Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need advice...Whole Home DVR install coming up.


  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 11 October 2013 - 12:11 PM

I currently have a 6 DVR setup (3-HR21-100's, 1-HR22-100, 1-Sat-T60 and 1-R15-100) without WHDVR service. Two months ago I aborted a Directv WHDVR, Genie and client install when after 3 attempts they still had not done anything. First guy had wrong equipment, didn't show up next day etc. The install, the Genie and the client were to be free due to my account standing or something.
 
Recently, I called Directv to install it again. This is what they said;
 
It will now cost $100 for the Genie, client and installation. There is no guarantee which Genie I will get but it will probably be the HR34. 
They also explained that there was another 'promotion' which included an a totally free HD DVR, HD receiver and installation of WHDVR. I then asked them whether they would install an HR44 if I could find one online. They said that unless they provided the Genie at the time of the order it couldn't be done. They went on to say that maybe the installer would install the HR44 for an additional fee. There was no mention of any refund for the HR44. This is what I did;
 
I purchased an HR44 Genie online. I ordered WHDVR and the free promotion that included the HD DVR, HD receiver and installation.
 
My questions are...
 
1) Does the install of WHDVR require a new dish?
2) How much additional work has to be done to add the HR44 to an existing WHDVR service? 
3) Is my new HR44 covered by my protection plan?
4) Was this a good idea?
 
Thanks in advance for your advice. I look forward to reading your responses.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,450 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 11 October 2013 - 12:22 PM

Your not saying what is replacing what for us to figure out your total tuner count.


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,041 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 October 2013 - 12:59 PM

And we've got to know how the R15 and legacy receiver are being handled.



#4 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 11 October 2013 - 02:34 PM

1.  If your dish is an AT-9 or a round dish, then you need to replace it because the HR44 requires SWM.  If you have a 3 or 5 LNB AU-9 with 4 coax coming from it, then you don't need to replace your dish.  You can replace your WB68 multiswitch with a SWM16 module which will support 16 SWM tuners and 4 legacy tuners.  The HR44 has 5 tuners.

2.  All DVRs need to be connected to an Ethernet in order to support Whole Home.  You can either run an Ethernet cable to each DVR or order the CCK (Cinema connection kit) which requires one Ethernet connection to it and the Ethernet signal is then sent to all DVRs through the coax connection.

3.  When you purchase a HR44 through Amazon or Solid Signal or WeakKnees or any other internet location, you are paying for a lease on the HR44.  DirecTV still owns it, so it will be covered by your protection plan once you activate it.

4.  The HR44 is the best DVR I have ever owned.  It is very fast and a real pleasure to use. 


HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x099c
DirecTV since 1997


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,960 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 October 2013 - 03:15 PM

1.  If your dish is an AT-9 or a round dish, then you need to replace it because the HR44 requires SWM.  If you have a 3 or 5 LNB AU-9 with 4 coax coming from it, then you don't need to replace your dish.  You can replace your WB68 multiswitch with a SWM16 module which will support 16 SWM tuners and 4 legacy tuners.  The HR44 has 5 tuners.

2.  All DVRs need to be connected to an Ethernet in order to support Whole Home.  You can either run an Ethernet cable to each DVR or order the CCK (Cinema connection kit) which requires one Ethernet connection to it and the Ethernet signal is then sent to all DVRs through the coax connection.

3.  When you purchase a HR44 through Amazon or Solid Signal or WeakKnees or any other internet location, you are paying for a lease on the HR44.  DirecTV still owns it, so it will be covered by your protection plan once you activate it.

4.  The HR44 is the best DVR I have ever owned.  It is very fast and a real pleasure to use. 

#2 is not quite correct.  The 3 HR21s plus the HR21 would need a DECA home adapter each.  the TS can then use the R44 as a bridge or use a CCK instead


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 11 October 2013 - 04:03 PM

Whole Home work fine with an Ethernet connection running into each DVR.  I have an HR44 and 2 HR21s connected to an Ethernet hub with Ethernet cables.  I have no DECAs.  You only need a DECA on the HR21s if you intend to run the Ethernet through the coax.


HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x099c
DirecTV since 1997


#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 04:21 PM

Whole Home work fine with an Ethernet connection running into each DVR.  I have an HR44 and 2 HR21s connected to an Ethernet hub with Ethernet cables.  I have no DECAs.  You only need a DECA on the HR21s if you intend to run the Ethernet through the coax.

DirecTV doesn't install Whole Home service "unsupported", which means ethernet.

They use DECA as it is supported.


A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,960 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 October 2013 - 04:23 PM

Whole Home work fine with an Ethernet connection running into each DVR.  

 

No one said it would not work, but as VOS said, is not what DirecTV installs....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:22 PM

Your not saying what is replacing what for us to figure out your total tuner count.

Sorry about that...

 

I am replacing the Sat-T60 with the HD DVR, the R15 with the HD receiver and the HR44 will move close to the router in an office upstairs and the DVR in it's place will move elsewhere. This will give me seven machines.



#10 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,552 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:35 PM

Sorry about that...

