Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR44 spontaneously rebooting


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,292 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 October 2013 - 08:40 AM

It did it again tonight at 8:40, so a bit earlier. I'm ready to ask for a replacement but we have a ton of recordings I don't want to lose. If I get a GenieGo and load them all to my PC, is there any limit on how many I can transfer?

None known. But that's a clunky workaround, and you get reduced (iPad sized) resolution. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,058 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 23 October 2013 - 09:15 AM

None known. But that's a clunky workaround, and you get reduced (iPad sized) resolution. 

 

Then what other way is there to save recordings if you replace your receiver?



#23 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,292 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 October 2013 - 11:55 AM

None I know of; sorry. But you may be able to hang on to the receiver long enough to watch off what you want, and meantime build up a library on a new machine, if in fact you need to replace it. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#24 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,058 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 23 October 2013 - 01:33 PM

How long can you keep the old receiver? I thought you had to give it back right away.



#25 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,292 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 October 2013 - 01:52 PM

If it's a straight swap, it goes away immediately, afaik. But with special circumstances, perhaps a month or two. Or if you're adding to the system, you'd keep the old box activated until you're through, then deactivate and send back. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#26 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,830 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 23 October 2013 - 02:37 PM

How long can you keep the old receiver? I thought you had to give it back right away.

The wording I had when I returned my HR23 back in the summer said it had to be there in 2 weeks. It had already been 1 when I discovered that wording. I called and told DTV about it and she said they would make a note and give me another week.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#27 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,058 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 23 October 2013 - 04:39 PM

If it's a straight swap, it goes away immediately, afaik. But with special circumstances, perhaps a month or two. Or if you're adding to the system, you'd keep the old box activated until you're through, then deactivate and send back. 

 

It's a genie so you can only have one active. I'll give it another few days and see what happens.



#28 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,263 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 25 October 2013 - 11:33 AM

I believe this problem will go away on its own, soon.  If it were me, I would keep the receiver and not worry about losing my recordings.  

 

Just sayin'  :)


  • Laxguy likes this

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#29 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,058 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 30 October 2013 - 05:16 PM

I hope the fix comes soon.  It did it again last night, although that was the first time in almost a week.



#30 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,252 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 30 October 2013 - 05:21 PM

And I would put it on a UPS.  You can buy a small one for about $49.    Its worth it.  So if the power ever really does go out during a time when the there's writing to the hard drive, it won't hurt it.

 

Every DVR, TV and computer in my home is on a UPS.  But then again, I get lots of power flickers in summer months where I live.



#31 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,058 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 13 November 2013 - 12:06 PM

It hasn't happened for over a week now, so hopefully the software update fixed it.



#32 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,864 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 13 November 2013 - 10:01 PM

I had this happen on the HR24 when it was plugged on the power strip, which kept rebooting constantly, then I decided to plug it directly to the wall outlet and it hasn't rebooted since, till I found out that it was a defective strip since the TV and sound system kept turning off also, replaced it and all is well (knock on wood)


Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#33 OFFLINE   blueliner17

blueliner17

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 03 January 2014 - 05:54 PM

Brand new HR44, I had two spontaneous reboots yesterday and two again today.  Tech support said UPS might be going bad.  He asked me to plug the receiver directly into the wall and monitor for the next few days (this doesn't really make sense but I'll try).  I have not noticed power issues on any other devices on the same UPS and also, the previous receiver was fine.

 

Any suggestions on how to fix or further debug?


Edited by blueliner17, 03 January 2014 - 05:55 PM.


#34 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,281 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 January 2014 - 07:26 PM

 

 

Any suggestions on how to fix or further debug?

Sure as the CSR said, "monitor for a few days and report back"


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...