Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Local on the 8's not working ?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 05:43 AM

Just wondering why the local on the 8" haven't worked on my system for over a month now?

Did Directv do away with it?


DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,310 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 05:47 AM

Hit the red button, then enter a different zip code. Exit and wait a bit then go back and put your zip back in.


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#3 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 05:51 AM

Hit the red button, then enter a different zip code. Exit and wait a bit then go back and put your zip back in.

OK
I guess I have to do that to all my receivers?

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#4 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,310 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 05:52 AM

Yep, I did.


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#5 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 05:57 AM

Why did all my receivers Home zip change?

 

They all say 90245.

 

One would think being the system is connected to the internet it should know the proper location.


DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#6 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,310 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:15 AM

Internet is not used for that as not all receivers are connected to internet. This come with a software update, I don't know why it happened but all you can do is do the zip code change. 


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#7 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:28 AM

Internet is not used for that as not all receivers are connected to internet.

All mine are.


DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#8 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:28 AM

All mine are.

By the way , it still doesn't work.


DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#9 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,310 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:44 AM

Odd that has worked for me and others?????


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#10 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,310 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:51 AM

http://www.dbstalk.c...n-the-8s-in-hd/


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#11 OFFLINE   Grafixguy

Grafixguy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 376 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2008

Posted 11 October 2013 - 08:18 AM

I've given up on it. Five receivers/DVRs of various flavors and nothing. I'm not losing any sleep over it.


  • damondlt likes this

#12 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,166 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 11 October 2013 - 10:19 AM

By the way , it still doesn't work.

Just changing the zip code in the receiver does not fix it.

You must go to the Active, Choose Weather, Scroll over to My Cities and change the zip code in "Change Home Zip".

Then go to the Weather Channel and wait for it to get to the proper times.

 

Mine just popped up with the red button to get local weather as I was typing this.

Now the Local on the eights is on the screen.


  • damondlt likes this

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#13 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 12 October 2013 - 07:41 AM

OK all of them are now working except for the HR 24.
Not sure why.

But lately I've been a little upset with my HR 24 function as a whole.

I think its time for a service call.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#14 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 28 October 2013 - 01:47 AM

Same problem here. No locals on the 8's.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#15 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,166 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 28 October 2013 - 06:05 AM

Same problem here. No locals on the 8's.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Did you try the settings in post # 12 ?


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#16 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 28 October 2013 - 07:19 AM

Did you try the settings in post # 12 ?

Yes I set them to my local zip code.................



#17 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 28 October 2013 - 07:26 PM

Must be a software problem........



Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app




spam firewall