Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

rc71 red light stuck on


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mrjacobrussell

mrjacobrussell

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Jun 04, 2013

Posted 25 November 2013 - 12:48 PM

RC71 Red light stuck on.

 

Does any one have a fix for this ?

I tried a Remote reset , Brand new batteries  and Resetting the genie.


Edited by mrjacobrussell, 25 November 2013 - 12:48 PM.

HR44 wired with Ethernet to the router -  
C41 (Attached to a cckw using a dedicated router) -
HR24 -
RVU SamsungTV
Rackable NM46X, 2 x Dual-Core AMD Opteron 2.4ghz 16GB Ram Media server/servio/subsonic

 

- You Stay Classy San Deigo. :goodjob:


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,087 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 25 November 2013 - 12:59 PM

Might be 'broke'.

 

It will run the battery down if the light won't go out.

 

 

If handy, get your cell phone and turn on camera and see if IR signal is active.  If so, there might be a key stuck.



#3 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,540 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 25 November 2013 - 01:24 PM

Call DirecTV and request a replacement remote.


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,908 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 November 2013 - 01:33 PM

Take the batteries out overnight.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#5 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,346 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 25 November 2013 - 03:24 PM

Sometimes if a remote gets a stuck button you can lightly bang it on a table or counter top to make it come loose.

My son spills Coca Cola on his once in awhile and I bang it on the table to get the keys unstuck.

If that does not work you need a new one, especially if you get irritated and bang it a little bit harder.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 November 2013 - 05:18 PM

try this

 

Press MUTE and SELECT, (LED flashes twice)

Enter 981


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   mrjacobrussell

mrjacobrussell

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Jun 04, 2013

Posted 26 November 2013 - 10:40 AM

Thanks guys, Like I said I tried the remote reset (987) buttons are not stuck. Does 981 work on the RC71 genie remote ?


HR44 wired with Ethernet to the router -  
C41 (Attached to a cckw using a dedicated router) -
HR24 -
RVU SamsungTV
Rackable NM46X, 2 x Dual-Core AMD Opteron 2.4ghz 16GB Ram Media server/servio/subsonic

 

- You Stay Classy San Deigo. :goodjob:


#8 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,908 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 26 November 2013 - 10:45 AM

Didja do the battery thing I posted? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#9 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,346 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 26 November 2013 - 02:19 PM

Thanks guys, Like I said I tried the remote reset (987) buttons are not stuck. Does 981 work on the RC71 genie remote ?

Yes, 981 code after pressing mute and select together until the light flashes works the same as the older remotes.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#10 OFFLINE   mrjacobrussell

mrjacobrussell

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Jun 04, 2013

Posted 04 December 2013 - 12:20 PM

I've tried everything and have not been able to recover one of thesse SOLID RED LED light RC71 remotes.


HR44 wired with Ethernet to the router -  
C41 (Attached to a cckw using a dedicated router) -
HR24 -
RVU SamsungTV
Rackable NM46X, 2 x Dual-Core AMD Opteron 2.4ghz 16GB Ram Media server/servio/subsonic

 

- You Stay Classy San Deigo. :goodjob:


#11 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,346 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 04 December 2013 - 02:33 PM

Call DTV and ask for a new one or go on Ebay or Amazon and buy one. I bought one on Ebay for $7 a couple of months ago.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#12 OFFLINE   mrjacobrussell

mrjacobrussell

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Jun 04, 2013

Posted 09 December 2013 - 10:10 AM

Yes, 981 code after pressing mute and select together until the light flashes works the same as the older remotes.

 

I tried this it was a no go.

I am just looking to see if anyone can help with a resolution without replacement.

 

 

Getting a remote replacements are not a problem with the tripple P Protection plan premier.


