Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

2014 rate increase email


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,694 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 26 December 2013 - 11:55 AM

I keep thinking that is what I would like to do, but I can't seem to figger out a way to have it make sense.  Because of a couple of channels in HD differences, I would have to have a fairly high base sub with each which is the crux of the problem.

 

As it is, even though I'm basically seeing my bill double, I'll probably stick around with Dish.  My 1st year as a returnee, with the discounts that were there all during the 1st year with the premiums, Multi-sport and BB@Home, plus the 'new' customer discounts made the bill about $70/month the whole time.  If I average the past year with what I expect the next year to be, the average of the bill will be $105.  And that is about the number I like to be at.


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 28 December 2013 - 01:28 PM

not me

staying put



#53 OFFLINE   TheGrove

TheGrove

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 28 December 2013 - 07:29 PM

Well I heard on the news last night that DirectTV is raising their rates 5%, or about $5 as well.


2 Hoppers w/ Sling (2 - 2TB EHD)
1 Joey


#54 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,889 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 28 December 2013 - 08:45 PM

Yeah, you can get internet and phone bundled which may make the total desirable, although with either Dish or Direct combined and other ISP/phone providers you can do better.

 

 

 

I have posted that in the past and many people overlook it. I do exactly that, DISH for TV, VOIP from VoicePulse for $15 a month, and Charter for internet. Charter will lower your bill for three months if you call. It ends up actually alot cheaper than their bundling and DISH has FAR better equipment, and channels such as EuroNews, important things for me. VoicePulse has a much better service with all kinds of features all free as compared to Charter.


Edited by tampa8, 28 December 2013 - 08:47 PM.


#55 OFFLINE   mike1977

mike1977

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2005

Posted 28 December 2013 - 09:59 PM

Well I heard on the news last night that DirectTV is raising their rates 5%, or about $5 as well.

 

directv.com/2014pricing



#56 OFFLINE   comizzou573

comizzou573

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 285 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 29 December 2013 - 05:12 PM

I might end up switching to directv, dish always advertise low prices...when they talk about low prices they are talking about at100....they never think about their customers the one that been with them for 10+ years



#57 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 626 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 30 December 2013 - 05:16 AM

I might end up switching to directv, dish always advertise low prices...when they talk about low prices they are talking about at100....they never think about their customers the one that been with them for 10+ years

 

I don't know if that's true.  I switched from DirecTV in April of 2012, and at the time, I compared the prices and came to the conclusion that, for me, I'd save about $7/month after the promotional discount.  And this was as an AT250 customer.  The $25 "advanced receiver fee" really hit hard on the bottom line for this one-TV household.  I've even scaled back to AT200 during the tennis off-season, which saves me another $10/month.  And using the Hopper has been an almost unqualified joy compared to the horrible experience I had with my DirecTV HD DVR (which made the $25 "advanced receiver" fee an especially bitter pill to swallow.)

 

I would still be a DirecTV customer if they had guaranteed me a specific model of receiver.  But even now, with talk about the HR34 being unacceptably slow for some users, DirecTV considers the HR34 and HR44 to be identical and won't promise you either model when you order.  Or if you want the HR2x series, you could get anything from a 21-24.  Not that it matters - DirecTV has a long history of releasing firmware updates that turn even fast DVRs into turtles.



#58 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,562 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 01 January 2014 - 06:54 PM

Did you try a local installer?

 

I would think a local installer could provide you the receiver you request.


Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#59 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,043 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 02 January 2014 - 06:03 AM

For each of these increases, I wonder how much of net loss they take from people leaving or switching?


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#60 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,662 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 02 January 2014 - 06:34 AM

DISH has had a few negative quarters ... such losses do not have to be reflected immediately as many customers are still under contract when they see their rate increase. But it would be short sighted to blame all of DISH's net loss on price increases.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#61 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 02 January 2014 - 08:25 AM

This is very likely it for me. As much as I'm a fan of the hardware, as a family we spend so much more time on the Roku now. Netflix, Plex and everything else that comes along with it.

 

It'll be tough losing some of the other perks, but at this point I can't justify it financially.


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#62 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,694 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 08:38 AM

If it wasn't for live boxing and golf, I could cut the cord myself and be just fine.  Well, I could if I was the only one in the house.

 

IPTV for multiple boxes is still an issue for many of us in the more rural parts of the country.  We can get 12-15Mbps 'net service which could suffice for 2-3 HD video streams most of the time.  But bandwidth caps are here with the cable company though not with the DSL provider.  I have 12Mbps DSL service, but I'm at the far end of the distance allowed for that and usually get between 10 and 11.

 

So instead of 'justifying' sticking around, I chose to 'rationalize'!!  :)


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#63 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,043 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 02 January 2014 - 10:10 AM

This is very likely it for me. As much as I'm a fan of the hardware, as a family we spend so much more time on the Roku now. Netflix, Plex and everything else that comes along with it.

 

It'll be tough losing some of the other perks, but at this point I can't justify it financially.

