Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Multiple Genie's allowed?


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dualsub2006

dualsub2006

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 805 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 10:01 AM

I have a question, and it centers around the times that I've seen people post here that they have multiple Genie boxes on their account. I've seen mention also that D* only allows one Genie per account. I'm up for my Protection Plan upgrade next week, and I have one of my HR-23's nearly cleaned off for the switch. Would D* allow me to then order a second Genie to replace my other HR-23 when I'm ready to replace that one? I don't honestly NEED two, but the 5 tuners on each would make some recording nights less painful, and my other main TV area would benefit muchly from the PIP feature as well.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,906 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 10:14 AM

Unfortunately you can't at this time.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   randyk47

randyk47

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 814 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, TX
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 10:15 AM

For what it is worth, and I fully understand the CSR roulette we often experience with DirecTV, but I was told firmly with no reservations that they will not allow or activate two Genie's on the same account.  Why?  Beats me.  Since I'm not using the clients it certainly would make sense to gradually switch my other two receivers over to Genie's. 


Elite 70" HD LED/HR44/AM21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 52" HD LCD/HR21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony One
Samsung 40" HD LED/HR23/AM21/Pioneer HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 32" HD LCD/OTA
Slimline Dish
SWM16
MRV
Attic Mounted HD OTA
U-verse Internet/Phone

#4 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,666 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 10:16 AM

DirecTV currently only allows one. There have been cases of people having two when the rules were less clear, and their second one ended up being disabled. At that point, they are pretty much out of luck.

 

As for why, I think it's a combination of requiring a SWM16 and I believe there are some technical issues with clients and multiple Genies. Plus the limited availability early on. Though that really isn't a factor with HR44s.



#5 OFFLINE   dualsub2006

dualsub2006

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 805 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 11:25 AM

Thanks for confirming what I didn't want to be true. It'll be spring before I'd want to add a second, as that's when it'll be close to cleaned off, and that's when I'm replacing that TV. Maybe things will be different then. Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DBSTalk mobile app

#6 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,841 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 11 December 2013 - 12:37 PM

I have a question, and it centers around the times that I've seen people post here that they have multiple Genie boxes on their account. I've seen mention also that D* only allows one Genie per account. I'm up for my Protection Plan upgrade next week, and I have one of my HR-23's nearly cleaned off for the switch. Would D* allow me to then order a second Genie to replace my other HR-23 when I'm ready to replace that one? I don't honestly NEED two, but the 5 tuners on each would make some recording nights less painful, and my other main TV area would benefit muchly from the PIP feature as well.

 

In same boat as I have a tiring HR21 waiting for when two Genies will be allowed.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#7 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,525 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:12 PM

One would hope that they've had time and resources to fix any technical problems.

I wonder if DECA is up to supporting the loading that might result.

From an installation standpoint, having to replace all of the SWMLNB setups that are in place is probably pretty daunting.

If you let someone have two, some will want three or more and the yield using SWM is poor.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#8 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,699 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:47 PM

One would hope that they've had time and resources to fix any technical problems.

I wonder if DECA is up to supporting the loading that might result.

From an installation standpoint, having to replace all of the SWMLNB setups that are in place is probably pretty daunting.

If you let someone have two, some will want three or more and the yield using SWM is poor.

DECA isn't a problem.

I've already shown a dual SWiM-16 configuration that would support 4 Genies, should one ever need it.


A.K.A VOS

#9 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,666 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:49 PM

DECA isn't a problem.

I've already shown a dual SWiM-16 configuration that would support 4 Genies, should one ever need it.

 

Yes, but would the average tech be able to pull that off if it's not something they do very often?



#10 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,699 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:52 PM

Yes, but would the average tech be able to pull that off if it's not something they do very often?

What's an "average" tech?


  • Laxguy likes this
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    Thirsty from pretzels

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,084 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:56 PM

DECA isn't a problem.
I've already shown a dual SWiM-16 configuration that would support 4 Genies, should one ever need it.


You had me at 4 Genies. :)

#12 OFFLINE   randyk47

randyk47

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 814 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, TX
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 04:35 PM

I would never need more than three Genie's so maybe I could recycle my SWM8 and marry it up with my SWM16?  :grin:  As it is we have a Genie and two HR's for the two of us so it's not like we need more receivers.  In reality I'd be happy to get a second Genie for our second major watching setup so I really won't need to bring the SWM8 back on line. 


