Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Digital Converter


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,940 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 02 December 2013 - 01:23 PM

I'm looking for an ATSC digital converter with a good tuner, and component output that will output to 480i.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using DBSTalk mobile app



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:31 PM

http://www.amazon.co...nverters for tv

 

http://www.amazon.co...ASIN=B00EHHPPM0

 

Can't speak to how good these are or are not. I just searched and found them.

One of them has a USB port on the front and it talks about recording to a thumb drive or a USB hard drive.


Edited by jimmie57, 02 December 2013 - 02:36 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,940 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:36 PM

Problem is they don't say if the component outputs will output a 480i resolution. I have a device right now that only outputs 480p/720p/1080i via component. Tv only accepts a 480i signal.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using DBSTalk mobile app



#4 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,730 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:46 PM

I'm not sure I've seen one that would do that in years. Have you tried looking for an older used item? Maybe even an old DIRECTV sat box? A dtc-100 would do it as I recall. But you'd have to find one.

#5 OFFLINE   RBA

RBA

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:08 PM

Do you want component or composite? All the old digital converter boxes from the 2009 era did only RF and composite at 480I. Component pretty much said High Definition which also meant 720P or 1080I output resolution. 480P was considered extended definition TV and probably disappeared around 2010 when true High Definition took over.

#6 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,337 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:31 PM

Problem is they don't say if the component outputs will output a 480i resolution.

The iView website suggests that it is HD up-convert.

I'm guessing that all of the cheap solutions are built around the same chipset so you're going to have to find an old-school DTV tuner.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#7 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,940 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:54 PM

Component that outputs at 480i (Obviously do other resolutions too, but tv only accepts 480i).

Do you want component or composite? All the old digital converter boxes from the 2009 era did only RF and composite at 480I. Component pretty much said High Definition which also meant 720P or 1080I output resolution. 480P was considered extended definition TV and probably disappeared around 2010 when true High Definition took over.


Sent from my SPH-L720 using DBSTalk mobile app



#8 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,184 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:43 PM

Why not cut your losses and get a $99 tv this week?



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#9 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,715 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 02 December 2013 - 06:17 PM

IF (and that's a big IF) you can find a Samsung DTB250F  - you can get what you want. There may be other devices that can as well.


You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#10 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,940 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 02 December 2013 - 07:26 PM

I doubt I could get a tv for $99. I'd need a 30" LED backlit LCD and I wouldn't be able to purchase it until Tuesday.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using DBSTalk mobile app



#11 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 December 2013 - 11:48 PM

My HR24-100 will output 480i on component.

You have to uncheck all resolutions except for 480i to get it to work.

 

I think it would be easier if I were not hooked to 2 TVs, one digital CRT and one HD LCD.

The LCD will operate on 480i and 480p.

The CRT only works in 480i using the component connection.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#12 OFFLINE   RBA

RBA

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 03 December 2013 - 08:15 AM

I doubt I could get a tv for $99. I'd need a 30" LED backlit LCD and I wouldn't be able to purchase it until Tuesday.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using DBSTalk mobile app

I got a 40" from New Egg for $240, do your shopping this is the season for extreme bargins.




spam firewall