Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Moving, have some questions


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   generalpatton78

generalpatton78

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2003

Posted 12 October 2013 - 02:21 AM

Hello I currently have three HR24's with Whole Home. I'm moving to a new place a couple miles down the road. I set up a movers connection but found out my new place is all wired up with the same dish as mine it seems. So I don't think they will have to replace the dish.

 

The rep set up a Genie with two mini's. Is there any reason why I cant just use my HR24's with the genie instead and have 9 tuners plus the extra HD space?

 

Second is the HR44 allot better then the 34? I saw on a review the 34 doesn't have optical out for DD and that is what I use. Do all 34's not have the optical or is there newer 34 models that have it?

 

Also is there any reason why I need internet set up at the time of install? I should have a self install kit for my new internet service in the mailbox, but might not have it set up before D* shows up tomorrow.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 05:48 AM

When the installer gets there he'll determine whether the dish (and LNB) needs to be replaced. He should have all the equipment to start from scratch, so don't worry about it.

I strongly recommend you keep the 24s. No reason you can't do it. However, you'll have nine tuners with a Genie and the two DVRs. So possibly a different LNB than what they were planning on and certainly you'll need a SWM16. Which isn't on their work order.

There are some differences between the two models. The 34s don't have the optical out. What you'll get is what is on the truck.

You should have the Internet installed so they can hook it up and test everything. But I don't know if that is a requirement.

But I think at this point, you have to call them and change your order so the SWM16 is included. And the problem with that is DirecTV doesn't change orders. They cancel your current order and enter a new one. And sometimes that pushes back your install.
  • jadielyn likes this

#3 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,571 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 12 October 2013 - 09:37 AM

You can configure one of the HR24s to only use one tuner.

Make sure you get what you want in terms of tuners as it won't save you any money to settle for less under DIRECTV's current box pricing model.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 October 2013 - 07:59 PM


But I think at this point, you have to call them and change your order so the SWM16 is included. And the problem with that is DirecTV doesn't change orders. They cancel your current order and enter a new one. And sometimes that pushes back your install.

The chances of the tech having a SWM16 is the same as having a Genie.  Since all work is "dynamically" dispatched, the tech wont see the order until he's on the way to your house.  Because of this, techs are supposed to have a van with enough inventory for a few days.  


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 10:29 PM

The chances of the tech having a SWM16 is the same as having a Genie.  Since all work is "dynamically" dispatched, the tech wont see the order until he's on the way to your house.  Because of this, techs are supposed to have a van with enough inventory for a few days.

You said that before. But I checked with the Mastec tech I had two weeks ago when I had an issue. He had his work orders assigned when he left the shop in the morning. So it appears that different locations are not working under the same policies.
Will he have a SWM16 on his truck? Probably. But two years ago, probably not.

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 13 October 2013 - 08:07 AM

You can configure one of the HR24s to only use one tuner.

Make sure you get what you want in terms of tuners as it won't save you any money to settle for less under DIRECTV's current box pricing model.


That is true, but the OP should not need to do that. Also, that means that if they later want to make both tuners available, the OP will have to pay for the upgrade to the SWM16. If the OP has their order changed to be the Genie and 2 HR24s now, the upgrade to the SWM16 will be free.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 October 2013 - 08:09 AM

You said that before. But I checked with the Mastec tech I had two weeks ago when I had an issue. He had his work orders assigned when he left the shop in the morning. So it appears that different locations are not working under the same policies.
Will he have a SWM16 on his truck? Probably. But two years ago, probably not.

This is not a location policy, this is a DirecTV "blanket" policy.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 13 October 2013 - 08:27 AM

This is not a location policy, this is a DirecTV "blanket" policy.


Then not every location is following that policy.

I wonder what DirecTV's policy is on following federally-mandated OSHA Fall Protection safety regulations?

#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 October 2013 - 09:50 AM

Then not every location is following that policy.

