Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Multiple Genie's allowed?


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,217 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 12 December 2013 - 09:19 PM

For me, it wasn't as much about the tuners as it's been about the separation of family members. Each with different series likes, playlist preferences, and storage requirements. Now playing with a few Roamio's. His, hers, and a Mini server to keep client tuner requirements separate.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,095 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 December 2013 - 10:09 PM

In case you forgot we pay monthly fees for these And have programming fees as well as 24 month commitments on leased equipment, hardly what I would call free. Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app

 

And yet they cost to build too..  Actually,. I think within the not to distant future they wont cost anymore to make than a hr24 did when it was first released, so I don't think cost will be an issue in the not to distant future...  But still, some people will want multiple free ones at the same time..  That isn't going to happen.  But the bigger costs is swim16s if someone wants more than two.  That can really start increasing costs and complicating things.



#53 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,199 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 December 2013 - 10:13 PM

.  But the bigger costs is swim16s if someone wants more than two.  That can really start increasing costs and complicating things.

exactly, and for the same ROI as if they has Genie minis.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#54 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,228 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 12 December 2013 - 11:21 PM

For me, it wasn't as much about the tuners as it's been about the separation of family members. Each with different series likes, playlist preferences, and storage requirements. Now playing with a few Roamio's. His, hers, and a Mini server to keep client tuner requirements separate.

 

That's something that should be fixed in software, by having different user profiles, that have their own playlists, season pass lists, etc. rather than everyone having their own Genie.

 

I can't believe Tivo hasn't caught onto this either, but then they don't even have a way to copy thumb ratings from an old one to a new one, because they're so fixated on updating useless stuff like the Youtube app that they don't see where they could really make a leap over the competition.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL, 3xSWM16; 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#55 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,275 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:47 AM

And yet they cost to build too.. Actually,. I think within the not to distant future they wont cost anymore to make than a hr24 did when it was first released, so I don't think cost will be an issue in the not to distant future... But still, some people will want multiple free ones at the same time.. .

The below is not all directed at you Inkahauts, because I agree with your valid posts on equipment complications and your take about certain cost issue.

But to everyone else who complains about poor directv and how customers are taking such advantage of directvs "offers " like a run a way greenhouse effect.
Well all I can say is,
People want multiple free equipment now, and don't get it, so I don't see really want the complaints are.

Out of my entire system in my signature, I've paid almost $300 in upfront cost and shipping fees.
And paid over $3200 in programming in my house alone the last 18 months. Money I'll never see again, and equipment I'll never own.

I don't need people from Internet forum's telling me or anyone else what freebies offers I take or anyone else asks for.


New customers now are only getting a genie and 3 clients for free.

Existing customers might get a bone thrown at them from time to time. Or if they pay an extra $8 per month every 2 years they can upgrade, with the expense of another commitment.

Again never does the customer ever have the upper hand like some make out.
Clearly you want something, your paying for it one way or another.

DIRECTV isn't losing any money over giving it customers equipment "offers" not exactly freebies.

Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app


#56 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,275 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 06:11 AM

exactly, and for the same ROI as if they has Genie minis.

But it not costing you anything. If anything it will bring your more work, something millions of Americans would welcome with open arms.

Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app


#57 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:19 AM

I gotta ask, how is it possible that 9 tuners would not be enough for two people? When would you ever need to watch/record more than 9 things at once, and when would you ever have time to watch all those recordings?


I have 14 tuners available and I live alone. It's nice to not miss anything and also great to know I can set a remote recording and not worry about a conflict.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#58 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:22 AM

Directv should still aloud a second Genie on an account if one doesn't have clients. Because I'm sure 2 GENIES would work just fine with HR's and H25s.


You'd think, but they don't always work with each other much less an H2X or HR2X.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#59 OFFLINE   randyk47

randyk47

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 826 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, TX
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 11:12 AM

I guess I don't understand the comment that a Genie sometimes doesn't work with H2x or HR2x.  Granted I'm only a month into the install of my HR44 but so far I've seen no issues between it and my HR21 or HR23.  Now I may be missing something or I'm lucky or whatever but so far so good.  Not challenging the statement, just trying to understand what might be known issues or problems. 


