Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

direct tv searching for satellite signal...(771)


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jcptrucking

jcptrucking

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • Locationny
Joined: Nov 11, 2013

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:26 AM

I have a direct tv d12-700 that's getting the error message searching for satellite signal ...(771) on some channels. After checking the signal strength I realized satellite: 101° (A) has 0 on all negative transponders and 97 to 100 on all even numbers. Is this normal? Is this what's causing the error and what causes all negative transponders to act this way?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   john payne

john payne

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:40 AM

That is typical of a bad, corroded connection. I have also seen a bad lnb or receiver that would cause that. But it's genrally connection issue.



#3 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,243 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 11 November 2013 - 12:45 PM

Absolutely correct!  Mine was a the LNB that needed replacing.  Then the other day, the DVR got moved a bit, and the cabling was loose, which we didn't know until the 771 error popped up.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,975 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 November 2013 - 06:54 AM

do you have any other receivers? do you have a multi switch?

 

Welcome to DBSTalk. 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...