Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

RC71 / HR44 AV Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Goodwrnch03

Goodwrnch03

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 10 December 2013 - 05:28 PM

Ok I got the HR44 installed today and it came with the RC71. I have got the remote programmed to turn the tv on and off and it will control the volume on the av receiver.

However I cannot get the remote to power the av receiver on and off.

I have been through the set up three times and when you program the av receiver and it ask you to press the power button. When I do it turns the av receiver off and then I turn it back on.

But it will not turn the receiver on and off when in normal operation.

Any ideas??

It's better to be hated for who you are than loved for who you're not....
Johnny Van Zant
 

1-Genie??
1-HR23-700
1-HR24-100
1-H21-100
Pioneer Elite 60" Plasma
Hitachi 50" Plasma
2 37" Hitachi Ultra Thin LCD
Pioneer Elite Receiver
2--D12
Native On 720p, 1080i


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,876 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 06:09 PM

The RC71 will not power on/off any A/V Receiver.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,419 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 December 2013 - 09:16 PM

Yup, that is normal.  the RC71 maps the ON and OFF to the DirecTV and TV devices only


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,325 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 09:30 PM

The RC71 will not power on/off any A/V Receiver.

 

 

And yet in testing, when i set up my remote to control my denon receiver, to test it it had me test power, and it was discrete power at that!  so they could, they just have chosen not to on purpose!

 

I dont see why they couldnt at the very least let us chose if we want on and off to turn our av receiver on and off as well, just like they let us decide what the volume controls.



#5 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,587 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 December 2013 - 09:43 PM

The RC71 will not power on/off any A/V Receiver.

 

Mine does, albeit indirectly. My Sammy tells my Denon to turn off with a press of the Off button on the '71.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#6 OFFLINE   dvdmth

dvdmth

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,010 posts
  • LocationDenver, CO
Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted 10 December 2013 - 10:48 PM

Mine does, albeit indirectly. My Sammy tells my Denon to turn off with a press of the Off button on the '71.

I wish I had a TV/AVR combo that supported that.  It would save me from having to grab a second remote just to turn the Onkyo on and off.



#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,419 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 December 2013 - 07:32 AM

I wish I had a TV/AVR combo that supported that.  It would save me from having to grab a second remote just to turn the Onkyo on and off.

you can, get a "smart" power strip.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   Goodwrnch03

Goodwrnch03

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 12 December 2013 - 04:38 PM

Thanks for all the replies, I have been traveling a couple of days. Looks like the Logitech will live on and the rc71 will be a dust collector.

It's better to be hated for who you are than loved for who you're not....
Johnny Van Zant
 

1-Genie??
1-HR23-700
1-HR24-100
1-H21-100
Pioneer Elite 60" Plasma
Hitachi 50" Plasma
2 37" Hitachi Ultra Thin LCD
Pioneer Elite Receiver
2--D12
Native On 720p, 1080i


#9 OFFLINE   Goodwrnch03

Goodwrnch03

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 12 December 2013 - 04:41 PM

BTW, when setting up it will power the receiver on and off.

This is stupid they do not send that on - off command to the receiver.

It's better to be hated for who you are than loved for who you're not....
Johnny Van Zant
 

1-Genie??
1-HR23-700
1-HR24-100
1-H21-100
Pioneer Elite 60" Plasma
Hitachi 50" Plasma
2 37" Hitachi Ultra Thin LCD
Pioneer Elite Receiver
2--D12
Native On 720p, 1080i


#10 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,876 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:30 AM

BTW, when setting up it will power the receiver on and off.
This is stupid they do not send that on - off command to the receiver.


The remote is apparently not capable of sending signals to more than 2 devices at a time, just like all their past remotes. They've clearly done this by choice. I'd suggest getting a multi-device remote like a Harmony.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#11 OFFLINE   randyk47

randyk47

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 814 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, TX
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:59 AM

I long time ago went to Harmony remotes for all my major setups (TV, DirecTV receiver, AV receiver, and Blu-ray) with one device works for me.  It actually was my wife's frustration with having to use three or more remotes that caused us to look at some kind of universal remote.  The best solution for us was Harmony with its rechargeable batteries and computer based programming.  I have quite a collection of DirecTV remotes in a box in our storage area......something like eight or more.  :grin:


Elite 70" HD LED/HR44/AM21/Denon AVR/Harmony 900
Samsung 52" HD LCD/HR21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony One
Samsung 40" HD LED/HR23/AM21/Pioneer HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 32" HD LCD/OTA
Slimline Dish
SWM16
MRV
Attic Mounted HD OTA
U-verse Internet/Phone




Protected By... spam firewall...And...