Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Thinking of upgrading to Hopper - Cost?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   festivus

festivus

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 190 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2008

Posted 30 October 2013 - 07:14 AM

Right now, here is what I have.  Since my install in 2007 it's been pretty much the same.

 

America's Top 250
HBO
HD/SD (2TV) DVR Receiver
DVR Service
Protection Plan
OH Gross Earnings Tax Reimburs
HD 250 Free (reg $10)
 

 

 

I have 2 vip 622 receivers. An external HD attached to one of them.

Both are connected to my home ethernet to the internet.

Antenna in attic to both of them.

HD HDMI feeds from both to each main TV.

TV2 feeds from both of them, both to 2 different TV's, split.

So both 622's are connected to TV1 HDTV, TV2 split and going to 2 TV's.

6 TV's total.

 

So, how would a hopper or 2 hoppers and joeys work for me?  What kind of cost am I looking at?

 

What I miss most with having 622's is the inability to use a sling adapter and not be able to do dish anywhere.  Might I be better off looking into a 722 instead to get this technology?

 

Thanks for the help.


Panasonic TCP50S1 50 inch plasma in great room, Dish VIP622, Pioneer Surround System

Sanyo PLV-Z5 Projector in basement, 106 inch gray screen, 2nd Dish VIP622. LG Surround System

db2 antennna in attic for both VIP622s

Time Warner Roadrunner

We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. ~Carl Sagan

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:30 AM

I recommend contacting a DIRT team member like MaryB http://www.dbstalk.c...rybdishnetwork/. They can give you all the details. Just send them a PM.


Edited by thomasjk, 30 October 2013 - 08:30 AM.


#3 OFFLINE   RBA

RBA

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 30 October 2013 - 02:55 PM

You'd probably be looking at 2 hoppers and 4 Joey's to service 6 TV.  Joey and Hoppers don't have RF to split unless you use external modulators.  722K might be a better upgrade.






spam firewall