Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Coax/DECA Wiring question

deca wvb wireless video bridge

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tony4d

tony4d

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 242 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 01 November 2013 - 12:59 AM

Currently I add power and the internet connection into the coax in my wiring closet like so:

 

[Dish] -> [splitter] -> [power inserter] -> [deca adapter] -> [ethernet port on router]

 

If I want to add the wireless video bridge into this setup can I just do this:

 

[Dish] -> [splitter] -> [power inserter] -> [wireless video bridge] -> [deca adapter] -> [ethernet port on router]

 

?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,907 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 01 November 2013 - 05:03 AM

Yes, you can put it inline here or on any spare port of a splitter.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,306 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 November 2013 - 07:38 AM

Wonder what is the loss through the WVB.  Don t have one yet to play with


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 ONLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 November 2013 - 08:00 AM

IIRC it's about 3dB


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 November 2013 - 10:09 AM

Wonder what is the loss through the WVB.  Don t have one yet to play with

 

 

IIRC it's about 3dB

I haven't seen one yet either, "but" if it's like the wireless CCK, there is an internal 2-way splitter feeding the output.


A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 01 November 2013 - 12:02 PM

That seems like a lot of insertion loss over an above the splitter loss that Shadow/VOS notes. Then you have to consider the return and splitter losses on the DECA splitter.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: deca, wvb, wireless video bridge

Protected By... spam firewall...And...