 

I am replacing the Sat-T60 with the HD DVR, the R15 with the HD receiver and the HR44 will move close to the router in an office upstairs and the DVR in it's place will move elsewhere. This will give me seven machines.

So you will end up with 3-HR21, 1-HR22, one "HD DVR", one "HD RCVR", and one Genie, correct?  That totals 16 tuners, which is the maximum an SWM16 can support, so it should work. You will need to have the Genie, one DVR and the receiver on one side of the SWM16, and four DVRs on the other side.  Hopefully the installer is experienced enough to do a 16 tuner install.



#11 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:49 PM

1.  If your dish is an AT-9 or a round dish, then you need to replace it because the HR44 requires SWM.  If you have a 3 or 5 LNB AU-9 with 4 coax coming from it, then you don't need to replace your dish.  You can replace your WB68 multiswitch with a SWM16 module which will support 16 SWM tuners and 4 legacy tuners.  The HR44 has 5 tuners.

2.  All DVRs need to be connected to an Ethernet in order to support Whole Home.  You can either run an Ethernet cable to each DVR or order the CCK (Cinema connection kit) which requires one Ethernet connection to it and the Ethernet signal is then sent to all DVRs through the coax connection.

3.  When you purchase a HR44 through Amazon or Solid Signal or WeakKnees or any other internet location, you are paying for a lease on the HR44.  DirecTV still owns it, so it will be covered by your protection plan once you activate it.

4.  The HR44 is the best DVR I have ever owned.  It is very fast and a real pleasure to use. 

Directv changed out my dish a couple of years ago when I got HD. I will have to get some binoculars to see it as it resides on my roof. I will look for the cables and LNB. Two months ago, when Directv came to install whole home and a Genie, the installer took a quick glance at my system and said he couldn't do the job. I never found out exactly why. Maybe he didn't have the new dish on his truck, or some other integral part.



#12 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:55 PM

So you will end up with 3-HR21, 1-HR22, one "HD DVR", one "HD RCVR", and one Genie, correct?  That totals 16 tuners, which is the maximum an SWM16 can support, so it should work. You will need to have the Genie, one DVR and the receiver on one side of the SWM16, and four DVRs on the other side.  Hopefully the installer is experienced enough to do a 16 tuner install.

Will the amount of tuners degrade the signal and worsen the picture quality? I know this was a factor before with the multiswitch when I ventured past 8.



#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:57 PM

Will the amount of tuners degrade the signal and worsen the picture quality? I know this was a factor before with the multiswitch when I ventured past 8.

If the install is done correctly, it won't be a problem.


A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,544 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 11 October 2013 - 10:27 PM

Directv changed out my dish a couple of years ago when I got HD. I will have to get some binoculars to see it as it resides on my roof. I will look for the cables and LNB. Two months ago, when Directv came to install whole home and a Genie, the installer took a quick glance at my system and said he couldn't do the job. I never found out exactly why. Maybe he didn't have the new dish on his truck, or some other integral part.

You have to use binoculars? Where on your roof is your dish located?

 

If the dish location requires the installer to leave his ladder, that might have been the reason that stopped him from doing the job (OSHA Fall Protection regulations).

 

But he should have told you why he couldn't do the job.  Especially if that was the reason because it could stop your scheduled installation.



#15 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 12 October 2013 - 05:40 AM

You have to use binoculars? Where on your roof is your dish located?

 

If the dish location requires the installer to leave his ladder, that might have been the reason that stopped him from doing the job (OSHA Fall Protection regulations).

 

But he should have told you why he couldn't do the job.  Especially if that was the reason because it could stop your scheduled installation.

He would definitely have to leave his ladder to do the install. My dish used to be located on my chimney and it was relocated to the roof near the chimney. Your theory makes sense because he really didn't look at much of anything else.



#16 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 12 October 2013 - 05:49 AM

You have to use binoculars? Where on your roof is your dish located?

 

If the dish location requires the installer to leave his ladder, that might have been the reason that stopped him from doing the job (OSHA Fall Protection regulations).

 

But he should have told you why he couldn't do the job.  Especially if that was the reason because it could stop your scheduled installation.

I believe the dish has to be on the very top of the roof due to horizon trees. We got hit hard by Sandy here but not hard enough I guess)-;



#17 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,544 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 05:54 AM

Then I hope for your sake a different installer shows up. I'm guessing he won't even get out the binoculars this time.

#18 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,960 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 October 2013 - 08:15 PM

So you will end up with 3-HR21, 1-HR22, one "HD DVR", one "HD RCVR", and one Genie, correct?  That totals 16 tuners, which is the maximum an SWM16 can support, so it should work. You will need to have the Genie, one DVR and the receiver on one side of the SWM16, and four DVRs on the other side.  Hopefully the installer is experienced enough to do a 16 tuner install.

Piece of cake!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,960 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 October 2013 - 08:15 PM

Then I hope for your sake a different installer shows up. I'm guessing he won't even get out the binoculars this time.

Another round of the same.....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:48 AM

You have to use binoculars? Where on your roof is your dish located?

 

If the dish location requires the installer to leave his ladder, that might have been the reason that stopped him from doing the job (OSHA Fall Protection regulations).

