Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Click Post, nothing happens, click again nothing happens, oops two posts


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,298 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 11 October 2013 - 11:51 PM

I use Firefox and I'm experiencing what I describe in the title the past few days. I click on "post" and I don't get a reload showing my post in the thread. I notice someone else had duplicate posts. I'll try IE tomorrow to see if it occurs there.


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 06:41 AM

Same for me, almost always use the quick post at the bottom of the thread and when I click post the button goes away and I see a little text "saving post" but the screen never refreshes.  Go out of the thread and back in and my post is there.

 

Edit:  when I posted the issue it refreshed correctly


My Setup


#3 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,239 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 06:44 AM

I think lots of people are having this issue just based on the amount of double posts over the past few days.

We me, FireFox didnt show my post so i 'posted' a second time. I'm about to test Safari.

Edit: Safari seems OK.

Edited by trh, 12 October 2013 - 06:48 AM.


#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,356 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 07:33 AM

Chrome does the same thing, at least sometimes. Didn't happen a minute ago.



#5 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,054 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 12 October 2013 - 08:34 AM

Hi...

 

I just disabled the Topify plugin which is one of the few changes/updates as of late to see if this issue goes away.  Sometimes plugins can interfere with normal operation.

 

At first it seemed to be only an issue with the recent Chrome update, but above, I am reading now about Firefox.

 

Please let me know if you think this issue has now stopped based on this test.

 

Thanks. 


David Bott

Admin - Owner

 

Founder - AVSForum.comTiVoCommunity.com, Home Theater Cruise, LLC, DBNet Consulting, LLC, 

Board of Advisers - Prelaunch.com

Connecting to Over 5 Million Unique Enthusiasts a Month

 

DISCLAIMER: All spelling and grammatical errors done on purpose for the proofreadingly challenged.


#6 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 09:09 AM

This is a test post


My Setup


#7 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 09:10 AM

The test post worked like it should but for me at least it does not happen 100% of the time


My Setup


#8 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,273 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 12 October 2013 - 10:12 AM

I was having this problem as well with Firefox starting Thursday as I recall. Sometimes it would go to a blank page (often a sign that PHP has found a code error), other times it would go nowhere but the post would be lodged.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#9 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,054 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 12 October 2013 - 11:03 AM

Well Topify was installed on the 2nd.  Last Thursday was the 10th.  So not sure on the timing or we would have seen this sooner.  But still will keep of OFF for now and see what happens.

 

Other than that, the only other change to the site was at the end of last month when a IP.Board security patch was released.  No other changes to the site otherwise.

 

Oh wait, their also was a TapaTalk update to the plug in.  I will turn off TapaTalk if this test does not solve it.  One thing at a time I can try so we can maybe find the issue.


David Bott

Admin - Owner

 

Founder - AVSForum.comTiVoCommunity.com, Home Theater Cruise, LLC, DBNet Consulting, LLC, 

Board of Advisers - Prelaunch.com

Connecting to Over 5 Million Unique Enthusiasts a Month

 

DISCLAIMER: All spelling and grammatical errors done on purpose for the proofreadingly challenged.


#10 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,054 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 15 October 2013 - 08:17 AM

Hi All...

 

Has this stopped?  If so, I want to turn on the plugin I turned off and see if it returns.

 

Thanks


David Bott

Admin - Owner

 

Founder - AVSForum.comTiVoCommunity.com, Home Theater Cruise, LLC, DBNet Consulting, LLC, 

Board of Advisers - Prelaunch.com

Connecting to Over 5 Million Unique Enthusiasts a Month

 

DISCLAIMER: All spelling and grammatical errors done on purpose for the proofreadingly challenged.


#11 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,334 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 October 2013 - 12:37 PM

Hi All...

Has this stopped? If so, I want to turn on the plugin I turned off and see if it returns.

Thanks

I think so, at least for me.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 15 October 2013 - 04:01 PM

It has stopped for me too but I am not a heavy poster.  I have posted a few times since the turn off with no issues


  • makaiguy likes this

My Setup


#13 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,054 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 18 October 2013 - 04:11 PM

OK, no more DUP reports, I am going to turn back on Topify and see if it start again.  Please let me know.


David Bott

Admin - Owner

 

Founder - AVSForum.comTiVoCommunity.com, Home Theater Cruise, LLC, DBNet Consulting, LLC, 

Board of Advisers - Prelaunch.com

Connecting to Over 5 Million Unique Enthusiasts a Month

 

DISCLAIMER: All spelling and grammatical errors done on purpose for the proofreadingly challenged.


#14 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,522 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 18 October 2013 - 04:41 PM

OK, no more DUP reports, I am going to turn back on Topify and see if it start again.  Please let me know.

Sorry to rain on your parade David but when I posted at 18:15hrs on the Gas Price thread when I hit post nothing happened. Tried two more times with the same result. Then poof, three posts appeared.


DirecTV customer since 1995.


#15 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,522 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 18 October 2013 - 04:41 PM

OK, no more DUP reports, I am going to turn back on Topify and see if it start again.  Please let me know.

Sorry to rain on your parade David but when I posted at 18:15hrs on the Gas Price thread when I hit post nothing happened. Tried two more times with the same result. Then poof, three posts appeared.


DirecTV customer since 1995.


#16 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,522 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 18 October 2013 - 04:42 PM

There it is again.


DirecTV customer since 1995.


#17 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 18 October 2013 - 05:11 PM

Let me try a test


My Setup


#18 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 18 October 2013 - 05:11 PM

Let me try a test


My Setup


#19 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 18 October 2013 - 05:11 PM

Let me try a test

 

Confirmed.  IMO the Topify app is the cause.  I have had no posting issues since you removed and now it is back


My Setup


#20 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,011 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 18 October 2013 - 05:13 PM

In my case none of the posts appeared until I refreshed the page. After clicking post I got a message about saving post and then the button came back


My Setup





spam firewall