Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR10-250 New Instant Cake and WD 1TB Drive


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   evhfan

evhfan

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationPortland, Oregon
Joined: Nov 01, 2013

Posted 01 November 2013 - 01:14 PM

Last week one of my HR10-250's died.  HD was clicking loudly with a black screen, no functions worked.  Figured it is the HD so I purchased a 1TB Western Digital SATA drive with a bridge board adaptor to for the SATA to IDE conversion to work the HR10-250 IDE motherboard.

 

Downloaded Instant Cake from DVRUpgrade for my specific machine, imaged the ISO to the CD and burned it onto the new drive following all DVRUpgrade instructions.  Upon installing it I was able to to get the blue DirecTv logo screen where it acquires the satellite info.  Got stuck at 31% for over a half hour so I rebooted and tried again.  This time only made it to the red DirecTv logo screen before it froze.  I took a couple steps back and decided to start from scratch.  Burned the Instant Cake image again onto a new cd, imaged the drive and installed.  Now I only get the "Welcome, powering up" that comes from the motherboard.

 

Any ideas on what else could be wrong besides my new drive?

 

Dean



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   evhfan

evhfan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationPortland, Oregon
Joined: Nov 01, 2013

Posted 03 November 2013 - 06:05 PM

Seriously, 442 views and no one has any ideas?

Dean

#3 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,130 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 03 November 2013 - 06:11 PM

Unfortunately, it's outdated hardware not many here use anymore.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:52 PM

I would call DTV and tell them about your problem and see won't they upgrade your receivers.

I wouldn't spend any money on the ones you have.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   PokerJoker

PokerJoker

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 482 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 05 November 2013 - 07:08 PM

If I had to guess, your new 1TB drive is Advanced Format (4k sector) and the old Tivo doesn't like it.

 

I would probably try some experimenting with older drives that are stil 512-byte sector, and maybe some different SATA-IDE bridge boards.

 

Keith

 

 

 



#6 OFFLINE   hrobbs

hrobbs

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 05 November 2013 - 08:07 PM

Seriously, 442 views and no one has any ideas?

Dean

 

Call Directv and get them to upgrade your receiver, if you're a customer in good standing that shouldn't be a problem. 



#7 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 06 November 2013 - 07:08 PM

Maybe someone on the TiVo Community forum can help.

http://www.tivocommu...vb/index.php?s=

 

But, I'd try for an upgrade.


Edited by jdspencer, 06 November 2013 - 07:09 PM.

DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#8 OFFLINE   thumperr

thumperr

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 289 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 30 November 2013 - 09:41 PM

I have an hr10-250 sitting under my entertainment center if you are interested

#9 OFFLINE   evhfan

evhfan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationPortland, Oregon
Joined: Nov 01, 2013

Posted 30 November 2013 - 10:32 PM

I have an hr10-250 sitting under my entertainment center if you are interested


Sent you a PM.

Dean




Protected By... spam firewall...And...