Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Weather Channel to Relaunch Nov 11 with Weather All the Time


  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,808 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 11 November 2013 - 03:55 PM

That is nothing new. There has always been that weather information on the bottom of the screen.

Not 24/7 during commercial breaks and some of their long form programming. (i.e. right now the only thing on screen is the logo)

Check the links in post 38, they're bringing back local on the 8's all day long instead of limiting it to a bottom crawl during some programming. You probably won't see the benefits of it on satellite, unless they surprise us with a redesigned local on the 8s app that can overlay it, but they're also going to have a much more detailed forecast as part of an L bar on the HD feed.

Edited by KyL416, 11 November 2013 - 03:55 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,734 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 11 November 2013 - 05:22 PM

Yeah it looks no different today. I even checked the local feed that comes in via my TV's QAM tuner (have cable for phone and Internet but unencrypted QAM works great for SD basic).


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#43 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,277 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 12 November 2013 - 06:46 AM

Must've gone live around 7 or so because it sure looks different now.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg

Edited by tonyd79, 12 November 2013 - 06:47 AM.

LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#44 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 935 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 12 November 2013 - 09:36 AM

Well 1 st impression for this DTV viewer.....No "Local" for  Local's on the 8's, and no local info anywhere on this new "L" shaped screen. Must be Comcast flexing a little muscle.......



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#45 OFFLINE   LMckin

LMckin

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 272 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2006

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:01 AM

I liked the previous Weather channel set  i heard Mike say this morning that their new set is a state of art  set


Directv Subscriber From May 2003 to December 9,2013

Charter Cable Subscriber Since December 9,2013
HomePage


#46 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,277 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:50 AM

Well 1 st impression for this DTV viewer.....No "Local" for  Local's on the 8's, and no local info anywhere on this new "L" shaped screen. Must be Comcast flexing a little muscle.......

 

There was no local on Fios, either. Just the same regional slides that DirecTV had. Fios also has an app for the weather that you access via a button while watching the weather channel.


LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#47 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 603 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 12 November 2013 - 11:58 AM

Does anyone know how many "local cable operators" have installed the Intellistar 2HD.

 

Also, the Dtv version of Lot8s is much better than DISH. At least they have something that provides local weather & bulletins.

 

DISH also promised a Weatherscan roll-out nationwide and that didn't happen either. Just like their Lot8s didn't appear in October 2006 as promised.



#48 OFFLINE   AMike

AMike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 366 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2005

Posted 12 November 2013 - 04:23 PM

Here's what it looks like on Comcast in metro Atlanta.

 

The first image shows the local weather during programming...the subsequent images are Local on the 8's and what the localized screen looks like.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20131112_165851_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_170832_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_170850_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_170957_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_170906_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_171040_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_171102_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_171130_resized.jpg
  • 20131112_171200_resized.jpg

DirecTV subscriber 1999-2011, 2012 - present
Comcast subscriber 2011-2012, 2013 - present
 


#49 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,734 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 12 November 2013 - 06:55 PM

Looks great!

Be nice if we could get Lot8 on Internet connected receivers using a built in HTML5 based browser in the set top. At least they should update the graphics and fonts on the red button.

Overall positive change for TWC:


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#50 OFFLINE   JosephB

JosephB

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,125 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, AL
Joined: Nov 14, 2005

Posted 12 November 2013 - 06:59 PM

They should do state/regional localizations of The Weather Channel and put them on the spotbeams. 


  • whitewolf8214 likes this

#51 OFFLINE   medziatkowicz31

medziatkowicz31

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2012

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:10 PM

does the locals on the 8s work with directv or only cable now? Will we ever get the full local forecast like cable with the bar at the bottom of the screen?



#52 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 603 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 12 November 2013 - 09:14 PM

does the locals on the 8s work with directv or only cable now? Will we ever get the full local forecast like cable with the bar at the bottom of the screen?

The modified Lot8s via Dtv works most of the time. It would be nice if the active zip code selected via "active weather" would display info similar to cable, but I imagine that would be quite a rework for Directv.