Elite 70" HD LED/HR44/AM21/Denon AVR/Harmony 900
Samsung 52" HD LCD/HR21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony One
Samsung 40" HD LED/HR23/AM21/Pioneer HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 32" HD LCD/OTA
Slimline Dish
SWM16
MRV
Attic Mounted HD OTA
U-verse Internet/Phone

#60 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,275 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 11:38 AM

You'd think, but they don't always work with each other much less an H2X or HR2X.

I've had HR34 and HR's side by side working just fine with the whole home system.
Another Genie would be just fine with my setup.
Maybe not with the Crappy clients!

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#61 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,000 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 13 December 2013 - 12:59 PM

I must say I felt that the clients were foolish at first besides being vulnerable to the Genie being in operation they behaved a bit "clunky" and sluggish. But really I've come around and value them in areas where that TV is more of a luxury and not a mainstream set. At present they operate a snick above the range of the HR22 to HR23 family with respect to speed of operation, have perfect PQ and audio, a small form factor, plus have full DVR functionality.

 

Further, to date I have found the Genie to be rock solid and a terrific workhorse device. So for rooms like the den, office, kitchen counter, sewing room, butler's pantry, etc these clients are a perfect solution.

 

Don "Crappy= Compact, reliable, absolutely perfect picture. YAY!" Bolton

I've had HR34 and HR's side by side working just fine with the whole home system.
Another Genie would be just fine with my setup.
Maybe not with the Crappy clients!


Go fast, turn left, repeat until done.


#62 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,095 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 01:33 PM

The below is not all directed at you Inkahauts, because I agree with your valid posts on equipment complications and your take about certain cost issue. But to everyone else who complains about poor directv and how customers are taking such advantage of directvs "offers " like a run a way greenhouse effect. Well all I can say is, People want multiple free equipment now, and don't get it, so I don't see really want the complaints are. Out of my entire system in my signature, I've paid almost $300 in upfront cost and shipping fees.And paid over $3200 in programming in my house alone the last 18 months. Money I'll never see again, and equipment I'll never own. I don't need people from Internet forum's telling me or anyone else what freebies offers I take or anyone else asks for. New customers now are only getting a genie and 3 clients for free. Existing customers might get a bone thrown at them from time to time. Or if they pay an extra $8 per month every 2 years they can upgrade, with the expense of another commitment. Again never does the customer ever have the upper hand like some make out. Clearly you want something, your paying for it one way or another. DIRECTV isn't losing any money over giving it customers equipment "offers" not exactly freebies. Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app


Oh hey I think its hogwash as well. They make billions we should have the best DVR and allowed To have multiple. Neither is true right now. That may cost More for some subs but it'd probably drive more customers To them as well, so they make more in the long run.

But I see how the bean counters look at it. And I hate bean counters looking at today and not long run with no vision. Unfortunately they run most companies.
  • damondlt likes this

#63 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 01:49 PM

I've had HR34 and HR's side by side working just fine with the whole home system.Another Genie would be just fine with my setup.Maybe not with the Crappy clients!


"Just fine" with only one Genie in your setup, not 2.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#64 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,275 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 02:57 PM

"Just fine" with only one Genie in your setup, not 2.

Yea, that's what you think. I've had 2 GENIES and two HR's hooked up, for 2 solid weeks, and guess what worked just fine.

Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app



#65 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,611 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 13 December 2013 - 03:41 PM

I would like a second Genie as this allow me to retire two HRs. I would wired my kitchen TV to be a second TV off of one of my remaining boxes.


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#66 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,505 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:21 PM

I guess I don't understand the comment that a Genie sometimes doesn't work with H2x or HR2x. Granted I'm only a month into the install of my HR44 but so far I've seen no issues between it and my HR21 or HR23. Now I may be missing something or I'm lucky or whatever but so far so good. Not challenging the statement, just trying to understand what might be known issues or problems.


Other than the obvious exception of the H20 and the special setup needed for the HR20-100, there really are no issues with HD boxes and a genie.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#67 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,095 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:30 PM

Add a client. There's issues. And you can't just let people have two genies and no clients. That would just become a disaster.

