Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

h25-700 to battery


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ken28e

ken28e

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationWI
Joined: Oct 28, 2013

Posted 28 October 2013 - 05:49 PM

I have installed a slimline 5 lnb dish at my deer camp and all is working well.  I'm trying to shave off a few watts of power as I'm using battery power. The h25-700 I'm running has a ac converter with output of 12 volts dc. I want to direcly wire to a battery instead of using an inverter from the battery to change to 120 ac then back to 12 volts dc like I'm doing now. Is anyone aware of any problem with this, maybe with voltage going down from 12.7 to 11.2 as the battery is used. Thanks Ken



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 28 October 2013 - 06:02 PM

I would assume the wall wart has a fairly precise regulator set at 12 volts.  It's certainly large and heavy enough, GRRR.  There may or may not be a 'soft start' feature on the power pack, or may be something with the effect of an inrush limiter, and a 12volt lead acid battery won't be as benign.

 

12.7 to 11.2 might work just tickety boo, but I'm not thinking anyone with an engineering degree is going to 'sign off' on what you want to do.

 

And a simultaneous connection to a charger (which might run up to 14.4VDC, if not higher) is going to be a definite no-no.

 

If the power pack is noticeably above ambient (don't have one handy to feel up) I can see you wanting to save a watt, but being out in the boonies with a dead sat isn't fun either.   



#3 OFFLINE   ken28e

ken28e

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationWI
Joined: Oct 28, 2013

Posted 29 October 2013 - 04:45 AM

Thanks, great point about the charger I didn't consider that. If I try it no charger will be connected. Ken



#4 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 29 October 2013 - 06:25 AM

Be sure to use a wire that is the basic same size as the current power supply. My son installs high power stereo units in cars and trucks and he talks all the time about the size of the wire and how important it is to pass the required amount of power to those units. A larger wire would allow much more to flow to the unit and that would be bad and too little would not allow enough to get to the unit.

 

I have a Kill a Watt hooked in the system to my HR24 and Vizio. I know this is not the same but I have seen the power go out and the voltage get down to 90 and the HR24 is still going. If you relate that to using 12v and it dropping to 11v, I think it should work without a problem.


Edited by jimmie57, 29 October 2013 - 06:26 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,913 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 29 October 2013 - 08:10 PM

My guess (and that's all it is, a guess) is that inside the H25 the 12 volts is regulated down to something lower. I doubt it will matter much if you feed it 11, 12, 13 or even 14 volts in.  I don't have an H25 to dig into to check on that.



#6 OFFLINE   ken28e

ken28e

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationWI
Joined: Oct 28, 2013

Posted 30 October 2013 - 01:47 PM

Thanks all, unless someone stops me I'm going for it. I just ordered an ac converter for the cord. I'll put a 1-2 amp fuse and battery clips on it and test at home before I head up north. Can't beat football Sat, Sun, and Monday nights. Ken



#7 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,600 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 31 October 2013 - 12:25 AM

Thanks all, unless someone stops me I'm going for it. I just ordered an ac converter for the cord. I'll put a 1-2 amp fuse and battery clips on it and test at home before I head up north. Can't beat football Sat, Sun, and Monday nights. Ken

Let us know how it works.  


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,857 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 October 2013 - 11:47 AM

not seen schematics of power DC-DC converters of the model, but knowing other similar devices with many internal voltage rails I would assure you: each one has own VR chip/components,

I would say: there shouldn't be issues when your voltage going from 11v to 15v; I would check it for you - I have everything to do that verification but the model of receiver



#9 OFFLINE   ken28e

ken28e

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationWI
Joined: Oct 28, 2013

Posted 31 October 2013 - 01:18 PM

I'm running Direct TV ac adapter model EPS10R1-16 to H25-700 receiver.



#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,857 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 November 2013 - 12:46 AM

I'm running Direct TV ac adapter model EPS10R1-16 to H25-700 receiver.

Can you make good picture of tech info from its label ?

 

(it wouldn't disclose acceptable variation of the +12VDC line though, if I would get the receiver in my hands I would run it from lab power supply and measure all VR at different input voltage [11...15 VDC], but ...)



