Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24-100 Issue


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:11 PM

I have been noticing picture flickering during shows.  I have checked all wires and connections and all seem fine.  What may be the cause of this and how might I fix it.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,120 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:26 PM

Did you check your sat levels?


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#3 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:30 PM

Did you check your sat levels?

 

Yes between 95-100 on all



#4 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,120 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:31 PM

On both tuners?  Could it be from your TV and not your Sat signal?  What about your resolutions?


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#5 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:37 PM

On both tuners?  Could it be from your TV and not your Sat signal?  What about your resolutions?

 

 

Yes, both tuners.  I am using a PC monitor and not an actual TV



#6 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,120 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:39 PM

I would guess it has something to do with the resolutions available to a monitor.  But that is an area others with much more expertise should be able to help with.

 

But 1 thing:  have you tried changing the formats and resolutions under the display options to see if any of them work better than another?


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#7 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:44 PM

I have not however I have another box and monitor in the same room and that one does not do this. One is a HR-24-200 and the one with the issue is 100



#8 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,120 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:50 PM

It might be that they each have different display options set up.  It can't hurt to check.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#9 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 10:13 PM

Tried as suggested and still the same issue



#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,637 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 December 2013 - 10:14 PM

I have not however I have another box and monitor in the same room and that one does not do this. One is a HR-24-200 and the one with the issue is 100

"Seems like" swapping monitors or receivers should point to which is the problem.

The HR24 100/200 are the same basic hardware, where the -500 is the one slightly different.


A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 19 December 2013 - 11:18 PM

"Seems like" swapping monitors or receivers should point to which is the problem.

The HR24 100/200 are the same basic hardware, where the -500 is the one slightly different.

I am going to call for a service call and see if they can swap the box out. Connected with Component cables and HDMI and same issue no matter what.



#12 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 20 December 2013 - 07:54 AM

So you swapped monitors and the flickering followed the directv receiver?  Leave the cables where they are at, just swap the monitors, if the flickering happens on the other monitor as well, then it is either the receiver, or the cables.  If the flickering moves to the other monitor, then its the monitor.



#13 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 20 December 2013 - 10:22 AM

So you swapped monitors and the flickering followed the directv receiver?  Leave the cables where they are at, just swap the monitors, if the flickering happens on the other monitor as well, then it is either the receiver, or the cables.  If the flickering moves to the other monitor, then its the monitor.

 

Yes, flickering stayed



#14 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,637 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 December 2013 - 10:26 AM

Yes, flickering stayed

It's starting to look like the receiver, but try swapping cables to make sure it isn't a bad cable.


A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 20 December 2013 - 12:40 PM

Yup. so it stayed with the monitor?  now you try a different cable.  That way you have eliminated the variables



#16 OFFLINE   wcwman18

wcwman18

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 20 December 2013 - 01:52 PM

Tried different cables and the issue is still there.  Have a tech set to come out tomorrow and take a look.






spam firewall