Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie, 3 Genie Minis Install Question (wiring)


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BigBird0000

BigBird0000

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2012

Posted 14 October 2013 - 06:49 PM

I just requested an upgrade from DirecTV, they said they are sending me

   1 Genie

   3 Genie Minis

 

 

[currently have HR24-200, D12-100 (3)]

 

I have a slimline antenna (SL54NR2-02 green label), an MSPLIT4R1-02 (4 way splitter green label),

a power inserter and DECA (don't think I will need this). I have coax going to each TV, and Ethernet in each room from a central location.

 

Can someone provide me with a wiring diagram of how to hook the Genie, Genie Minis, and Ethernet together?

 

Muchly Appreciated!

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,862 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:10 PM

Each genie or client needs coax to it. Run all lines to the splitter. Because you have a 4-way splitter, you will need to pass the line through the power inserter to the receiver... Just make sure you connect POWER TO SWM to the splitter, if you connect the thing wrong you will fry the receiver. Run one Ethernet cable to the genie DVR and it will provide internet to the clients.

If that's not clear please send me a PM and I will ask someone i know to do a wiring diagram for you in the morning.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   BigBird0000

BigBird0000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2012

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:32 PM

Is this the correct way

https://www.dropbox....getpu/Genie.jpg

 

Genie.jpg

Attached Thumbnails

  • Genie.jpg


#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:43 PM

Is this the correct way

https://www.dropbox....getpu/Genie.jpg

 

Genie.jpg

yes


A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   BigBird0000

BigBird0000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2012

Posted 14 October 2013 - 08:17 PM

Great,

 

Thanks Steward and OldSchool!



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,324 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 14 October 2013 - 08:30 PM

Great,

 

Thanks Steward and OldSchool!

No, VERYoldschool... !rolling  there is a difference!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   kaminar

kaminar

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 188 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2012

Posted 14 October 2013 - 11:19 PM

I just requested an upgrade from DirecTV, they said they are sending me

   1 Genie

   3 Genie Minis

 

 

[currently have HR24-200, D12-100 (3)]

 

May want to keep the HR24 instead of one of the Genie Minis. Same monthly cost, 7 tuners vs. 5.

 

Just saying :)

 

Good luck!



#8 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,858 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 14 October 2013 - 11:37 PM

I just requested an upgrade from DirecTV, they said they are sending me
   1 Genie
   3 Genie Minis
 
 
[currently have HR24-200, D12-100 (3)]
 
I have a slimline antenna (SL54NR2-02 green label), an MSPLIT4R1-02 (4 way splitter green label),
a power inserter and DECA (don't think I will need this). I have coax going to each TV, and Ethernet in each room from a central location.
 
Can someone provide me with a wiring diagram of how to hook the Genie, Genie Minis, and Ethernet together?
 
Muchly Appreciated!

May want to keep the HR24 instead of one of the Genie Minis. Same monthly cost, 7 tuners vs. 5.

Just saying :)

Good luck!

Agreed.

The OP is putting all his eggs in one basket. He should think twice about keeping the HR24.

Edited by Drucifer, 14 October 2013 - 11:39 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#9 OFFLINE   BigBird0000

BigBird0000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2012

Posted 15 October 2013 - 06:27 AM

That sounds like a great idea, I didn't know what works with what.

 

Do I still need the DECA for internet on the HR24? If so, how does that get wired in?

 

Thanks for the helpful info, the kids would like to keep their recordings on the HR24 !



#10 OFFLINE   SolidSignal

SolidSignal

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2007

Posted 15 October 2013 - 08:17 AM

Hi,

 

I was asked to weigh in on this thread. You do not need a DECA for the HR24, but if you are going to use 3 clients, a Genie DVR and an HR24 you will need an 8-way splitter.

 

Attached is a diagram that shows how everything goes together. The only critical part is that you must run the line to the power inserter from the red port on the splitter.

Attached Files



#11 OFFLINE   BigBird0000

BigBird0000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2012

Posted 15 October 2013 - 10:19 AM

SolidState, would my HR-24 still be able to access youtube without the DECA?



#12 OFFLINE   BigBird0000

BigBird0000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2012

Posted 15 October 2013 - 10:27 AM

Also, does this work with a SWM-5 Sat, or do I need SWM-8?



#13 OFFLINE   SolidSignal

SolidSignal

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2007

Posted 15 October 2013 - 10:30 AM

It's Solid Signal ;)

 

The Genie will distribute internet over the coax line to all your HD receivers. It's like having an external broadband DECA except it's built in.

 

As for your second question, I think you're asking if you can use the SWM-enabled Slimline dish or if you need to go to an external multiswitch. The answer is that you can use the SWM-enabled Slimline dish for any combination of up to 8 tuners. The Genie DVR counts as 5, the HR24 counts as 2, and the Mini Clients use the tuners from the DVR so they don't add to the tuner count. In other words, you wouldn't have to upgrade.



#14 OFFLINE   BigBird0000

BigBird0000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2012

Posted 15 October 2013 - 11:25 AM

OK, great. I knew the genie distributed the ethernet, but didn't know if the HR24 would be able to get it from there, I guess it makes sense since the DECA just puts it in for the HR-24.

 

Also thanks for confirming the LNB slimline question.

 

SolidState - will be looking around on your site later - thanks again for all the clarifications!



#15 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,858 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 15 October 2013 - 02:20 PM

That sounds like a great idea, I didn't know what works with what.
 
Do I still need the DECA for internet on the HR24? If so, how does that get wired in?
 
Thanks for the helpful info, the kids would like to keep their recordings on the HR24 !

The DECA is for the connection to the Intenet that is shared over your Whole Home by all receivers on your Whole Home.

You can also plug your Ethernet directly into your Genie, but if for any reason the Genie goes down, you also lose your Internet access.

Edited by Drucifer, 15 October 2013 - 02:21 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00





spam firewall