Any ideas? Thanks.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,831 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 05 October 2013 - 11:58 AM

I am not an installer but I was a lifetime Machinist.

If this is installed on a vertical wall, I would put the mono poles at about 30 degrees off both sides of the centerline of the bottom.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 October 2013 - 09:12 PM

Short monopole goes in front of mast.  long monopole goes parallel with LNB, best in opposite side 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,303 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 06 October 2013 - 05:21 AM

I used two long mono-poles and angled them off to either side.

Make sure you use a ground.

If you use a short mono-pole it just goes straight back.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using DBSTalk mobile app
 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1381058281152.jpg
  • 1381058356130.jpg

HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#5 OFFLINE   iluvtv

iluvtv

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2005

Posted 06 October 2013 - 09:46 AM

Thanks guys. i have solid backing to screw into off to the sides so will likely go 3 and 9 o'clock.  Anything is better than nothing I guess.

 

  As far as grounding a wall mount dish I've never grounded one in the 18 years I've had one installed, maybe I should start, although likely much more important on a roof mount.  Can one mount the grounding block on side of house close to the dish and then run ground wire down to an 8 ft rod in the ground,


Edited by iluvtv, 06 October 2013 - 10:23 AM.


#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 October 2013 - 11:44 AM

You can mount the ground block anywhere as long as it is within 20 ft of the ground source. if you are going to use another ground rod, it must be bonded to the main rod


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,100 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 06 October 2013 - 11:44 AM

Just me and how I like things, but on a frame wall, I put the base on a stud, and a monopole on each adjacent stud.  I like the monopoles level, and usually use 2 long ones.  I have the monopoles on the vertical segment of the mast just below where the alt/az clamps on.

 

Looks nice (symmetrical) and is about as sturdy as it is going to get on a wood stud wall.

 

 

I haven't seen much increase in rigidity on cement walls with monopoles, but I usually do them the same way there.

 

 

Had a contractor doing landscaping with a bobcat, and after he smashed the KaKu dish, he let me know he noticed right away he had hit something.  The same guy destroyed an air conditioner on the same house and didn't notice that till he started working the other way and saw it.

 

 

:nono2:






Protected By... spam firewall...And...