Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie Clients 0x0734/0x0735, Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,646 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 November 2013 - 10:20 PM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for all Genie Clients.
 
C31 / C41 0x0734
C41 Wireless 0x0735
 
Release notes:http://www.dbstalk.c...clients-0x0734/

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.
 
Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.
 
Thanks!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,515 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 15 November 2013 - 10:53 PM

saw this on the C41-100 others are still 0724 but the night is young

 

Don "unlike me" Bolton


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#3 OFFLINE   itzme

itzme

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,508 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 16 November 2013 - 10:35 AM

Why doesn't the Settings-Info & Test screen show the date of the last fw, like it does with the HRs?  Also, do the clients get the new fw if its left on, or does it get it when its in standby only?  I'm just curious.



#4 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,703 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 16 November 2013 - 05:04 PM

Why doesn't the Settings-Info & Test screen show the date of the last fw, like it does with the HRs?  Also, do the clients get the new fw if its left on, or does it get it when its in standby only?  I'm just curious.

 

As long as its powered on and connected, it will get the push even if in standby.

To see the date of the push, you can go into Recordings/History and it will show the software download there.

 

I am looking forward to getting this update so maybe my clients will be a wee bit more reliable.  Such as turning off when told to turn off.



#5 OFFLINE   h_a_h_3

h_a_h_3

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2008

Posted 18 November 2013 - 11:53 AM

Something got messed up with scaling/native in this release. My C41 is hooked to a 1080p Sony LCD, has been since installation in May. The C41 has been set to "native" with all resolutions checked. This weekend watched a FOX (720p) show from recordings and it was "zoomed out" with a black border all around. I figured the local station could have done that by themselves but fiddling around after the recording ended, any live 720p broadcast was doing the same thing. Definitely a new behavior. Set to non-native, 1080i/p only and things are back to "normal"ish.



#6 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,175 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 19 November 2013 - 07:03 AM

Received two client software downloads at 3:15 and 3:35 AM ET and both my C41-100 and C41-700 updated to 734. C31-700 is still on 717, however.


/steve

#7 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,786 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 19 November 2013 - 09:51 AM

C41-100 Diag all report 20131119-193F

 

C41 paired with HR44-700, watching a recording via WHDVR from HR34, launch TVApps, get the loading message but that's it, never get the apps. TVApps works fine if watching live TV or recordings on the Genie that it's paired with.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#8 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,175 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 19 November 2013 - 04:01 PM

20131119-1676

 

Still no RC71 discrete on/off for my Sony KV27FS13. Both remote power on and power off are toggles. The RC65x sitting right next to the RC71 sends discrete power signals to this TV TV.


/steve

#9 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 933 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 20 November 2013 - 03:32 AM

So I'm laying in my bed, unable to fall asleep due to a rather painful upset stomach that refuses to abate… and just as I'm drifting off in the dark, I catch this bright blue light that starts flashing quickly.  I put on my glasses to see which of the many blue LED-equipped bits of gadgetry in the bedroom it could be, and it's the Genie client.

 

Not knowing what was causing this, I leapt up out of bed and fumbled for the remote for the TV, thinking the Genie box  had failed in some way and was crying out for attention.  Turns out, it's just flashing because a firmware update is downloading.  Talk about getting me all scaredI was beginning to think I'd be making an early morning service call.  Whew, now I know not to panic if I see this again.

 

734 installed just fine and I was surprised at how quick the client was back in service.  No issues so far, I wasn't able to reproduce the scaling or apps errors the others reported.  I could have sworn I had given my favorites list a new name, but now it's "MY LINEUP".  Could the update have reset the name?  It was set to All Channels after rebooting.

 

On the bright side, it's made me forget about my stomach pains for a few minutes. :)


Edited by Tom Servo, 20 November 2013 - 03:33 AM.


#10 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,175 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 20 November 2013 - 07:07 AM

Anyone with a C31 receive 734 yet? Curious if it's just me. TIA.


/steve

#11 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,786 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 20 November 2013 - 07:23 AM

I pulled the C31 out of my setup, wanted to get the 5 clients licenses I have in sync between the two Genie's in case that was causing any problems, so I can't help you, sorry.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#12 OFFLINE   Rockaway1836

Rockaway1836

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 412 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 20 November 2013 - 10:14 AM

Nothing on my C31 yet. C41 got the update yesterday.



#13 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,175 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 20 November 2013 - 12:54 PM

Thanks, guys!

 

Fingers crossed Rockaway and I are only a day or two away from a C31 update.


/steve

#14 OFFLINE   vpr632

vpr632

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
  • LocationPort Saint Lucie, Florida
Joined: Jun 26, 2008

Posted 20 November 2013 - 05:37 PM

Getting the HDMI thing on certain channels....Could it possibly be my samsung soundbar? If the Genie Client thinks I'm trying to record on a hard drive or something that's irritating. I should be able to have my soundbar hooked up and have no issues.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#15 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,515 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 21 November 2013 - 12:29 PM

Steve: My C31 mysteriously went to 0724 several weeks ago from 0717 last I looked (Monday) it was still not up to the newest

Thanks, guys!

 

Fingers crossed Rockaway and I are only a day or two away from a C31 update.


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#16 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,175 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 21 November 2013 - 04:06 PM

Steve: My C31 mysteriously went to 0724 several weeks ago from 0717 last I looked (Monday) it was still not up to the newest

 

Interesting you got 724 and I still haven't. Hopefully we'll all get 734 soon and it'll be moot.


/steve

#17 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,515 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 21 November 2013 - 09:58 PM

Tonight the C31 has 0734 have to check the wireless.

Don "so many toys, so little time" Bolton

Interesting you got 724 and I still haven't. Hopefully we'll all get 734 soon and it'll be moot.


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#18 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,175 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 22 November 2013 - 06:02 AM

Tonight the C31 has 0734 have to check the wireless.

Don "so many toys, so little time" Bolton
 

 

Good to hear the C31s are starting to get it.


/steve

#19 OFFLINE   mridan

mridan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 549 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 22 November 2013 - 01:22 PM

C41 with 0734. In the audio menu I have sound effects turned off, but they are still on. This was the same on the previous software. Also if I select not to share playlist with my HR24, it reverts back to sharing after C41 is turned off and back on again.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk
  • firemantom26 likes this

#20 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,786 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 22 November 2013 - 01:36 PM

C41 with 0734. In the audio menu I have sound effects turned off, but they are still on.

I've seen this problem since day 1 with the C31 clients.


See post My Setup for configuration info.





spam firewall