Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Converting 3lnb to SWM


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rbpeirce

rbpeirce

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2006

Posted 16 October 2013 - 03:15 PM

I bought a house that has a 3lnb dish with multiple lines coming in.  In converting to SWM, can I use one of those lines or do new lines need to be strung?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,164 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 16 October 2013 - 04:01 PM

I bought a house that has a 3lnb dish with multiple lines coming in.  In converting to SWM, can I use one of those lines or do new lines need to be strung?

If you convert to SWM by replacing the LNB at the dish, you only need one line and you can use one of the lines you have.



#3 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,756 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 16 October 2013 - 04:31 PM

He can only replace the LNB if it is a Slimline 3 LNB. Isn't there a 101/110/119 round dish 3 LNB?

 

Either way whether you need to replace just the LNB or the entire dish, you can use any of those cables. If there are four of them you may want to leave the other three be rather than removing them, just in case someday you expand your system beyond the capability of a SWM LNB.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#4 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,691 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 16 October 2013 - 04:34 PM

He can only replace the LNB if it is a Slimline 3 LNB. Isn't there a 101/110/119 round dish 3 LNB?

 

Either way whether you need to replace just the LNB or the entire dish, you can use any of those cables. If there are four of them you may want to leave the other three be rather than removing them, just in case someday you expand your system beyond the capability of a SWM LNB.

MY 18 x 20, SD,  3 lnb dish that got the 101/110/119 satellites only had 2 coax cables coming from the LNB.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,220 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 16 October 2013 - 05:55 PM

MY 18 x 20, SD,  3 lnb dish that got the 101/110/119 satellites only had 2 coax cables coming from the LNB.

Though since the official installation guideline ("SPIG") which many installers follow calls for four lines connected to a P. III triple sat. oval to a four barrel ground block even if not all are used. The four lines can therefore nevertheless be a tell-tale sign of a possible P. III dish the TS has.    


Edited by HoTat2, 16 October 2013 - 05:56 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,845 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 October 2013 - 06:18 PM

Though since the official installation guideline ("SPIG") which many installers follow calls for four lines connected to a P. III triple sat. oval to a four barrel ground block even if not all are used. The four lines can therefore nevertheless be a tell-tale sign of a possible P. III dish the TS has.    

this is like J-walking, it is a "law" that no one follows.....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...