Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Will Directv replace a SWM8 with a SWM16

Genie and SWM16

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gator1234

gator1234

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 15 November 2013 - 08:32 PM

I am planning on getting a Genie and with my setup 3 HDRs I would need a SWM16.  Anyone know what the cost is to replace an SWM8 with a SWM16 and does Directv charge to do this?  Also if you use a Genie client I assume SWM capacity is not a factor as the client does not record.  Is this correct?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,749 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 15 November 2013 - 08:42 PM

There is no separate charge when your account requires a SWiM16.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,582 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 November 2013 - 08:58 PM

As long as DirecTV is doing the upgrade for you, the will provide whatever hardware is  necessary to get you going 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   Phil17108

Phil17108

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOrange County California
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 15 November 2013 - 10:09 PM

They did this week out with a bad 8 in with a 16. I was surprised at that, being the 16 cost more, but maybe not for them



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,582 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 November 2013 - 10:10 PM

They did this week out with a bad 8 in with a 16. I was surprised at that, being the 16 cost more, but maybe not for them

at least not to the tech... !rolling


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall