Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Can ethernet of HR34 supply internet to Whole Home Setup via SWM?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jtrain73

jtrain73

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2006

Posted 20 December 2013 - 08:22 AM

I have: HR34, HR24, H24 and C31.  Currently working and connected fine over single wire setup, each receiver can see each other and I have internet features on the coax network via a DECABB1R0 (small black box connected to my router and then a coax into the directv splitter).

 

However, I want to move some equipment around and where the DECABB1R0 is currently will no longer work.  In the new setup, my HR34 will be right next to my internet router.  

 

Can I simply plug an ethernet cable from my router into the HR34 to supply internet to the DirecTV coax network?  Or do I need to get a 2-way DirecTV splitter and kepp the DECABB1R0 "in-line" to the HR34?

 

EDIT: After posting this question, I found the answer is YES I can use the ethernet port on the HR34 to bridge internet to the coax network as this link on SS: http://manuals.solid...White Paper.pdf


Edited by jtrain73, 20 December 2013 - 08:30 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Conway

Conway

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 216 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2002

Posted 20 December 2013 - 08:29 AM

Yes the HR34 has a built in deca.. simply plug in your ethernet cable from your router and the Genie will do the rest.


Bring On More HD!

#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,870 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 December 2013 - 09:30 AM

Agreed. Works great.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...