I wonder what DirecTV's policy is on following federally-mandated OSHA Fall Protection safety regulations?

is not up to "someone" to follow. funny thing is you keep debating this without any first hand knowledge, just based of what someone told you. I do this for a living! so trust me I know.

as far as OSHA is concerned, is up to d DirecTV to enforced when O&O but up to the HSP when is a well.... HSP


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 13 October 2013 - 03:04 PM

You said that before. But I checked with the Mastec tech I had two weeks ago when I had an issue. He had his work orders assigned when he left the shop in the morning. So it appears that different locations are not working under the same policies.
Will he have a SWM16 on his truck? Probably. But two years ago, probably not.

My work is assigned before I leave my "shop" every morning. I get up at four and check my equipment list, if I have everything its back to sleep, if not, off to the warehouse. I don't get to see any of my jobs till the first one drops about six-fifteen, then its only one. My Sup can see them all but he dosn't have the time to look at every ones route and say hey! you might need this. I only have one SWM16, if I use it on the first job any work order changes are out of luck. I let them call Directv to make the change instead of me, the date changes when that happens. Other things are easier I likely have them on my truck. Just don't ask me to add a GenieGo or a wireless client. If its on the work order I'll have it, otherwise, its dynamic. 


HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 October 2013 - 04:15 PM

My work is assigned before I leave my "shop" every morning. I get up at four and check my equipment list, if I have everything its back to sleep, if not, off to the warehouse. I don't get to see any of my jobs till the first one drops about six-fifteen, then its only one. My Sup can see them all but he dosn't have the time to look at every ones route and say hey! you might need this. I only have one SWM16, if I use it on the first job any work order changes are out of luck. I let them call Directv to make the change instead of me, the date changes when that happens. Other things are easier I likely have them on my truck. Just don't ask me to add a GenieGo or a wireless client. If its on the work order I'll have it, otherwise, its dynamic. 

Of course, because this is "dynamic" your route is not likely to stay or might change depending on other routes.  I always take "today's equipment" with a grain of salt.  I have 4 SWM16 currently on my truck


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 13 October 2013 - 06:20 PM

"Dynamic"

So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell, blue skies from pain.
Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?


....What have we found?
The same old fears.

:)
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 October 2013 - 06:25 PM

"Dynamic"

So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell, blue skies from pain.
Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?


....What have we found?
The same old fears.

:)

????


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 13 October 2013 - 06:36 PM

????


Pink Floyd....cuz!

Wishing You Were Here!

;)
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 October 2013 - 06:51 PM

Pink Floyd....cuz!

Wishing You Were Here!

;)

Unfortunately not my cup of tea...


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 13 October 2013 - 07:10 PM

Unfortunately not my cup of tea...


You sort of struck me like that.

Peace! Play Ball...Out
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#17 OFFLINE   generalpatton78

generalpatton78

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2003

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:00 PM

Well you guys were right on the money. The installer was there very early and i got a wake up call and hurried out there. I didnt get a chance to see the posts before the install. I ended up with HR44, HR24, and a gen mini. I can live with that honetly. My big issue is now its saying whole home not authorized on the HR24. They couldn't add it via phone and i cant do it on the web either. Any idea's??????????


Edited by generalpatton78, 14 October 2013 - 05:01 PM.


#18 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 14 October 2013 - 08:32 PM

Well you guys were right on the money. The installer was there very early and i got a wake up call and hurried out there. I didnt get a chance to see the posts before the install. I ended up with HR44, HR24, and a gen mini. I can live with that honetly. My big issue is now its saying whole home not authorized on the HR24. They couldn't add it via phone and i cant do it on the web either. Any idea's??????????

Why?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#19 OFFLINE   generalpatton78

generalpatton78

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2003

Posted 15 October 2013 - 03:14 PM

I don't know what happened but it's working now lol.



#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 October 2013 - 04:25 PM

Awesome.  Thanks for the update. 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall