Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Help with setup


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   redrover

redrover

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:32 PM

I currently have 2 receivers and I want to add a third.

 

I have these three pieces of hardware:

 

20131103_212247.jpg

 

This is connected in my family room to my main tv. SWM and deca.

 

20131103_210100.jpg

 

This is connected to my bedroom. just the deca

 

20131103_210215.jpg

 

This is connected in a third room to my router and no tv.

 

My setup works perfectly right now. My DVRs see each other perfectly fine.

 

What I want to do is the 3rd room where the deca is just connected to my router I want to connect a 3rd tv to that.

 

What do I need to accomplish that? and can I do it?

 

any help would be great!

 

Thanks!!!!!



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,683 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:37 PM

First I'd love to know why you have 3 DECA BBs!  


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   redrover

redrover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:59 PM

no clue!

 

I have 2 HR20//700

 

I had someone come over install a new dish because my other one was damaged. I wanted whole home as well.

 

this is what happens when do dont do things yourself.



#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,683 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 November 2013 - 09:03 PM

In theory, you should be able to add a SWM 2 way splitter to the cable feeding the DECA BB and install a receiver there.  but the question remains.....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   redrover

redrover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 03 November 2013 - 09:38 PM

NO CLUE LOL

 

What set up should I have had???



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,683 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 November 2013 - 10:00 PM

Well, we need to see "the whole picture"

 

What model receivers do you have?

what are those DECA BB connected to?

what type of dish do you have?

 

typically there is supposed to be one DECA BB per system.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,113 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 03 November 2013 - 10:23 PM

My guess, as he said that his receivers were HR20s , is that those DECA BBs are being used as regular DECA modules. A hell of a way to do it as now you need splitters and BSFs at each DVR


My Setup

#8 OFFLINE   redrover

redrover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 04 November 2013 - 07:51 AM

Yes I have 2 HR 20s.

 

What DVRs should I have?

 

The DVRs seem to work fine. One of them the menu is sluggish.

 

And for the third room what receiver is recommended? Just an HD receiver? or DVR?

 

Maybe I should just get 1 HDDVR and move one of the HR20 to the third room since it wont get much use and I can then keep all my programming on it for now?

 

Unless there is a way to copy the recordings to the new DVR which I keep reading I cant do.



#9 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,113 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 04 November 2013 - 08:05 AM

There is noting wrong with the HR20.  While it was the first MPEG4 capable HDDVR most consider it better than the following models (HR21,22,23), it took until the HR24 for a marked improvement.  The discussion is over your DECA modules, there are two types. One is the broadband DECA which is used to interface the DECA network to the Ethernet network.  The other is the DECA adapter which you need for a HR20 as that DVR was developed before DECA was introduced. It takes the coax in, strips the DECA signal off and converts it to Ethernet and then feeds the remaining TV signal out to the DVR. It looks like they used BB DECAs at your DVRs. While this will work it is not the preferred setup as now you need a coax splitter at each DVR, a band stop filter on the DVR line to keep the DECA signal out of the DVR input and a power supply for the BB DECA


My Setup

#10 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,113 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 04 November 2013 - 08:08 AM

For the 3rd room I would get another DVR as there is no additional monthly cost and possibly rearrange to put the slowest unit in the least used location.  There is no way to transfer recordings between DVRs


My Setup

#11 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,030 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 November 2013 - 08:47 AM

Actually, of note;

 

While I can't see the one in the photo of the family room to be sure in it's case. Based on the bedroom photo those are not splitters, but satellite/CATV (and OTA) diplxers which will separate the satellite SWiM signals from the DECA (MoCA) network one.

 

So if an additional DVR is hooked up the same as the other two, a BSF is not needed.

 

But like you say, that's a helluva way to wire for WH. :)


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#12 OFFLINE   DB Stalker

DB Stalker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
  • LocationTooele, UT
Joined: Aug 21, 2013

Posted 04 November 2013 - 09:03 AM

I can see enough of the one in the family room to tell that it isn't a green label splitter. Its likely a diplexer as well.

#)


#)


#13 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,114 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 04 November 2013 - 04:30 PM

I start over. Ask DIRECTV for a genie system for free but also keep the HR20 that has stuff on it hooked up till you watch all. Just have two units hooked up to any one tv and watch all the stuff on it first via Whole Home Service. You will come out ahead in ever possible way if you do that.

Then deactivate it and store it as a back up they won't want it back.

Saves lots of heat. Power. And is easier to manage. And likely you can get it all or free.

#14 OFFLINE   DB Stalker

DB Stalker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
  • LocationTooele, UT
Joined: Aug 21, 2013

Posted 04 November 2013 - 06:14 PM

I start over. Ask DIRECTV for a genie system for free but also keep the HR20 that has stuff on it hooked up till you watch all. Just have two units hooked up to any one tv and watch all the stuff on it first via Whole Home Service. You will come out ahead in ever possible way if you do that.

Then deactivate it and store it as a back up they won't want it back.

Saves lots of heat. Power. And is easier to manage. And likely you can get it all or free.

And while they're there they can fix all your craziness.

#)

Edited by DB Stalker, 04 November 2013 - 06:15 PM.

#)





Protected By... spam firewall...And...