#53 OFFLINE   medziatkowicz31

medziatkowicz31

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2012

Posted 12 November 2013 - 09:17 PM

does the local on the 8s look different than before or the same as before? It goes by the zip code entered for home on directv active still correct?



#54 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,808 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 12 November 2013 - 09:26 PM

DirecTV's local on the 8s is the same. It even still has the small window for the ad that is no longer there.

#55 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,833 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 13 November 2013 - 12:50 PM

Yea I guess we'll see.  Keep in mind Dish Network doesn't even have local on the 8's. 

I can see us Directv customers with no change.

Guess I was right since I see nothing different.


DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#56 OFFLINE   John R. Metzger

John R. Metzger

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 13 November 2013 - 01:23 PM

It looks like they are still working on implementing the "Local on the 8's" I just had one with a slightly new interface. However it started before the commercial ended and then had the "national" Local on the 8's on at the same time.



#57 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,390 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 14 November 2013 - 06:39 PM

My VZ FiOS HD Weather Channel is exactly the same as DirecTV.

 

The SD channel had the local stuff, but the LOT8 was just more info on the bottom 10% of the screen.

 

Much ado about nothing.  No real changes I could see of any benefit.


DirecTV customer since 1996


#58 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 700 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 15 November 2013 - 03:42 PM

My lot8 is coming up blank.  Any tips and tricks I should know about?  I'd really love to have mine working and my zip code is 13601.



#59 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,207 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 November 2013 - 04:36 PM

Press Active, Wait for it to come up, select Weather, Select My Cities, Scroll to the bottom to Change Home Zip and put in your Zip code.

See if that works for you.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#60 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 603 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 15 November 2013 - 05:43 PM

My lot8 is coming up blank.  Any tips and tricks I should know about?  I'd really love to have mine working and my zip code is 13601.

 

I find that the Dtv version works about 95% of the time.... To be fair the cable version doesn't always engage either. I have no clue why the trigger doesn't always work.

 

I haven't noticed any change on the Dtv inserts. The FIOS Lot8s should match Comcasts’ and other cable operators NOT Dtv's. I read somewhere that the Intellistar2hd boxes for the head ends are around $5500. I inquired above if anyone knows how many cable operators - head ends have put out the $$$s to update and offer LOCAL info & bulletins in their HD feed of the WEATHERCHANNEL.  Anyone know?

 

As an aside...On March 21st Comcast encrypted WEATHERSCAN (SD)* which provided un-interrupted, commercial free, local weather, radar & severe weather bulletins / flood statements & advisories, etc., 24/7. I had been receiving it for about 5 years as part of "basic-limited cable" (NO BOX) for about  $18 a month. In addition to WEATHERSCAN, the limited-basic package included the HD feeds of the local networks in 720p and 1080i (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX,CW) and their SD sub-channels (THIS, RETRO, ANTENNA), local independents including MEtv, and cable channels Halllmark, Discovery, CSPAN, TVWA, the WEATHER CHANNEL and CBCHD and an SD feed of CTV from Vancouver.

As part of the brain-E-yack executive decision when they encrypted and took away WEATHERSCAN in its place they gave us the generic HD feed of the WEATHER CHANNEL...ZERO local weather, radar, bulletins or special weather statements, because they haven't coughed up the $5500+ for the Intellistar2HD. BRILLIANT MOVE! :) …and the best part…WEATHERSCAN is part of the “digital preferred” package…$87.49 a month + $10 (HD BOX +- per tv).

 

DISH was suppose to roll out WEATHERSCAN nationwide…it didn’t happen. DISH was suppose to have Lot8s in October 2006…it didn’t happen. Dtv has a modified Lot8s which I actually prefer, because you have the option of changing the Lot8s by changing the zip code…something Roku makes available via WeatherUnderground and a couple of other sites, just not as convenient as Directv.

 

*Wonder if that happened nationwide on Comcast.






spam firewall