Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Any ideas....?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 13 December 2013 - 09:15 AM

My 2 HR's are in the living room. I run a long(65') HDMI cable to my bedroom TV. I had it connected to my HR21 for several years. No problems, nice picture. Recently I switched the HDMI cable to the HR44, because the RC71 remote seems quicker in RF than the old RF remote from the HR21. The picture is still very good, but when I press the "Info" bar or the "Menu" button, the black background of those graphics have what I would call "Snow" breaking up the solid color of the background graphic. I tried a new HDMI cable, no change. Then I switched the same cable back to the HR21 and the "snow" goes away.....?  What may be causing this to happen?  HDMI output on the 44 is "less" powerful than the 21?  I probably can live with this as the picture seems unaffected but any suggestions appreciated......



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,380 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 13 December 2013 - 09:42 AM

Your guess may be right on. I'd try moving to a spot where you can test with a short HDMI cable.....


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#3 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 13 December 2013 - 09:51 AM

Your guess may be right on. I'd try moving to a spot where you can test with a short HDMI cable.....

Thanks... Yea I did that. I moved the bedroom tv to my office(1st floor) and tried it @ 50', no issues at all. So that extra 25' is a struggle for the 44, but not the 21. The odd part for me is that it seems to only affect the black graphics?


Edited by bnwrx, 13 December 2013 - 09:52 AM.


HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#4 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,665 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:22 AM

If you can get by with 60' instead of 65', this "redmere" HDMI cable should solve your problem: http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

If you can get by with a 50' redmere cable, it's less expensive here: http://www.solidsign...ku=819728010136

EDITED TO ADD: This site has both 75' and 100' redmere cables: http://www.cablesfor...logy-P7149.aspx


/steve

#5 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:40 AM

If you can get by with 60' instead of 65', this "redmere" HDMI cable should solve your problem: http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

If you can get by with a 50' redmere cable, it's less expensive here: http://www.solidsign...ku=819728010136

EDITED TO ADD: This site has both 75' and 100' redmere cables: http://www.cablesfor...logy-P7149.aspx

Thanks....I The BR TV gets very little use, so I can't justify cables at that price when I don't know for sure if its the cable. The 21's signal works fine with my current cables, so I'm thinking it has more to do with the 44.



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#6 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,665 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 10:56 AM

According to this article, conventional HDMI cables could max out at about 45' for HD, so I think you're lucky the HR2x's worked with the 65' cable: http://www.bluejeans...an-hdmi-run.htm

Those redmere cables have some kind of amplification technology built-in to the connectors that supposedly guarantees HD performance at longer distances. :shrug:


/steve

#7 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 13 December 2013 - 11:15 AM

According to this article, conventional HDMI cables could max out at about 45' for HD, so I think you're lucky the HR2x's worked with the 65' cable: http://www.bluejeans...an-hdmi-run.htm

Those redmere cables have some kind of amplification technology built-in to the connectors that supposedly guarantees HD performance at longer distances. :shrug:

Really good read....

I especially liked these statements.....

" ......This is one of the maddening things about HDMI: it's not really possible to say with perfect confidence that a long cable will or will not work in a given application because once one is in "non-compliant" territory, it all depends upon the characteristics of the devices in use. It's not uncommon, with long cables, to find that they work with one source or display and not with another."

"....If you're in the longer-than-50-foot category, it gets dicier. We have had good consistent results with the Series-1 cable out to 100 feet, with reports of no trouble in the great majority of installations. Cable quality starts to be a real concern at these distances, and performance always is hard to predict, especially because the cable that works on one source/display pair may not work on another. There is, unfortunately, no really good way to know what will work without plugging it in."

"...On the other hand, if your installation will not restrict your access to your cable, and if the inexpensive cable works well with your gear today, there's no compelling need to have the best possible cable quality."



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#8 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,100 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 13 December 2013 - 12:40 PM

Only device I recall having trouble with was the Panasonic Blu-ray/VCR combo. (yeah, there really was such a device).

 

40 feet to a Samsung LED panel never worked.  The DirecTV  box worked with either cable I installed, and the Panny neither.

 

Sorry I don't recall the brand of HDMI cables, but the TV was on a full axis mount, and I always spring for the good ones when there is movement in the install.



#9 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 600 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 13 December 2013 - 01:58 PM

I've got a 60 foot HDMI cable running from my HR44-500 to a bedroom and I use an HDMI extender from Monoprice to guarantee a good signal.

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x0987
DirecTV since 1997


#10 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,283 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 13 December 2013 - 02:11 PM

According to this article, conventional HDMI cables could max out at about 45' for HD, so I think you're lucky the HR2x's worked with the 65' cable: http://www.bluejeans...an-hdmi-run.htm

Those redmere cables have some kind of amplification technology built-in to the connectors that supposedly guarantees HD performance at longer distances. :shrug:


Redmere works great. Use a few myself.

#11 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 13 December 2013 - 04:09 PM

I've got a 60 foot HDMI cable running from my HR44-500 to a bedroom and I use an HDMI extender from Monoprice to guarantee a good signal.

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

Where is this placed in the run? Does it need a power source?



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#12 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 600 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:22 PM

Where is this placed in the run? Does it need a power source?

I have it placed about 3 feet from the TV. It does not need a power source, but you will need a short HDMI cable to run between it and the TV.

HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x0987
DirecTV since 1997


#13 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,380 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:27 PM

Kinda an aside:

 

Last year at CES I asked a company rep how far they could extend an HDMI run. He said a mile, but with an expensive booster... 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#14 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,423 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 14 December 2013 - 11:47 AM

Last year at CES I asked a company rep how far they could extend an HDMI run. He said a mile, but with an expensive booster...

SDI-HD is good for about 100 meters over RG59 (about $140/end). Fiber is good for 20 kilometers ($170 for the pair on eBay, not including fiber).

The OWLink solution that DIRECTV used with the HR21Pro was supposed to be good for 300 meters but I'm not sure OWL is still viable.

I use the Monoprice wall plates ($32 w/IR back channel) with two 70' runs of shielded 350MHz CAT5 and the setup has been bulletproof with any and all devices. I think they rate it to 30 meters.

While I love fiber and it is getting cheaper all the time, I really don't like fishing terminated cabling.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#15 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 14 December 2013 - 04:15 PM

UPDATE:

I had time today to try this. I moved a 32" LG LCD from my office to the bedroom today and hooked up the HDMI cable to it. The picture and graphics are perfect!!

So it could be the brand of TV combined with the cable length causing the issues. I put the bedroom TV in the office and it works fine there......



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#16 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,380 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 14 December 2013 - 07:32 PM

Good sleuthing and research! Thanks for sharing. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#17 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,859 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 December 2013 - 07:14 AM

Here is an amplifier. But , even it says about 50 feet. Most of what I read is the gauge of the wire that you are using to get to that distance. Even extension cords and some electric devices specify what gage of wire to run the item at a long distance.

From what I am reading you do not have a large enough wire to support the signal from the HR44.

 

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

 

Note: For best results, Monoprice recommends using 22 and 24 AWG HDMI cables to achieve the best results from the amplifier and to ensure the minimum signal loss over longer distances.


Edited by jimmie57, 15 December 2013 - 07:15 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#18 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 15 December 2013 - 11:06 AM

Thanks jimmie57, but I think its resolved(see post #15).

It is still curious to me though that it manifested itself primarily in the "black" graphics......



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/





Protected By... spam firewall...And...