Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hooking up H24 to Legacy SD 18" dish.


Best Answer johnnytex , 09 November 2013 - 11:26 AM

peds48

 

Thanks taht fixed my problem.

Guess the dish got bumped.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   johnnytex

johnnytex

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 172 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 07 November 2013 - 03:16 PM

I have a full SWM system with a genie. Last year I took my H24 out to my shop and hooked it up my old 18" oval SD dish. Went into set-up changed to 01 18" oval and 02 Multiswitch. Then I could watch football in SD. Just tried to do that and all I get is Error 775, cannot communicate with dish a SWM error.

 

Customer service said the box had reconfigured itself and would not work. I would have to get a new SD receiver added to my account.

 

Does anyone anyone have any new suggestions?

 

Thanks in advance for you help.

 

 


HR44-500, H24-100, HR22-100 and HR20-700 with DECA SWM16


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   DB Stalker

DB Stalker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
  • LocationTooele, UT
Joined: Aug 21, 2013

Posted 07 November 2013 - 06:14 PM

Should still work that way. I'd check the connections and coax and try again.

#)


#)


#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,474 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:14 PM

There is a problem with the sequence of going thru the satellite set up.

Set the Multi switch first and then  go back to the dish type and set it.

See if that works for you.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,651 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 November 2013 - 07:42 AM

In order for the new settings to be saved or "stick" the H24 must be connected to a working dish (in this case the round dish) and let the receiver go through the set up steps of "verifying information" and "acquiring the guide data", 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,865 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 November 2013 - 08:07 AM

peds48 is right, I've seen this before. 


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 08 November 2013 - 10:43 AM

The receiver wants to be SWM, but it can be cudgeled into compliance.

 

Resistance is futile!  You will be multi-switched !!

 

 

:eek2:



#7 OFFLINE   johnnytex

johnnytex

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 172 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 08 November 2013 - 12:14 PM

peds48 that seems to be the problem. I cannot get the setting to stick.

 

Here's my sequence:

 

Power down receiver.

Attach 18" dish

Power up unit.

Get 775 error message

Go into Sat setup

Set to Multi switch

Set to 18" Oval

Contunue

 

I then get this error:

A satellite signal could not be detected.

Check your installation and re-test.

 

I tried this on my HR22 and have the same problem.

 

Any ideas???


HR44-500, H24-100, HR22-100 and HR20-700 with DECA SWM16


#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,651 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:40 PM

 

 

Any ideas???

Sure, it looks like the dish is not aligned properly.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   johnnytex

johnnytex

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 172 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 08 November 2013 - 05:14 PM

So I should go to signal strength before continue?


HR44-500, H24-100, HR22-100 and HR20-700 with DECA SWM16


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,651 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 November 2013 - 07:56 PM

is not a crucial step, but at least it confirms (to you) that the receiver is getting a signal from the dish


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   johnnytex

johnnytex

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 172 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 09 November 2013 - 11:26 AM   Best Answer

peds48

 

Thanks taht fixed my problem.

Guess the dish got bumped.


HR44-500, H24-100, HR22-100 and HR20-700 with DECA SWM16


#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,651 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 November 2013 - 05:34 PM

Awesome.  Thanks for the update.  Enjoy!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...