Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Quote appears to be broken


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,915 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 16 November 2013 - 05:15 PM

Clicking on "quote" does not bring the quote ijnto the message.  Multi-quote appears to work, even with a single quoted message.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,529 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 November 2013 - 05:23 PM

Clicking on "quote" does not bring the quote ijnto the message.  Multi-quote appears to work, even with a single quoted message.

What browser?


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,915 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 16 November 2013 - 05:32 PM

Firefox 26.0 beta.  I'm now using Safari and it works so I'll count it as a browser issue.



#4 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,010 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 16 November 2013 - 05:51 PM

Firefox 26.0 beta.  I'm now using Safari and it works so I'll count it as a browser issue.

I'm using Firefox 26.0 beta and just now quoted your post by clicking the Quote button...  so that isn't the problem.  Have you changed any settings recently?


-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#5 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,420 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 16 November 2013 - 06:25 PM

Someone reported this issue after upgrading to IE v11. And there was another thread about this quote issue and it mention in that one that this forum needs an upgrade.


Drew
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR:HR34-7, Dn:HR24-1, MB:HR24-5, Bm:HR21-2, Kt:H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV '00


#6 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,026 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 16 November 2013 - 06:37 PM

That was over a week ago and the site was updated, so that is not it.


David Bott

Admin - Owner

 

Founder - AVSForum.comTiVoCommunity.com, Home Theater Cruise, LLC, DBNet Consulting, LLC, 

Board of Advisers - Prelaunch.com

Connecting to Over 5 Million Unique Enthusiasts a Month

 

DISCLAIMER: All spelling and grammatical errors done on purpose for the proofreadingly challenged.


#7 OFFLINE   TXD16

TXD16

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 806 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 16 November 2013 - 06:41 PM

Neither quote nor multiquote work on my Win8.1/IE11 machine.


"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion: the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases, while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force." - Ayn Rand


#8 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,915 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 16 November 2013 - 10:21 PM

I'm using Firefox 26.0 beta and just now quoted your post by clicking the Quote button...  so that isn't the problem.  Have you changed any settings recently?

No I haven't made any settings changes.  Funny, this time it worked for me, but I had tried several times to quote before starting the thread and hadn't seen that behavior prior to a couple of days ago.  Strange....



#9 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,420 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 16 November 2013 - 11:06 PM

That was over a week ago and the site was updated, so that is not it.

 

I was unable to find that thread to see if there was any status change of the forum.

 

But this member is still the second in a few days with a forum quote issue. So something is still wrong somewhere.


Drew
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR:HR34-7, Dn:HR24-1, MB:HR24-5, Bm:HR21-2, Kt:H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV '00


#10 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,356 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 17 November 2013 - 06:59 AM

Someone reported this issue after upgrading to IE v11. And there was another thread about this quote issue and it mention in that one that this forum needs an upgrade.

I started the thread about the issues with Internet Explorer 11. All settings were unchanged after being updated to IE 11 but I can no longer use the Quote feature here on DBSTalk and Adobe Flash Player no longer works or can be downloaded. I use Google Chrome now when I log into DBSTalk. My take is it's another classic Microsoft brain fart.


DirecTV customer since 1995.


#11 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,703 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 17 November 2013 - 08:17 AM

Quotes stopped working with IE11 upgrades.

 

Latest version of Chrome works just fine. And its faster than IE11 too.



#12 OFFLINE   Holydoc

Holydoc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
  • LocationPanhandle, FL
Joined: Feb 17, 2008

Posted 15 January 2014 - 09:54 PM

I just wanted to reiterate that Quotes are still not working with IE11. :nono2:



#13 OFFLINE   Dude111

Dude111

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 415 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 16 January 2014 - 12:32 AM

You can still manually enter [ quote ]
and then the text and then [ /quote ] at the end :) (I added spaces so you could see what I mean)

Edited by Dude111, 16 January 2014 - 12:42 AM.


#14 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,915 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 16 January 2014 - 12:57 AM

 

Quotes stopped working with IE11 upgrades.

 

Latest version of Chrome works just fine. And its faster than IE11 too.

Quotes are still broken with Firefox. They work with Safari.

 

On Firefox, if I click on the quote button twice it seems to work.



#15 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,936 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:41 AM

Quotes are still broken with Firefox. They work with Safari.

 

On Firefox, if I click on the quote button twice it seems to work.

Interesting, I am on Firefox 27 beta and one click on quote and it worked


My Setup

#16 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,026 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:48 AM

IE we can not help as IE has made for a lot of issues.  They really are driving people away.  Firefox is less of an issue and can very it seems based on setting or what you have be using on your machine. 


David Bott

Admin - Owner

 

Founder - AVSForum.comTiVoCommunity.com, Home Theater Cruise, LLC, DBNet Consulting, LLC, 

Board of Advisers - Prelaunch.com

Connecting to Over 5 Million Unique Enthusiasts a Month

 

DISCLAIMER: All spelling and grammatical errors done on purpose for the proofreadingly challenged.


#17 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,915 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 16 January 2014 - 12:22 PM

Interesting, I am on Firefox 27 beta and one click on quote and it worked

Strange, I am on the same version (OS X).

 

I ran into a Firefox peculiarity the other day.  I was trying to configure a CenturyLink (ActionTec) modem/router and it wouldn't save the settings.   When I tried it with Safari, no problem.  I've seen a few other things which Firefox wouldn't handle correctly but a different browser would deal with just fine.



#18 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,936 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 16 January 2014 - 12:37 PM

Strange, I am on the same version (OS X).

 

I ran into a Firefox peculiarity the other day.  I was trying to configure a CenturyLink (ActionTec) modem/router and it wouldn't save the settings.   When I tried it with Safari, no problem.  I've seen a few other things which Firefox wouldn't handle correctly but a different browser would deal with just fine.

The OS X explains it, I am on windows7  Just some difference between the Windows and Mac versions.  I have experience similar issues as you have and it always seems to be in submitting/saving.  For example I can do anything I want at verizonwireless except submit a payment.  In IE the payment works.  At work 2 of out supplier websites are like that.  I can do anything except save changes in Firefox


My Setup

#19 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,010 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 16 January 2014 - 12:51 PM

The OS X explains it, I am on windows7  Just some difference between the Windows and Mac versions.  I have experience similar issues as you have and it always seems to be in submitting/saving.  For example I can do anything I want at verizonwireless except submit a payment.  In IE the payment works.  At work 2 of out supplier websites are like that.  I can do anything except save changes in Firefox

 

Actually, it doesn't.  I'm on OSX and running Firefox 27 beta... and I'm not seeing any issues with quotes.

 

I wonder if bob is running any plugins or extensions to Firefox that might be the culprit?


-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#20 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,915 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 16 January 2014 - 12:56 PM

Actually, it doesn't.  I'm on OSX and running Firefox 27 beta... and I'm not seeing any issues with quotes.

 

I wonder if bob is running any plugins or extensions to Firefox that might be the culprit?

Yeah, I have a lot of plugins/extensions enabled.  That might explain it.






spam firewall