Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

C41w


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 March 2014 - 12:21 PM

I have a Genie Mini scheduled for an install on Monday March 17! I hope i get one of these wireless units!

you have must specified that you wanted a wireless client.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#42 OFFLINE   whorne

whorne

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 13 March 2014 - 01:24 PM

you have must specified that you wanted a wireless client.

Thanks for the info! I will call Directv back and make the request.



#43 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 March 2014 - 01:27 PM

Thanks for the info! I will call Directv back and make the request.

Beware that changing your order will change your scheduled date as well.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#44 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,095 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 14 March 2014 - 08:49 AM

If you're doing a self install by ordering directly from a vendor like SolidSignal you might want to check out the white paper that's posted in thread http://www.dbstalk.c...ps-white-paper/.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#45 OFFLINE   whorne

whorne

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 14 March 2014 - 12:56 PM

Beware that changing your order will change your scheduled date as well.

 

I called to request the C41W but like you said, they would have to change my install date. But, the rep did say that it was a strong possibility that the tech would have some on his truck when he comes. If he does, the tech could change the order for me and install the wireless unit. Maybe I will get lucky. 



#46 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 14 March 2014 - 01:03 PM

I called to request the C41W but like you said, they would have to change my install date. But, the rep did say that it was a strong possibility that the tech would have some on his truck when he comes. If he does, the tech could change the order for me and install the wireless unit. Maybe I will get lucky. 

Very unlikely the installer will have wireless clients at this point.  to start, not all techs are "trained" to install the wireless units and as such wireless clients activities can't be assigned to them.  if you want one for sure, you must change the order through DirecTV otherwise you will have a better chance to win the lottery, unless you lived in one of the areas that were BETA market for these clients 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#47 OFFLINE   bluemoon737

bluemoon737

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 502 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2007

Posted 14 March 2014 - 04:17 PM

Solid Signal has them at this link.

 

 

 

Sort of confused on the solid signal page. It says DirecTV will charge a one time $99 wireless fee to activate? Is that true? Bad enough they charge a monthly receiver (it's not a receiver) fee but also a one time rip off fee???


-Jeff-
HR34-700, HR24-100, HR24-100, HR21-100, HR21-200, H23-600

#48 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,352 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 14 March 2014 - 05:06 PM

Most businesses charge what they charge. If you consider that you're being ripped off, you should go with other options. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#49 OFFLINE   tlarseth

tlarseth

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • LocationMars HIll, NC
Joined: Mar 14, 2014

Posted 14 March 2014 - 05:06 PM

Sort of confused on the solid signal page. It says DirecTV will charge a one time $99 wireless fee to activate? Is that true? Bad enough they charge a monthly receiver (it's not a receiver) fee but also a one time rip off fee???

Yes, right now it is $99 for the install of the equipment, it is new, officially came out nationwide Wednesday, March 12, 2014.  Give it time, and it will be free like right at the start of the NFL season, they did the same with SWiM when it first came out, I believe it was a $150 install fee.



#50 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 14 March 2014 - 05:20 PM

the way I see it is a "convinience" fee as most of the times they will give you the wired client free


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#51 OFFLINE   tpm1999

tpm1999

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 321 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 15 March 2014 - 05:21 PM

I just ordered another C41w from solidsignal.com (I had a previous C41w from a test area install).  It was received by me on Friday and I installed it right away.  I was ordering it to replace a wired C41.  What was weird was that I was able to replace my wired C41 without even calling directv.  Since my Genie was provisioned for 2 clients, I simply swapped out my wired C41 for my second wireless one.  

 

I of course called up directv and had the units switched out in their system.  Still interesting anyway.


HR44-500 Genie
2 C41W-100 Wireless Genie Minis and WVB
Genie Go
SWM Dish


#52 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,095 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 15 March 2014 - 05:40 PM

Wonder if that caused you to start a new 2 year commitment?


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#53 OFFLINE   tpm1999

tpm1999

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 321 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 15 March 2014 - 06:48 PM

It did start a new 2 year agreement, but I was cool with that...I had my original HR20 for at least 5 years...so if something great comes out soon, I can wait 2 years before the "free" upgrades are offered.

HR44-500 Genie
2 C41W-100 Wireless Genie Minis and WVB
Genie Go
SWM Dish


#54 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,261 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 15 March 2014 - 07:25 PM

I just ordered another C41w from solidsignal.com (I had a previous C41w from a test area install).  It was received by me on Friday and I installed it right away.  I was ordering it to replace a wired C41.  What was weird was that I was able to replace my wired C41 without even calling directv.  Since my Genie was provisioned for 2 clients, I simply swapped out my wired C41 for my second wireless one.  

 

I of course called up directv and had the units switched out in their system.  Still interesting anyway.

 

That is how it should be IMHO.  Any client should be able to be added or removed anytime.  just the number allowed tied to a receiver at once is all that should matter.



#55 OFFLINE   tpm1999

tpm1999

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 321 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 15 March 2014 - 07:59 PM

I was surprised that during the pairing it just let me swap out one of the clients as needed. The funnier part was convincing the activation department that I was able to pair it before it has been properly provisioned in their system.

Asking me "what was on my screen now?" Was a great Setup for my fun answer of "Stargate".

HR44-500 Genie
2 C41W-100 Wireless Genie Minis and WVB
Genie Go
SWM Dish


#56 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,261 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 15 March 2014 - 11:26 PM

Hilarious!

#57 OFFLINE   FriscoJohnny

FriscoJohnny

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: May 06, 2007

Posted 16 March 2014 - 06:44 PM

Does the C41w (w/WVB) work in conjunction with an HR34?



#58 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,095 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 16 March 2014 - 06:50 PM

Does the C41w (w/WVB) work in conjunction with an HR34?


Yes

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#59 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 March 2014 - 07:37 PM

Does the C41w (w/WVB) work in conjunction with an HR34?

Absolutely, the only requirement for a C41W is a Genie, it does not matter if is an HR34/44


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#60 OFFLINE   FriscoJohnny

FriscoJohnny

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: May 06, 2007

Posted 16 March 2014 - 07:38 PM

Absolutely, the only requirement for a C41W is a Genie, it does not matter if is an HR34/44


Great. The mind starts to race with new possibilities. ;-)


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk




Protected By... spam firewall...And...