Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

C41w


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 06 November 2013 - 02:37 AM

I had a upgrade recently and got the genie and 3 c41 clients. The c41w was not available yet. I know that it is available in some areas and was wondering how people like how it works?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kaminar

kaminar

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2012

Posted 06 November 2013 - 09:17 AM

From what I've heard, mixed results. The initial official reviews (with video) were outstanding, but in the field there are some "growing pains" ;)

 

Would love to hear more reviews from installers and users.

 

-=K=-



#3 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,025 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 06 November 2013 - 09:22 AM

I've been a early tester for the C41W and WVB and for me they've worked just like if there were a wired C41 client. Even when I've moved the client to a far end of the house from the WVB and the network status LED was red the client worked just fine.

 

I will say originally I did have a conflict between the WVB/C41W and an older model wireless phone, when the phone was in use the C41W dropped the connection to the WVB. I solved that by going into the WVB's setup and changing the channel selection from auto to a channel that was outside the range the phone and the inSSIDer app on laptop wasn't being used,


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#4 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,583 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 06 November 2013 - 10:04 AM

I'd say the consensus from reading a lot of posts and my own experience indicates: Use wired wherever possible. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#5 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 06 November 2013 - 01:16 PM

I think it would be nice to take the c41w client out on the deck where I don't have any RG6 cable to hook to a box.................



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,405 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 November 2013 - 06:55 PM

I think it would be nice to take the c41w client out on the deck where I don't have any RG6 cable to hook to a box.................

that is a good idea, but of course it has to work first.   and from my readings, it appears that the C41w is not ready for prime time yet...


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   DB Stalker

DB Stalker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
  • LocationTooele, UT
Joined: Aug 21, 2013

Posted 06 November 2013 - 07:58 PM

Anyone know what the power usage on the WVB is?

#)


#)


#8 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,973 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 06 November 2013 - 08:17 PM

Anyone know what the power usage on the WVB is?

#)

 

7 watts



#9 OFFLINE   DB Stalker

DB Stalker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
  • LocationTooele, UT
Joined: Aug 21, 2013

Posted 07 November 2013 - 06:03 PM

7 watts

How about the c41w vs. the regular clients?

#)


#)


#10 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,031 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:06 PM

So far I've found that a C31 or C41 using a WCCK as a wireless connection to a wireless router to be superior to the C41W/WVB combo in both performance and reliability.  YMMV. 

Things may change with future firmware updates. 


-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#11 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 11 November 2013 - 09:19 PM

I wonder when solid signal will have them available.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,405 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:27 PM

I wonder when solid signal will have them available.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

if everything goes according to plan, very soon


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   SolidSignal

SolidSignal

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2007

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:10 AM

We hope that we will be able to start pre-orders very soon. It's a great product and we are looking forward to offering it, and we appreciate all the support from the DBSTalk community.



#14 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 12 November 2013 - 11:03 AM

How much is going to cost?
  • nelsonrl likes this

#15 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,097 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:27 PM

I have a customer that would like a (sturdy) A/V cart with a ~50" TV and DirecTV somehow.  He would like the cart near the pool table, in the weight room, and on the deck when it's nice out.  

 

All locations are on the same level of his house, and a 'perfected' wireless client would do the trick.  We have AC in all three locations already.

 

Biggest problem beside the technology not being ready is an emasculating harridan of a spouse and a vile step grandchild . . .

 

 

But that's another thread, LOL!



#16 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,025 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:30 PM

How much is going to cost?


IIRC some folks in test markets said $199 for a WVB and one client, plus the 2 year commitment.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#17 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 13 November 2013 - 09:36 AM

Must be $100 for the box and $99 for the bridge. Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

Edited by firemantom26, 16 November 2013 - 02:35 AM.


#18 OFFLINE   firemantom26

firemantom26

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 20 November 2013 - 02:47 PM

Solid Signal informed me it will be available 1st quarter of 2014...................



#19 OFFLINE   T40T

T40T

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 03 December 2013 - 03:15 PM

Wouldn't it be nice if there was a Genie client that could be both wired AND wireless?  So, for everyday use, it could be plugged in with hardwired coax, but for special occasions, like an outdoor movie night, you can go wireless. 



#20 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,160 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2013 - 03:24 PM

Wouldn't it be nice if there was a Genie client that could be both wired AND wireless?  So, for everyday use, it could be plugged in with hardwired coax, but for special occasions, like an outdoor movie night, you can go wireless. 

Yes, but DIRECTV wouldn't make as much money out of it.

 

This way I get to charge you double if you want such a convenience. !devil12:      


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95





Protected By... spam firewall...And...