Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie, 0x0744/0x746 - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
120 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,642 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 October 2013 - 07:42 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for all Genie DVRs.
 
HR34-700 HR44-500/700 0x744

HR44-200 0x746

 

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...3-genie-0x0744/
 
We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.

Thanks!


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   vpr632

vpr632

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
  • LocationPort Saint Lucie, Florida
Joined: Jun 26, 2008

Posted 08 October 2013 - 08:39 AM

As of 7:30AM today before I left for work my HR44-500 hadn't downloaded yet.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

#3 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,815 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 08 October 2013 - 09:00 AM

I forced the update for this one two days ago when I saw it appear in the stream early yesterday morning (PST) mostly out of curiosity.

 

So far the YouTube and Pandora icons are still missing, or have not appeared yet. And My DIRECTV has nothing listed for the "frequently watched" or "you might like" shows yet either."Genie Recommends" is turned off.  

 

Just tried a restart to make sure it's not a software hangup. Did nothing, same result. 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,495 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 08 October 2013 - 01:55 PM

I forced the update for this one two days ago when I saw it appear in the stream early yesterday morning (PST) mostly out of curiosity.

 

So far the YouTube and Pandora icons are still missing, or have not appeared yet. And My DIRECTV has nothing listed for the "frequently watched" or "you might like" shows yet either."Genie Recommends" is turned off.  

 

Just tried a restart to make sure it's not a software hangup. Did nothing, same result. 

 

Restart twice within 30 minutes to flush your guide data.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,182 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 08 October 2013 - 02:02 PM

Should one double flush after every SW update, or just after eating chili?


65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#6 OFFLINE   Sully

Sully

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
  • LocationDecorah, IA
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 08 October 2013 - 03:31 PM

OMG...hilarious!


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

HR23, HR24, HR34


#7 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,815 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:39 PM

Restart twice within 30 minutes to flush your guide data.

OK;

 

Did that, still no change, but I'll give them some time to see if they'll appear.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#8 OFFLINE   Ed Campbell

Ed Campbell

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,265 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 08 October 2013 - 05:27 PM

Rec'd download at 2:40AM - ran fine all day.  Went to turn set back on at ~4:30PM and it wouldn't come on - all the lights indicating resolution started flashing in a solid line simultaneously.  Gave it a RBR and seems to be fine, now.



#9 OFFLINE   PK6301

PK6301

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 298 posts
  • LocationErie, PA
Joined: May 16, 2012

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:18 AM

Received at 3:48 a.m. today.. I have not noticed changes, but I have not gone thru it with a fine tooth comb either B)

Sent from my GT-P3113 using DBSTalk mobile app



#10 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,495 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 October 2013 - 06:15 AM

OK;

 

Did that, still no change, but I'll give them some time to see if they'll appear.

 

It's not an instant fix, it takes time.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#11 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,182 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 09 October 2013 - 06:18 AM

It's not an instant fix, it takes time.

 

All kidding aside, is the double reboot a good move after any software update? Reason I ask is a lot of stuff works better if you do that, even my blu-ray player recommends going back to factory settings with a reset, after a FW update to ensure smooth operation.


65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#12 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,495 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 October 2013 - 07:07 AM

All kidding aside, is the double reboot a good move after any software update? Reason I ask is a lot of stuff works better if you do that, even my blu-ray player recommends going back to factory settings with a reset, after a FW update to ensure smooth operation.

 

It can't hurt.  The only side effect is that you have no guide data past about 6 hours.  You don't miss any recordings though.  In fact it's such a good idea they sometimes force a guide data dump when they push an update.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#13 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,182 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 09 October 2013 - 07:17 AM

That is what I was thinking, thanks. One point of criticism that Dish gets, but is a smart move IMO, is the 2am restart EVERY night. I reboot my TiVo at least once a week, because...


Edited by Jason Whiddon, 09 October 2013 - 07:18 AM.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#14 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,733 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 October 2013 - 07:42 AM

Sometimes a single restart clears up things after a software update, and a double reboot does even more as you know. I don't do either as a matter of routine every time, but also don't hesitate if something is off. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#15 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,815 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 October 2013 - 08:48 AM

It's not an instant fix, it takes time.

Yep, you're right;

 

All ICONS returned late last night sometime ... 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#16 OFFLINE   PK6301

PK6301

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 298 posts
  • LocationErie, PA
Joined: May 16, 2012

Posted 09 October 2013 - 08:53 AM

Do you have to do a reboot after a software update ? If so, do you have to do a hard reboot via the button, or will the reboot via the remote suffice ? Also twice in 30 min correct ?

Sent from my GT-P3113 using DBSTalk mobile app



#17 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,182 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 09 October 2013 - 08:55 AM

Do it via menu twice, within 30 mins of each other.


65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#18 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,733 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:02 AM

No, you don't have to, and a single reboot via menu is the first step. Use the double restart to flush the Guide. Do it on an as-needed basis.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#19 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,495 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:32 AM

Do you have to do a reboot after a software update ? If so, do you have to do a hard reboot via the button, or will the reboot via the remote suffice ? Also twice in 30 min correct ?

Sent from my GT-P3113 using DBSTalk mobile app

 

You don't have to, no.  The update itself reboots the unit.  You should only RBR if the unit is completely locked up.  Use the menu reboot.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#20 OFFLINE   eileen22

eileen22

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Joined: Mar 24, 2006

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:54 AM

Does this release fix the flashing and pixelation issues?  I am still on 740 from late August (never got 741), and the problem is getting worse.  I have an HR34.  Thanks.






spam firewall