Same here.  I'm trying to decide between dropping from 250 to 120, 120+ or nothing at all.  The packages below 120 don't seem to be worthwhile at all.

 

Something has to happen in the next couple of days for sure.

 

I just wish somebody could say for certain if I'd get anything at all with no subscription.  Some people say you get some of the free channels and previews, others insist you won['t get anything at all.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#64 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,267 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:25 AM

If it wasn't for live boxing and golf, I could cut the cord myself and be just fine. Well, I could if I was the only one in the house.

IPTV for multiple boxes is still an issue for many of us in the more rural parts of the country. We can get 12-15Mbps 'net service which could suffice for 2-3 HD video streams most of the time. But bandwidth caps are here with the cable company though not with the DSL provider. I have 12Mbps DSL service, but I'm at the far end of the distance allowed for that and usually get between 10 and 11.

So instead of 'justifying' sticking around, I chose to 'rationalize'!! :)

Just wondering what live boxing and golf does Dish have that Directv doesn't? Just curious

Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app



#65 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,694 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:46 AM

I don't think there is a difference between Dish and Direct for live boxing and golf, though D* does do more extended coverage of a couple of golf's biggies.  That latter isn't all that important to me.

 

My adult son and I are discussing what to do with these increases.  We both love the Hoppers we have and we share very little as our viewing choices are quite a bit different.  I can save money by making the switch, but would lose my archived content as would he.  How much value that has is the main conversation.  We both could be very comfortable with either service as we have in the past. We both think the Hopper is very much better than the Genie, but that wouldn't be the sole reason to choose to not switch.

 

One factor that concerns me is that I got my new sign up with Dish a year ago from a dealer who is a personal friend.  I don't know when or if he gets dinged if I cancel at the end of the 1st year, I wouldn't want that to happen.


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#66 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,408 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:56 AM

I don't think there is a difference between Dish and Direct for live boxing and golf, though D* does do more extended coverage of a couple of golf's biggies.  That latter isn't all that important to me.

 

You have Epix on Dish and they show boxing.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#67 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,694 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:05 PM

You have Epix on Dish and they show boxing.

 

Very little of it.

 

Frankly one of the things that will happen if I stay with Dish is cancelling BB@Home because it has little value imo.  And Epix is now the single worst premium channel for repeats.  Reminds me of MonstersHD at the end of their run.  :(


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#68 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,043 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:23 PM

I don't know when or if he gets dinged if I cancel at the end of the 1st year, I wouldn't want that to happen.

If you're still under contract, YOU'LL get dinged.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#69 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,694 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:25 PM

If you're still under contract, YOU'LL get dinged.

 

Yes, but D* will cover $200 of that and that is all factored into a possible switch.  Would save about $25/month including all 'dings' and promos.  And that even counts the discounts I'm getting on the premiums with Dish now.


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#70 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,043 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:58 PM

Pulled the pin, sort of.

 

Dropped to 120 for now since you apparently can't cancel on-line.

 

We'll see how that goes for a month or so.

 

Would be nice for a Dirt to step in and offer Encore free for 60 days or so.  Not holding my breath though.


  • DoyleS likes this
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#71 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,694 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:01 PM

You should be able to drop/add online, I've never had a problem with doing that.


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#72 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,043 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:21 PM

I can drop/add, but not disconnect/terminate.

 

Change took effect already with many channels turning red or green in the EPG signifying unsubscribed.  No serious losses.  Two that bother me are TCM and BBCA, but I'll live.

 

Surprise is the locals.  I didn't expect to get them since I only see one bird right now.  I thought they were on another and I'd need a different LNB.

 

Didn't have locals before since I was on an old version of 250 that didn't include them.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#73 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:24 PM

Same here.  I'm trying to decide between dropping from 250 to 120, 120+ or nothing at all.  The packages below 120 don't seem to be worthwhile at all.

 

I'm in a unique situation where I can't drop lower than I already am. It's kind of a rock and hard place issue.


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#74 OFFLINE   DoyleS

DoyleS

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,005 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:51 PM

I got bit dropping from 200 to 120 and losing BBC America.  Actually only one show and that was Copper.  But the series has been cancelled now so no real loss.  Most of my watching is Network oriented but I am a big time shifter and at times there are 3 timers running simultaneously.  A little difficult to do if you only receive OTA.   I have been pretty aggressive trying to keep my bill at $100 or less.  It is the multiple receiver, DVR and  HD/BB@H fees that push my bill up.  My Sling adapter will get pressed into service again next month when the Olympics start.  Long term,   I think i there will be some better alternatives as the program sources begin selling their content to various internet  providers. My adult kids have all cut the cable and pretty much exist on Netflix streaming and Hulu Plus and OTA with no DVR.   


Receivers= 722K, 722, 211K,
Dishes=Dish1000.2
Sling Adapter

#75 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,043 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 02 January 2014 - 05:22 PM

I'm not getting all the locals though.  The ones that are in the 9000 range and repeated in the lower numbers are the ones I don't get.  The ones that only appear in the lower numbers are fine.  HD vs SD?  No SD versions available?


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...