 

But he should have told you why he couldn't do the job.  Especially if that was the reason because it could stop your scheduled installation

 

Piece of cake! 

 

1.  If your dish is an AT-9 or a round dish, then you need to replace it because the HR44 requires SWM.  If you have a 3 or 5 LNB AU-9 with 4 coax coming from it, then you don't need to replace your dish.  You can replace your WB68 multiswitch with a SWM16 module which will support 16 SWM tuners and 4 legacy tuners.  The HR44 has 5 tuners.

2.  All DVRs need to be connected to an Ethernet in order to support Whole Home.  You can either run an Ethernet cable to each DVR or order the CCK (Cinema connection kit) which requires one Ethernet connection to it and the Ethernet signal is then sent to all DVRs through the coax connection.

3.  When you purchase a HR44 through Amazon or Solid Signal or WeakKnees or any other internet location, you are paying for a lease on the HR44.  DirecTV still owns it, so it will be covered by your protection plan once you activate it.

4.  The HR44 is the best DVR I have ever owned.  It is very fast and a real pleasure to use. 

It looks like I have an SL3 slimline LNB that is non-swm. There is more than one cable coming out of it.



#21 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,534 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 October 2013 - 08:50 AM

 

You have to use binoculars? Where on your roof is your dish located?

 

If the dish location requires the installer to leave his ladder, that might have been the reason that stopped him from doing the job (OSHA Fall Protection regulations).

 

But he should have told you why he couldn't do the job.  Especially if that was the reason because it could stop your scheduled installation

 

Piece of cake! 

 

1.  If your dish is an AT-9 or a round dish, then you need to replace it because the HR44 requires SWM.  If you have a 3 or 5 LNB AU-9 with 4 coax coming from it, then you don't need to replace your dish.  You can replace your WB68 multiswitch with a SWM16 module which will support 16 SWM tuners and 4 legacy tuners.  The HR44 has 5 tuners.

2.  All DVRs need to be connected to an Ethernet in order to support Whole Home.  You can either run an Ethernet cable to each DVR or order the CCK (Cinema connection kit) which requires one Ethernet connection to it and the Ethernet signal is then sent to all DVRs through the coax connection.

3.  When you purchase a HR44 through Amazon or Solid Signal or WeakKnees or any other internet location, you are paying for a lease on the HR44.  DirecTV still owns it, so it will be covered by your protection plan once you activate it.

4.  The HR44 is the best DVR I have ever owned.  It is very fast and a real pleasure to use. 

It looks like I have an SL3 slimline LNB that is non-swm. There is more than one cable coming out of it.

 

That's good;

 

Then you won't need a dish or LNB swap out and the installer may not need to climb up to the dish, assuming no alignment problems with it of course. 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#22 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,534 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 October 2013 - 08:58 AM

1.  If your dish is an AT-9 or a round dish, then you need to replace it because the HR44 requires SWM.  If you have a 3 or 5 LNB AU-9 with 4 coax coming from it, then you don't need to replace your dish.  You can replace your WB68 multiswitch with a SWM16 module which will support 16 SWM tuners and 4 legacy tuners.  The HR44 has 5 tuners.

 

While virtually all of academic interest nowadays since customers still using the old AT-9 is pretty rare now.

 

Nevertheless it will work with a SWiM-8 or -16 external multiswitch as well.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#23 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 14 October 2013 - 09:59 AM

While virtually all of academic interest nowadays since customers still using the old AT-9 is pretty rare now.

 

Nevertheless it will work with a SWiM-8 or -16 external multiswitch as well.

Not according to a Solid Signal forum.

 

http://forums.solids...le-wire-upgrade

 

At least they think the AT-9 in not reliable as a SWM dish.


Edited by bpratt, 14 October 2013 - 10:01 AM.

HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x099c
DirecTV since 1997


#24 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,534 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:50 PM

Not according to a Solid Signal forum.

 

http://forums.solids...le-wire-upgrade

 

At least they think the AT-9 in not reliable as a SWM dish.

Oh yeah I'm familiar with that SS article, but its not accurate there.

 

The AT-9 is (or mostly today, "was") functionally equivalent to the Slimline-5 with a conventional 4 output LNB. Therefore like the SL-5, it may be used with a SWIM-8 or -16 MS.

 

In fact, you can even remove the 110/119 sidecar and the AT-9 will "almost" act like a SL-3, again with a conventional four output LNB.

 

The difference here though, is you must connect the AT-9 through a SWiM switch if the sidecar is removed as it will no longer work correctly in legacy mode without the sidecar.

 

SS is very informative on DIRECTV technical issues and even getting better with their various white papers, blogs, and discussion forums there, but they've still got some inaccuracies.

 

As do we all I guess ... :)


Edited by HoTat2, 14 October 2013 - 12:51 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#25 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 15 October 2013 - 10:59 AM

Since all I signed up for was the installation of Whole Home DVR and two additional HD receivers, what can I or should I expect from the installer if I don't have any communication with him before the install? I am concerned that the installer won't have all of the necessary accessories to complete my the installation of my HR44.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...