Edited by randyk47, 11 December 2013 - 04:38 PM.

Elite 70" HD LED/HR44/AM21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 52" HD LCD/HR21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony One
Samsung 40" HD LED/HR23/AM21/Pioneer HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 32" HD LCD/OTA
Slimline Dish
SWM16
MRV
Attic Mounted HD OTA
U-verse Internet/Phone

#13 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,797 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 05:25 PM

The way I understand it, the reason they don't allow two Genies is that the clients mis-behave when there are two possible servers to which they can connect. Since a client has to registered with the server, if they attempt to attach to "other" server, the connection is rejected.

While Harsh may be correct that they could have solved this problem by now, there are other more important client/Genie issues to be addressed. Since a very small number of their customers want more than one Genie, it just isn't a high priority. It is far easier, and basically without any penalty, to say that only one Genie may be active on an account.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#14 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,227 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 11 December 2013 - 05:29 PM

I would never need more than three Genie's so maybe I could recycle my SWM8 and marry it up with my SWM16?  :grin:  As it is we have a Genie and two HR's for the two of us so it's not like we need more receivers.  In reality I'd be happy to get a second Genie for our second major watching setup so I really won't need to bring the SWM8 back on line. 

 

 

I gotta ask, how is it possible that 9 tuners would not be enough for two people? When would you ever need to watch/record more than 9 things at once, and when would you ever have time to watch all those recordings?


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#15 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,797 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 05:33 PM

I gotta ask, how is it possible that 9 tuners would not be enough for two people? When would you ever need to watch/record more than 9 things at once, and when would you ever have time to watch all those recordings?


We have 13 recordable tuners (plus 2 H25s) for 3 people, and have occasionally had to record the pacific time zone rebroadcast of some shows. Maybe we will never watch everything, but it is nice to have it available.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#16 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 06:16 PM

I gotta ask, how is it possible that 9 tuners would not be enough for two people? When would you ever need to watch/record more than 9 things at once, and when would you ever have time to watch all those recordings?


There was a poster here several months ago that wanted 12-15 tuners so he could record every football game. And that was just one person.

#17 OFFLINE   randyk47

randyk47

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 814 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, TX
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 06:58 PM

9 tuners is probably good enough for us as we just jumped from 6 to 9 when we replaced an HR20 with an HR44 just 3 or so weeks ago and really haven't gotten used to the extra number of tuners.  Actually what would make more sense is to go with 2 Genie's and an Hxx or a client if DirecTV came up with a workaround with any conflict between multiple Genie's and clients.  The client or Hxx would be in our crafts room/gym so a DVR is really not an issue it's just what's there now.  In fact the only reason why there's a DVR in there now is because the H10 that was in there went up in smoke....figuratively....and DirecTV offered me an HR20 for no cost so why not.  We don't get enough company to justify providing DirecTV in the guest room so any quests will just have to put up with OTA.  What I do like about the Genie is the speed when compared to our HR21 and HR23 it's quite apparent. 


Edited by randyk47, 11 December 2013 - 07:00 PM.

Elite 70" HD LED/HR44/AM21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 52" HD LCD/HR21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony One
Samsung 40" HD LED/HR23/AM21/Pioneer HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 32" HD LCD/OTA
Slimline Dish
SWM16
MRV
Attic Mounted HD OTA
U-verse Internet/Phone

#18 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,173 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 December 2013 - 09:30 PM

DECA isn't a problem.

I've already shown a dual SWiM-16 configuration that would support 4 Genies, should one ever need it.

Correct, however having these many Genies adds much more to support these receivers in hardware cost and yields the same monthly fees in return as it they had Genie minis


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,173 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 December 2013 - 09:32 PM

Yes, but would the average tech be able to pull that off if it's not something they do very often?

What's so hard about marrying a couple or for that matter 3 or four switches together?  this is not any difference that marrying multiple 6x8 or 6x16s together when there was no SWM and DVRs used 2 cables.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,841 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 11 December 2013 - 09:52 PM

I gotta ask, how is it possible that 9 tuners would not be enough for two people? When would you ever need to watch/record more than 9 things at once, and when would you ever have time to watch all those recordings?

 

Not so much the tuners, it is the limit for the number series one can record that gives me hassles.

 

We have about 150 channels x 7 days x 3 prime shows per channel per day = 3150 possible series. And DirecTV limit us to 50 and a 100.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00





spam firewall