Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

C41w


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#61 OFFLINE   FriscoJohnny

FriscoJohnny

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: May 06, 2007

Posted 06 April 2014 - 09:38 PM

My setup includes an HR34, an HR24 and 2 C31 RVU clients all on one SWiM LNB. I am a little confused on available SWiM channels. Can I add a C41w client to this setup?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#62 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,113 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 06 April 2014 - 09:52 PM

Yes you can. C41/w clients don't take any swim channels.

#63 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 April 2014 - 11:05 AM

My setup includes an HR34, an HR24 and 2 C31 RVU clients all on one SWiM LNB. I am a little confused on available SWiM channels. Can I add a C41w client to this setup?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

and nope aware that if this is your first wireless client you will need a wireless video bridge

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#64 OFFLINE   FriscoJohnny

FriscoJohnny

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: May 06, 2007

Posted 07 April 2014 - 11:14 AM

Thank you both.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

#65 OFFLINE   FriscoJohnny

FriscoJohnny

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: May 06, 2007

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:09 AM

Called D* and ordered the C41W and WVB. I was grateful to be offered these with setup for $99.

I intended to add a display in my master bath which has no coax line and no elegant way of adding one. The wireless mini made perfect sense. Then, I intended to add a mount on my patio where I can move the bathroom set as needed.

Got everything hooked up yesterday. Placed the WVB in a central, open location on the second floor. Everything works very well. No noticeable interference with my home wifi network either.

Been a happy D* customer since 2000. Their ability to steadily continue innovating is one of the reasons I stick around.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

#66 OFFLINE   CraigerM

CraigerM

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 225 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Apr 15, 2014

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:48 AM

Just curious why does the Wireless Genie need that wireless video bridge? Couldn't you just connect It to a wifi cable or dsl gateway or a wifi router?



#67 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,475 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:59 AM

Just curious why does the Wireless Genie need that wireless video bridge? Couldn't you just connect It to a wifi cable or dsl gateway or a wifi router?

The WVB is an access point that only communicates from Genie on the coax DECA cloud to a C41w wireless client(s).  The traffic stays off your wifi -- you don't even need wifi.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#68 OFFLINE   CraigerM

CraigerM

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 225 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Apr 15, 2014

Posted 19 April 2014 - 10:13 AM

The WVB is an access point that only communicates from Genie on the coax DECA cloud to a C41w wireless client(s).  The traffic stays off your wifi -- you don't even need wifi.

 

I forgot DTV doesn't support wireless video.



#69 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,475 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 19 April 2014 - 12:00 PM

I forgot DTV doesn't support wireless video.

Not sure what you're talking about since it's wireless and it's video!


  • johnredrussell likes this

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#70 OFFLINE   CraigerM

CraigerM

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 225 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Apr 15, 2014

Posted 19 April 2014 - 12:03 PM

Not sure what you're talking about since it's wireless and it's video!

Sorry, don't know why I posted that. I probably thinking about RVU HDTV's not supporting wireless video.



#71 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,475 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 19 April 2014 - 12:06 PM

Sorry, don't know why I posted that. I probably thinking about RVU HDTV's not supporting wireless video.

Again, not sure what you're talking about since you can use an RVU HDTV on a 5GHz wireless bridge (not the WVB) very nicely.  I've done it.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#72 OFFLINE   CraigerM

CraigerM

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 225 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Apr 15, 2014

Posted 19 April 2014 - 02:36 PM

Again, not sure what you're talking about since you can use an RVU HDTV on a 5GHz wireless bridge (not the WVB) very nicely.  I've done it.

Some people in here are saying when they try a wireless connection with RVU it gives a message saying needs to be connected message.



#73 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 April 2014 - 02:46 PM

Some people in here are saying when they try a wireless connection with RVU it gives a message saying needs to be connected message.

that is why dennis said you need a wireless bridge or ethernet adapter 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#74 OFFLINE   CraigerM

CraigerM

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 225 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Apr 15, 2014

Posted 19 April 2014 - 03:21 PM

that is why dennis said you need a wireless bridge or ethernet adapter 

Oh, so with a wireless video bridge and a Wireless RVU HDTV you wouldn't need the wireless Genie box?


Edited by CraigerM, 19 April 2014 - 03:22 PM.


#75 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 April 2014 - 03:29 PM

Oh, so with a wireless video bridge ethernet adapter and a Wireless wired to gaming adapter RVU HDTV you wouldn't need the wireless Genie box?

there, fixed for you


  • johnredrussell likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...