#11 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 02 November 2013 - 12:11 PM

not seen schematics of power DC-DC converters of the model, but knowing other similar devices with many internal voltage rails I would assure you: each one has own VR chip/components,

I would say: there shouldn't be issues when your voltage going from 11v to 15v; I would check it for you - I have everything to do that verification but the model of receiver

This.

 

The regulators inside the power supply will take care of over/under voltages.



#12 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,857 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:56 PM

This.

 

The regulators inside the power supply will take care of over/under voltages.

inside of the brick is only one VR for +12VDC; I'm talking about VRs inside of the receiver and its input [+12 VDC] tolerance



#13 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 02 November 2013 - 04:15 PM

inside of the brick is only one VR for +12VDC; I'm talking about VRs inside of the receiver and its input [+12 VDC] tolerance

That is what I meant as well.



#14 OFFLINE   ken28e

ken28e

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationWI
Joined: Oct 28, 2013

Posted 30 November 2013 - 06:47 PM

Thanks for the replies.I went another direction. I mounted the new adapter at camp and bought a dtv remote so all I bring with me is the dtv box. I also bought a 19 inch led tv that with a few picture adjustments I got down to 8 watts.So I am now using 28 watts total with the dtv box and 21 volt inserter included. I just ran a 92 ah battery 18 hours 40 mins.



#15 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 November 2013 - 07:03 PM

Thanks for the replies.I went another direction. I mounted the new adapter at camp and bought a dtv remote so all I bring with me is the dtv box. I also bought a 19 inch led tv that with a few picture adjustments I got down to 8 watts.So I am now using 28 watts total with the dtv box and 21 volt inserter included. I just ran a 92 ah battery 18 hours 40 mins.

Very cool.

Thanks for the experiment and successful outcome.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#16 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,913 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 December 2013 - 09:44 AM

Thanks for the replies.I went another direction. I mounted the new adapter at camp and bought a dtv remote so all I bring with me is the dtv box. I also bought a 19 inch led tv that with a few picture adjustments I got down to 8 watts.So I am now using 28 watts total with the dtv box and 21 volt inserter included. I just ran a 92 ah battery 18 hours 40 mins.

To confirm, you are pulling 28 watts total, all of it through an inverter powered by a 92 AH battery, correct?



#17 OFFLINE   ken28e

ken28e

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationWI
Joined: Oct 28, 2013

Posted 01 December 2013 - 01:35 PM

To confirm, you are pulling 28 watts total, all of it through an inverter powered by a 92 AH battery, correct?

Correct



#18 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,913 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 December 2013 - 11:39 PM

Ken,

 

Check the other thread, I posted some info there and will update it when I get a chance to do more tests.

 

Have you considered going to SD? With a 19" display that would probably look just fine, and you might be able to reduce your power draw by only using an 18" single LNB dish. I'll do a test with that dish tomorrow and post the result comparing it to the 5 LNB dish with an SD receiver.

 

Also, consider maybe putting some charge back into your battery during the weekend. You can do that either by charging from your vehicle, or set up a solar panel. 15 minutes charging from your vehicle would probably give you at least a couple of additional hours of run time. A 45 watt solar panel would give you 3.75 amps of charging current at full capacity, enough to not only power your setup but charge the battery at the same time.



#19 OFFLINE   ken28e

ken28e

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationWI
Joined: Oct 28, 2013

Posted 02 December 2013 - 05:02 PM

I've had poor results with solar have two 18 watt panels.I'm supposed to get 2.4 amps @ 15 volts.    With the weak fall sun and tree cover I could only pull 260-330 ma @24 volts.SD would be fine if I could just pick up a reciever and dish to put my card in. Possible problem I don't get sat 119.



#20 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,913 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 December 2013 - 07:03 PM

I've had poor results with solar have two 18 watt panels.I'm supposed to get 2.4 amps @ 15 volts.    With the weak fall sun and tree cover I could only pull 260-330 ma @24 volts.SD would be fine if I could just pick up a reciever and dish to put my card in. Possible problem I don't get sat 119.

You'll need to get  new card for a different receiver ($20 from DirecTV). SD will only need the 101, and an 18" round dish only looks at 101.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...