Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Any use for old RCA DRD420re ??

drd420

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   seigell

seigell

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSuburbs in Central Arid-zona
Joined: May 08, 2009

Posted 09 December 2013 - 08:34 PM

I've just replaced my last old DRD420 with a D12.

 

Before I consign it to the recycler / landfill, is there any remaining value in the DRD420 or its Remote to ANYONE ??

Would it be of any value to donate it to Goodwill ??

 



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,035 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 09 December 2013 - 08:39 PM

Go to DTV.com and recycle it. They will ship you a box to send it back with postage paid by them. It is worth nothing.



#3 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,035 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 09 December 2013 - 08:40 PM

http://directv.round2web.com  Here is the link



#4 OFFLINE   seigell

seigell

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSuburbs in Central Arid-zona
Joined: May 08, 2009

Posted 09 December 2013 - 09:01 PM

No Value - didn't really think so...

 

Tried directv.round2web.com - per Serial Number data entry it says DRD420RE is a "DirecTV Recoverable Device" and refers me to call D*.  DirecTV in turn tells me to use round2web...

 

Looks like I'll avail myself of BestBuy's Free Electronics Recycling Drop-off - even if I might be tempted to buy something while in the Store...

 

Thanks, all...



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,359 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 December 2013 - 10:01 PM

Perhaps you can get in touch with this person, he might want it...

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...wned-recievers/


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,101 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 09 December 2013 - 11:29 PM

In a hundred years or so Living History Farms (near Des Moines, Iowa) will want one for display.



#7 OFFLINE   B Newt

B Newt

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 720 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 10 December 2013 - 12:05 AM

Yep my RCA is off to Best Buy.


HR20-100 s/w version 0x192
au9 dish NO multiswitch or diplexers.
Internet connection via WIFI.


#8 ONLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,477 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 11:08 AM

I have an old D10, I will recycle it unless someone wants it.


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5 SWM 16
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

HR44-500
ATT uverse internet


#9 OFFLINE   crashHD

crashHD

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 312 posts
Joined: Feb 29, 2008

Posted 01 January 2014 - 08:35 AM

a DRD420re is old enough it doesn't have a RID# (Reciever ID #). 

This makes is a good spare unit.  If you have a receiver that fails, you can put it's card into a non-RID (like this one) receiver, go to the directv website, and click (refresh my services) on that card, and it will begin working in that alternate receiver.  No waiting for an appointment with a tech, no fussing with a disagreeable CSR on the phone who doesn't want to reactivate your used receiver, or wants to insist you wait 4 days for a new card by mail, just 5 minutes to change out receivers, and you're back in business. 
 


If you're not part of the problem, you're part of the solution!

#10 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 01 January 2014 - 01:33 PM

If it doesnt support the APG its useless....



#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,272 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 January 2014 - 03:07 PM

if it does support APG and MPG ? who knows ...



#12 OFFLINE   srfrdan

srfrdan

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2010

Posted 19 January 2014 - 10:42 AM

I have an old D10, I will recycle it unless someone wants it.

i wish i had seen this sooner d10 is considered a modern receiver and i just got one off ebay---works good---d



#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,359 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 January 2014 - 12:21 PM

i wish i had seen this sooner d10 is considered a modern receiver and i just got one off ebay---works good---d

Not sure I agree with this as this receiver is no longer being installed by DirecTV and is on DirecTV's "scrap" list (the I don't want it you can keep it list)


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   srfrdan

srfrdan

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2010

Posted 19 January 2014 - 06:29 PM

Not sure I agree with this as this receiver is no longer being installed by DirecTV and is on DirecTV's "scrap" list (the I don't want it you can keep it list)

they might not make them but theyre not part of the big shutdown that just occurred. theres no shutdown message on the screen and nothing on ch341 saying if u can read this message ur receiver needs to be replaced. iis a rid receiver and dtv says theyre ok the format is the same as hr20,hr24, and my  d12s. and  h21s---d



#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,359 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 January 2014 - 06:41 PM

they might not make them but theyre not part of the big shutdown that just occurred. theres no shutdown message on the screen and nothing on ch341 saying if u can read this message ur receiver needs to be replaced. iis a rid receiver and dtv says theyre ok the format is the same as hr20,hr24, and my  d12s. and  h21s---d

Correct, the D10 is an APG receiver, that does not make it "modern" BTW.  however is still usable.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 ONLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,477 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 20 January 2014 - 11:11 AM

They work great and the same as a D12, but not with a swmm

Still got it if anyone wants it.


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5 SWM 16
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

HR44-500
ATT uverse internet


#17 OFFLINE   srfrdan

srfrdan

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2010

Posted 23 January 2014 - 05:06 PM

Correct, the D10 is an APG receiver, that does not make it "modern" BTW.  however is still usable.

its as usable as the d12s-the exact same os downloaded tues 11:30am--d



#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,272 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 January 2014 - 05:08 PM

see the FW monitor at www.rehd.com/dtv



#19 OFFLINE   srfrdan

srfrdan

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2010

Posted 23 January 2014 - 05:12 PM

They work great and the same as a D12, but not with a swmm

Still got it if anyone wants it.

ive a need if its owned and access carded--pm me please ---d



#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,359 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 January 2014 - 08:22 PM

its as usable as the d12s-the exact same os downloaded tues 11:30am--d

not quite, as the D12 works in SWM and the D10 does not 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#21 OFFLINE   srfrdan

srfrdan

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2010

Posted 14 February 2014 - 03:55 PM

They work great and the same as a D12, but not with a swmm

Still got it if anyone wants it.

i received this d10and it works perfect for my rtv----d



#22 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 737 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 08 March 2014 - 11:04 PM

a DRD420re is old enough it doesn't have a RID# (Reciever ID #).

This makes is a good spare unit. If you have a receiver that fails, you can put it's card into a non-RID (like this one) receiver, go to the directv website, and click (refresh my services) on that card, and it will begin working in that alternate receiver. No waiting for an appointment with a tech, no fussing with a disagreeable CSR on the phone who doesn't want to reactivate your used receiver, or wants to insist you wait 4 days for a new card by mail, just 5 minutes to change out receivers, and you're back in business.


This used to work, but in the last year or so, switching between two HDVR-2's (non-RID IRD's), this has not worked. Have you tried this recently, even in the last month?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

11 DirecTV HD-DVR's including a Genie and GenieGO


#23 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,072 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 01 April 2014 - 04:18 PM

If it doesnt support the APG its useless....

I'm pretty sure the DRE420re was an APG receiver.  I have one in the storeroom that hasn't been used for over 10 years.

 

Because they don't have RIDs, I doubt they will activate one on any but the original owner's account.


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#24 OFFLINE   Dude111

Dude111

    An Awesome Dude

  • Registered
  • 539 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 09 April 2014 - 02:45 PM

Nope sadly the RCA DRD 420re is an MPG box... (I had one until December 2013 when they pulled all MPG programming... I now have an RCA 430rg which is an APG box))




Protected By... spam firewall...And...