Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

UCLA-Stanford blackout on ESPN2


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   CincySaint

CincySaint

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2008

Posted 19 October 2013 - 02:01 PM

I'm in Cincinnati and ESPN2 is blacked out. ESPN Coverage maps show the game is on. What's up?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,130 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 19 October 2013 - 02:03 PM

ESPN2's national feed is showing Iowa at Ohio State. UCLA at Stanford is on the alternate 209-1

Edited by KyL416, 19 October 2013 - 02:03 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,971 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 02:08 PM

ESPN2's national feed is showing Iowa at Ohio State. UCLA at Stanford is on the alternate 209-1


209-1 sends me to the national feed 397. To think I cancel my trip to Stanford to watch it on TV. :)

#4 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,130 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 19 October 2013 - 02:13 PM

Where are you located? The late game is a reverse mirror, if you don't see the game on 209-1 it means your ABC affiliate should be airing it unless they changed their mind at the last minute and neglected to notify anyone.

#5 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,971 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 02:16 PM

Thanks. I really wanted to watch that game.





Ps you would think I would know that by now.

Edited by yosoyellobo, 19 October 2013 - 02:17 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   stflush

stflush

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2007

Posted 19 October 2013 - 02:51 PM

I'm in Louisville, and both my local ABC and ESPN2 are carrying the Iowa-Ohio St game.  209-1 says the program is not available in my area (727)???



#7 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,195 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 02:54 PM

I'd call in about that.

#8 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,100 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 19 October 2013 - 03:12 PM

I'm in Cincinnati and ESPN2 is blacked out. ESPN Coverage maps show the game is on. What's up?

 

 

They found out you wanted to watch.

 

That's all it takes.

 

 

 

:eek2:



#9 OFFLINE   CincySaint

CincySaint

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2008

Posted 19 October 2013 - 03:44 PM

I'd call in about that.


I did. They argued with me for 20 minutes that it was blacked out. I finally convinced them that Ohio State is on ABC and we should be getting UCLA on ESPN2. A reboot and reauthorizong the receiver did nothing

My friend down the street has Time Warner and he's watching UCLA on ESPN2 so clearly the game is not supposed to be blacked out here. This is a D* screwup

And my local affiliate always carries Ohio State so there was no last minute change.

For the money we pay D* they should be able to do better

#10 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,123 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 03:47 PM

I did. They argued with me for 20 minutes that it was blacked out. I finally convinced them that Ohio State is on ABC and we should be getting UCLA on ESPN2. A reboot and reauthorizong the receiver did nothing

My friend down the street has Time Warner and he's watching UCLA on ESPN2 so clearly the game is not supposed to be blacked out here. This is a D* screwup

And my local affiliate always carries Ohio State so there was no last minute change.

For the money we pay D* they should be able to do better

It's different with cable because feeds aren't national. Did you not try 209-1?


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#11 OFFLINE   stflush

stflush

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2007

Posted 19 October 2013 - 04:10 PM

I'm on the phone with them now.  After 20 minutes of run-around, I'm now being told I'm in a Big Ten region so I can't get the UCLA-Stanford game. 



#12 OFFLINE   CincySaint

CincySaint

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2008

Posted 19 October 2013 - 04:17 PM

It's on 209-1. I don't understand why it's not on "209" since I have SD duplicates turned off. But 209-1 works

#13 OFFLINE   stflush

stflush

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2007

Posted 19 October 2013 - 04:19 PM

 

It's on 209-1. I don't understand why it's not on "209" since I have SD duplicates turned off. But 209-1 work

 

Doesn't work for me.

 

After about 45 minutes, and being transferred to a supervisor, their position is that me getting the Iowa-Ohio St game on both my local ABC station and ESPN2 is correct, and that I shouldn't/don't get the UCLA-Stanford game.  Nice.


Edited by stflush, 19 October 2013 - 04:23 PM.


#14 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,130 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 19 October 2013 - 04:20 PM

It's on 209-1. I don't understand why it's not on "209" since I have SD duplicates turned off. But 209-1 works

Iowa/Ohio State is on the national ESPN2 feed, UCLA/Stanford is on the alternate. On Cable, where the blackouts occur at the headend, you would get the game on the same channel, since DirecTV is a national provider they have to use alternate channels.


I'm on the phone with them now. After 20 minutes of run-around, I'm now being told I'm in a Big Ten region so I can't get the UCLA-Stanford game.

You should also try calling ESPN at 1-888-549-3776 or sending a message at their website so they can make note of it, be sure to specify what market you are in:
https://r.espn.go.co...contact/tvindex

#15 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,195 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 04:40 PM

It's on 209-1. I don't understand why it's not on "209" since I have SD duplicates turned off. But 209-1 works


DIRECTV is a national provider.

starting this august, they don't use dash ones to denote sd vs Hi Definition feeds for alt channels anymore. That dash one is the alt channel, sd or Hi Definition just like any other channel, it doesn't matter. So on a cable system, espn will carry the opposite game as ABC is carrying. But on sat, they have to show both games on espn and espn alt and then blackout which ever channel is the same as your local ABC because sat is all national channels.

I don't know of any situation where you should be blacked out of either game anywhere, that doesn't make any sense. Both are supposed to be nationally shown. One on your local ABC and one one so (or espn alt on sat)

#16 OFFLINE   blackhawkzone

blackhawkzone

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 532 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2007

Posted 19 October 2013 - 09:28 PM

I'm on the phone with them now.  After 20 minutes of run-around, I'm now being told I'm in a Big Ten region so I can't get the UCLA-Stanford game. 

 

that is pretty funny. I am in Indy (big ten country btw) and 209-1 came in fine.



#17 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,971 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 09:46 PM

What is the rational with these blackout? Are they afaid that they will not be able to sell out The Ohio State game.

#18 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,195 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 09:52 PM

DIRECTV and dish are the only ones that have to black out games like this at all. Your local just shows the other one in the first place. The reasoning is that they want you to watch your ABC channel for the local game so they get that ad revenue from that stream and not the espn one since they likely get more from ABC ads than espn ads for in market games.

#19 ONLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 10:33 PM

What is the rational with these blackout? Are they afaid that they will not be able to sell out The Ohio State game.

No. The game is either on abc or espn. If it is on abc in your region, the other game is on espn and vice versa. The espn feed of your local abc game is turned off. In this case, the games were on 209 and 209-1. If the 209 game is on your abc affiliate, 209 is blacked out but 209-1 should be on. Likewise, if the 209-1 game is on your abc affiliate, 209-1 is blacked out but 209 should be on.

It worked fine here. Ohio State was on abc so I got the other game via espn. The guide data was a mess, however.

Edited by tonyd79, 19 October 2013 - 10:34 PM.

LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#20 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,971 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 19 October 2013 - 10:39 PM

What I hate is that the Sport App shows that the game will be on 209. I set it to record with no problem. Later on I look for it on the playlist and find out it is not recording.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...