Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Upgrading sys to WHDVR w/access to VOD, Apps, etc


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mrphil

mrphil

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:03 PM

Have a 3 year old system comprised of:

 

Dish with 4 RG6 Quad wires running to house to Multi-Switch (See photos)

1 HR24-500 with 2 cables and ethernet (Dish type = Slimline-3)

3 H24-700's with 1 cable and ethernet

 

Wanting to return one of the H24-700's and purchase an additional HR24-500 and setup so that all receivers can access either DVR's recordings and all have internet access.  It's my understanding the ethernet currently connected would be disconnected since all 4 of these would receive that via the video cable. I believe the LNB will need to be swapped out as well and the Multi-Switch removed.  Can someone advise what equipment I would need to obtain to put this all together?  Is it perhaps less expensive to talk D* into doing all this?  

 

Thanks

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0285.JPG
  • IMG_0286.JPG
  • IMG_0287.JPG
  • IMG_0288.JPG

 

(1) HR44-500 w/Ethernet / AM21 / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VL
USpeed AK-68UPSHDDS-BU Dock / WD30EURS 3TB Drive
(1) HR24-500 / Antec MX-1 Dock / WD20EVDS 2TB Drive
(2) C41-100 Clients / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VF


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,703 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:07 PM

Of course it will be cheaper to have DirecTV do this for you. but if you feel adventurous and want to do this yourself you will need a SWM3 LNB with a 21v power inserter along with a 4 way SWM splitter and a DECA BB to "inject" internet to the DirecTV coax network.

Also note that DirecTV does not guarantee receiver model numbers. if you want an specific model, you will need to go through a 3rd party dealer like solid signal

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
  • jadielyn likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   mrphil

mrphil

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:17 PM

Thanks for the advice and quick reply!


 

(1) HR44-500 w/Ethernet / AM21 / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VL
USpeed AK-68UPSHDDS-BU Dock / WD30EURS 3TB Drive
(1) HR24-500 / Antec MX-1 Dock / WD20EVDS 2TB Drive
(2) C41-100 Clients / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VF


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,703 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:42 PM

Thanks for the advice and quick reply!

:righton:


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 17 October 2013 - 06:17 PM

Something you can do would be to obtain the new HR24 from a third party and then have DirecTV come out and do the install/upgrade to Whole Home. Depending on your history with them, the install/upgrade might be very minimal in cost.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...