Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD 34 video problems


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   innuss

innuss

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2009

Posted 08 December 2013 - 09:01 PM

I got this installed back in August & it's been fine until the last couple of days.  Here is what is happening: I change the channel & then I won't get a picture - I can hit info or guide & I can see that I'm on the right channel but the picture doesn't show.  Usually the picture will return after a minute or so.   I go tired of this this morning while trying to watch the NFL so I poked around in the back & everything was nice & tight except that the component cable connection to the back of the genie wasn't as tight as it should be.  I got it seated correctly & that appeared to fix it.  Later on though, it happened again.  I had another set of component cables so I tried those & so far it's only happened once & then the picture returned.   I've been changing the channels often this evening & everything has been fine.

The weird thing is that I was using the PIP this afternoon & switched from red zone to another channel & the picture wouldn't show on the left channel (the one w/ sound) but I still had a picture on the right channel.

I've checked my other components -blue-ray, etc. & those don't appear to be affected. 

It has been unseasonably cold here (below 25') could that be a problem?  Or do you think there is a problem w/ genie's component connection?   I do have the protection plan so I'm covered if it's a genie problem.  Thanks



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 877 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 08 December 2013 - 09:05 PM

If you have the info banner showing then it has nothing to do with the component connection. Have you looked at your signal strength? If not start there by going into the settings under satellite.



#3 OFFLINE   innuss

innuss

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2009

Posted 08 December 2013 - 09:45 PM

Thanks.  1-24 are 94 to 100.   The 4th column over is all 0's.   In 25-32, I have a 96, 61, 95, 100, 98, 99, 96 & 100.  Do you see anything there that doesn't look right?  Thanks again.



#4 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,736 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 December 2013 - 11:08 PM

What about the other satelites. That's just 101 and sounds fine. Check 99 and 103 though as that's where Hi Definition comes from. Also can you un hide sd duplicates and see the channels in sd?

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,498 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 09 December 2013 - 12:50 AM

Please post back with your signal readings for each satellite's transponders (and both tuners if applicable).  You'll find these readings under "Menu" -> "Setup" -> "System Setup" -> Satellite -> "View Signal Strength".  Note the "+" and "-" symbols next to the "Satellite" and "Tuner" entries where you can toggle the readings between the various satellites and both DVR tuners. 
 
Fill in your readings for each satellite and tuner using these examples.  A properly aligned dish will show 80-90s on most of the relevant transponders (although some will be low or zero):
 
 
Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
25-32  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
 
Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[Not present with Slimline3 dish. No channels are currently beamed from this satellite]
1-8    NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x
9-16   NA  x   NA  x   NA  NA  NA  NA
 
Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Not present with Slimline 3 dish. Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x   x   x
25-32  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
9-16   NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]
 
Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
9-16   NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8    NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
 
Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º(cb)) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels beamed from D10 satellite]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
17-24  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA
 
Satellite transponders (9 total at SWM)
[You'll only see this if you have a Single Wire Multiswitch (SWM) dish]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA

HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   innuss

innuss

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2009

Posted 09 December 2013 - 07:48 AM

Thanks, I'll check it when I get home this afternoon.



#7 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,498 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 09 December 2013 - 07:28 PM

Keep us posted.  


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 OFFLINE   innuss

innuss

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2009

Posted 11 December 2013 - 05:35 PM

Called Direct & they had me reset the box & everything appears to be fine.  Thanks!



#9 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,498 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 12 December 2013 - 01:03 AM

Good to hear. Enjoy!


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish





spam firewall