Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Hopper OTA adapter with ViP211z?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,861 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 01:42 PM

Hi,

has anyone here tried the Hopper OTA adapter with the ViP211z? According to the manual it should work, but I'm looking for independent confirmation from someone who is actually using it.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 347 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 01:49 PM

I don't have a 211z but folks on the other site have reported it as wroking successfully. If Dish says its supported then it will work.



#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,861 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 01:52 PM

Understood, but I'm hoping someone here at this site will report that it has worked for them.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 347 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 11 December 2013 - 02:29 PM

Suit your self. :grin:



#5 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 02 January 2014 - 03:23 PM

Yes it works, I've used it myself.



#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 January 2014 - 03:25 PM

then it will come general question: do we have a full list of models what are support the OTA dongle ?



#7 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 347 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 06:54 PM

Hopper, HWS and 211z



#8 OFFLINE   rakstr

rakstr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 22 August 2014 - 08:20 AM

I'm just now starting to look at DISH after 18 years with DTV.  If one puts the OTA adapter on the main unit (Hopper?)

  1. Do all the local stations available show up in the guide?
  2. Can they be recorded?
  3. Are they available on the client devices?
  4. Can client 1 be watching 21-2 and client 2 be watching 5-2 (presuming these two OTA stations are NOT in the DISH feed and OTA only)?


#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 August 2014 - 12:49 PM

 

I'm just now starting to look at DISH after 18 years with DTV.  If one puts the OTA adapter on the main unit (Hopper?)

  1. Do all the local stations available show up in the guide?
  2. Can they be recorded?
  3. Are they available on the client devices?
  4. Can client 1 be watching 21-2 and client 2 be watching 5-2 (presuming these two OTA stations are NOT in the DISH feed and OTA only)?

 

wouldn't be posting in other thread appropriate for your questions about ota dongle and hopper instead of 211z+ota topic ?






spam firewall