#68 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,217 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:53 PM

There's issues, known fact, thus the limit (for now).
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#69 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,000 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 13 December 2013 - 06:15 PM

I was beginning to scratch my umm head at this response but then it hit me. . . For a large number of (read likely well upwards of 90%) of subscribers adding a second Genie would require a truck roll to replace a SWM dish with a SWM 16 OR swap an 8 for a 16 or add another 8 or 16 into an existing infrastructure.

 

Allowing DIY could become a support nightmare (not that this couldn't happen by grabbing an extra DVR off of Solid Signal or Weaknees and hooking it up without doing the math) but I sort of can sense some of the uproar that might ensue.

 

I have dual 16s in place and more than enough capacity. My entire wiring infrastructure was contracted through a local low voltage shop and the initial head end equipment (Spaun amplified multiswitch through the upgrade to dual SWM8s) were contracted through them or a local AV specialist that services Direct TV. My home is too large and I am too persnickety to try to leverage some poor flat rate installer for my install.

 

My initial install leveraged single coax drops to the service locations and diplexers to split out the Sat and Terrestrial signals. When Direct upgraded to the current HD offerings that dipped into the OTA bands,  I had them again come out and add two additional lines to 4 locations (for DVRs) and just a second line to the others. All service locations also have hardwired Cat5e ports alongside the coax drops.

 

I have since converted the 8s to 16s myself and expanded the wall board to add in diplexers to bridge the 2 into a single DECA cloud but I am certainly not typical. I expected to pay for these services and I choose to "source" my own DVR "purchases" in order to get the models I choose. Again not normal.

 

Given the size of my infrastructure and number of technological leaps to keep pace with them I have spent upwards of 6K just on the infrastructure to support my Direct TV addictions :) I do all my own equipment installs and troubleshooting now leaving only dish alignment/repair/replacement to DirectTV.

 

I get it sort of when I step outside my own environment but OTOH it would seem to me that if one were to choose to add another Genie to their mix they should be able to pay for that privilege. Time and materials would be fair. Allow a procurement from SS or WK but insist on a truck roll for connection to add capacity if needed. If no additional components are required its a simple receiver install flat rate. Then after two years start crediting back in a monthly discount the cost of the Genie to the subscriber.

 

Ultimately subscriber gets what they desire, Direct ensures it works proper and doesn't hand it out for nothing, but assuming the subscriber doesn't churn, they will realize money back after they have maintained the service contract duration. Everybody wins.

 

Don "at least that is how it seems to me but what do I know?" Bolton

Add a client. There's issues. And you can't just let people have two genies and no clients. That would just become a disaster.


Go fast, turn left, repeat until done.


#70 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,199 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:03 PM

But it not costing you anything.

 

If anything it will bring your more work, something millions of Americans would welcome with open arms. Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app

1. correct, at the end of the day, we are trying to figure to why DirecTV does not allow 2 or more Genies per account.  and those are my 2 cents

 

2. you could keep that work, ask any installer and this is the worse type of work we could ever get....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#71 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:56 PM

There's issues, known fact, thus the limit (for now).


Well known. :)
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#72 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,611 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 14 December 2013 - 12:08 AM

Thinking this over, I don't think it is clients that don't know which server is which after a power failure reboot, but the servers not knowing which clients are theirs after a power failure reboot.booting.


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#73 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 December 2013 - 12:49 AM

Thinking this over, I don't think it is clients that don't know which server is which after a power failure reboot, but the servers not knowing which clients are theirs after a power failure reboot.booting.

Thinking verses experiencing will yield different results it seems.   


A.K.A VOS

#74 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,095 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 14 December 2013 - 01:24 AM

Thinking verses experiencing will yield different results it seems.


Seems or definitely? ;)

#75 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 December 2013 - 12:24 PM

Thinking this over, I don't think it is clients that don't know which server is which after a power failure reboot, but the servers not knowing which clients are theirs after a power failure reboot.booting.


Your thoughts are incorrect.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT




Protected By... spam firewall...And...