HR44 wired with Ethernet to the router -  
C41 (Attached to a cckw using a dedicated router) -
HR24 -
RVU SamsungTV
Rackable NM46X, 2 x Dual-Core AMD Opteron 2.4ghz 16GB Ram Media server/servio/subsonic

 

- You Stay Classy San Deigo. :goodjob:


#13 OFFLINE   Josh85JC

Josh85JC

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • Locationoregon
Joined: Mar 16, 2014

Posted 16 March 2014 - 01:11 PM

so far with the rc71 remotes i have discovered it is linked to the IR setup.

the HR44 and rc71 remotes are designed to be programmed to RF after installation and the IR setup for the hr44 and rc71 is only a temporary programming for the innitial setup of the system.

I am currently trying to recreate the issue and find fixes to the issue.

if anyone could let me know if they have one of those deffective remotes and would like to part with it then i would love to aquire a failed RC71 remote to be able to find a full fix once and for all.

just a tip though, if you have one that works, then hold mute+enter to set the remote to RF and then program through the 2way setup to the tv instead of using the codes and that will keep the issue from occuring in the future.

if you need a new one, call directv, if you have the standard protection plan (PPP not required) then you can get a remote free at no cost and covered by the protection plan. :up:



#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 March 2014 - 01:21 PM

[quote name="Josh85JC" post="3238709" timestamp="1394997061"]

the HR44 and rc71 remotes are designed to be programmed to RF after installation and the IR setup for the hr44 and rc71 is only a temporary programming for the innitial setup of the system.

/quote]not quite, I run my HR44 on IR for almost as month without any issues


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   Josh85JC

Josh85JC

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • Locationoregon
Joined: Mar 16, 2014

Posted 16 March 2014 - 06:47 PM

[quote name="Josh85JC" post="3238709" timestamp="1394997061"]

the HR44 and rc71 remotes are designed to be programmed to RF after installation and the IR setup for the hr44 and rc71 is only a temporary programming for the innitial setup of the system.

/quote]not quite, I run my HR44 on IR for almost as month without any issues


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

 

thanks, even that bit helps.

Its not a guarantee to occur, but the solid red light issue is fallowed by the HR44 and RC71 remaining in IR after installation, which could be a month or even 1 year after.

if the HR44 and RC71 are programmed back to IR after previously being set to RF then it does not seem to occur yet, but its a glitch that I am researching on to further take care of the problem to create a fix instead of deaming the RC71 as deffective without a fix.

Thank you, any information further always helps. :righton:



#16 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 March 2014 - 07:32 PM

thanks, even that bit helps.

Its not a guarantee to occur, but the solid red light issue is fallowed by the HR44 and RC71 remaining in IR after installation, which could be a month or even 1 year after.

if the HR44 and RC71 are programmed back to IR after previously being set to RF then it does not seem to occur yet, but its a glitch that I am researching on to further take care of the problem to create a fix instead of deaming the RC71 as deffective without a fix.

Thank you, any information further always helps. :righton:

I think there was a batch of bad remotes.  as this was not usual 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#17 OFFLINE   mrjacobrussell

mrjacobrussell

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Jun 04, 2013

Posted 05 June 2014 - 09:24 PM

Josh, did you ever find a resolution to this?


HR44 wired with Ethernet to the router -  
C41 (Attached to a cckw using a dedicated router) -
HR24 -
RVU SamsungTV
Rackable NM46X, 2 x Dual-Core AMD Opteron 2.4ghz 16GB Ram Media server/servio/subsonic

 

- You Stay Classy San Deigo. :goodjob:


#18 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 June 2014 - 07:52 PM

Josh, did you ever find a resolution to this?

Get a new remote.  they are very cheap on ebay 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#19 OFFLINE   mrjacobrussell

mrjacobrussell

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Jun 04, 2013

Posted 10 June 2014 - 02:21 PM

Get a new remote.  they are very cheap on ebay 

 

Again I am not looking for a new remote, but thanks


HR44 wired with Ethernet to the router -  
C41 (Attached to a cckw using a dedicated router) -
HR24 -
RVU SamsungTV
Rackable NM46X, 2 x Dual-Core AMD Opteron 2.4ghz 16GB Ram Media server/servio/subsonic

 

- You Stay Classy San Deigo. :goodjob:


#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,129 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 June 2014 - 08:19 PM

Again I am not looking for a new remote, but thanks

Well if its defective, you have no other choice, do you?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall