Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is there a market for my R15?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Rivergoat

Rivergoat

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:50 PM

I just moved and needed to switch over to Comcast (sharing the connection with the new location's homeowner, as well as his broadband). I called DTV and had my account closed; they will send me a pre-paid for the access card, but don't care about the R15 and remote. I can store it indefinitely, but figure by the time I might be in a location where I could go back to DTV if desired there would be much better choices for receivers. So...what to do with the R15? Do indepenant folks buy them, need them? Maybe I could gut it and use the parts to build a device to see into the future like Spock did in "The City On The Edge of Forever" :)



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,542 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 07 November 2013 - 02:01 PM

Unfortunately it doesn't matter if DirecTV doesn't want it, someone else still can't activate it. So it's only useful to you as a DVR in the future, or parts.

 

It's not SWM compatible so that does reduce it's usefulness. 



#3 OFFLINE   DB Stalker

DB Stalker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
  • LocationTooele, UT
Joined: Aug 21, 2013

Posted 07 November 2013 - 06:17 PM

Stick it between your Comcast box and AVR to keep them from overheating each other?

#)


#)


#4 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 948 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 07 November 2013 - 07:39 PM

Better yet go to http://directv.round2web.com and recycle the receiver. Very doubtful there is any money to be made off of it.



#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,239 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 08 November 2013 - 08:30 AM

If it is an owned receiver, someone else could buy and activate it (they would have to get a new access card for about $20).  But due to the fact is is SD and fairly old, I doubt there is much value in it.  Check with DirecTV to see if it is in fact listed as owned or leased.  If owned, you can offer it in the buy/sell/trade forum on this web site.  If leased, it cannot be activated on another account as noted by dpeters11 above.



#6 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 08 November 2013 - 11:38 AM

I'm sure there are still a few SD curmudgeon's around here that would be willing to buy it.... :rotfl:



#7 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,495 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:31 PM

Unfortunately it doesn't matter if DirecTV doesn't want it, someone else still can't activate it. So it's only useful to you as a DVR in the future, or parts.
 
It's not SWM compatible so that does reduce it's usefulness.

Can't you hook it up to the legacy side of the Swim 16?
Also I think 95% of R15 are owned receivers.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 


#8 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,542 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:41 PM

Can't you hook it up to the legacy side of the Swim 16?
Also I think 95% of R15 are owned receivers.

 

Yeah, that would work. Though I'd think the majority of customers would have a SWM LNB.



#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:43 PM

Can't you hook it up to the legacy side of the Swim 16?
Also I think 95% of R15 are owned receivers.

Sure, you can connected to the SWM16 legacy.

 

the R15 might be owned because they are EOL, but this does not mean it can be activated by anyone other than the original account 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,495 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:46 PM

Sure, you can connected to the SWM16 legacy.
 
the R15 might be owned because they are EOL, but this does not mean it can be activated by anyone other than the original account

I have one of those R15's too LOL

Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 


#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,239 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 28 May 2014 - 10:59 PM

I would suspect most R15s are owned. The R16 was out before the lease model was introduced.



#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 May 2014 - 07:40 AM

I would suspect most R15s are owned. 

but there were many R15s installed way after that.  So while DirecTV may not want them back, they are still considered lease


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,438 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 05 June 2014 - 09:45 AM

I had one that was owned and one that was not. They make a better doorstop than DVR.


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5 SWM 16
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

HR44-500
ATT uverse internet


#14 OFFLINE   Dude111

Dude111

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 510 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 09 June 2014 - 08:11 PM

What exactly is an R15??

Does it get APG?? -- If it does there might be someone who still would like it..

#15 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,239 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 09 June 2014 - 08:22 PM

R15 is the first DirecTV developed and branded DVR, replacing the R10 Tivo based DVR. It is SD only, multiswitch only (no SWM), and uses the new DirecTV guide.



#16 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 June 2014 - 08:41 PM

and uses the new DirecTV guide.

just to clarify, it uses the same blue UI as the SD DirecTV receivers, not the "newer" black HD GUI 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#17 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,495 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 10 June 2014 - 05:18 AM

What exactly is an R15??

Does it get APG?? -- If it does there might be someone who still would like it..

Google it. , after you weed through the massive complaints about them, you will see a description. ;)

Sent from my Galaxy S5

Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...