Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

2 RC71 remote controls and HR44-500 in RF mode


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bdeblasio

bdeblasio

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2009

Posted 15 October 2013 - 10:41 PM

Can I buy a second RC71 and program it for my existing HR44 in RF mode and have it function at the same time with the original RC71 also in RF mode?



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,256 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 October 2013 - 12:00 AM

Should not be a problem. Getting it there may be fun but it should work fine.

#3 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,420 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 16 October 2013 - 07:42 AM

I've tried this and it does work. I think all that is required is to put the new remote into RF mode and it will be paired to both at the same time. You don't even need to enter the setup menus in the DVR. Just have the DVR on and follow these steps with the new remote:

  1. Hold the 'Mute' and 'Select' buttons at the same time until the indicator light on the remote blinks twice.
  2. Press 961 on the remote followed by 'Channel Up'.
  3. Press 'Enter' on the lower right side of the remote's keypad.

The DVR should display a pairing message and you'll be set. It works on my HR44-500. Let us know if it works for you.


Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 October 2013 - 08:25 AM

all you need to do once you get the RC71 is to press MUTE and ENTER for a few seconds


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
  • jadielyn likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   Half Decaf

Half Decaf

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
  • LocationPhoenix
Joined: Dec 05, 2010

Posted 24 October 2013 - 12:37 AM

The RC71 that came with my R44 just seemed to work with it - I did not try to pair them.  Any advantage to pressing Mute and Enter if the remote controls the basic functions of the box?


Watch this space for even more exciting news


#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 October 2013 - 05:46 AM

The RC71 that came with my R44 just seemed to work with it - I did not try to pair them.  Any advantage to pressing Mute and Enter if the remote controls the basic functions of the box?

it works but in IR.  the advantage is  that it programs the remote in RF where you can then program the RC71 to your other devices, (TV AVR..etc)


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   bdeblasio

bdeblasio

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2009

Posted 24 October 2013 - 09:32 AM

Thanks for the responses. I will order a second RC71 and post my results when it arrives.



#8 OFFLINE   willmw

willmw

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2011

Posted 31 October 2013 - 05:02 PM

Unless I'm missing something, it appears there must be a limit of 4 RC71 remotes (in RF mode at least) for one HR44.  Seems every time I try to set up a 5th, the 4th no longer works and vice-versa.  I've searched but can't find anything that confirms my observation officially.  Anyone have any insight on this?






Protected By... spam firewall...And...