Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

More HD than just on 129?

How many birds transmit HD?

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mraroid

mraroid

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2006

Posted 27 December 2013 - 10:32 AM

Over 5 years ago, when I bought my 622 at Costco (it has just come out) and did a self install,  the only HD from DishNetwork came from the 129 bird.  So, because I live close to the canada border, I decied the leave the two SD LNBs in the 1000 dish, and move the 129 HD LNB to a DishNetwork 500 dish.  Unlike my DishNetwork neighbors, I have had really high gain on both my two SD LNBs on the dish 1000, and my single HD LNB on my dish 500 which is pointed directly at the 129 bird. 

 

Because my system has worked so well, I have not bothered to keep up with the technology.  I hear people saying that HD is now coming from the two SD birds - 119 and 110.

 

Is this true?  And if this is true, do I need to switch out what I have been calling the SD LNBs that came with the original 1000 dish? Or are they capable of recieveing HD as well?

 

I am so confused.  So I thought I would ask here.

 

Thanks

 

jack

 

(been out of the loop for a while, sorry)

 

 

 

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,352 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 27 December 2013 - 12:25 PM

More HD then just on 129?

"than"


.


~ 12 Year Anniversary ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#3 OFFLINE   RBA

RBA

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 420 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 27 December 2013 - 12:31 PM

The LNBs are the same no such thing as HD/SD LNBs.



#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,499 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 27 December 2013 - 03:27 PM

If you have 110, 119 and 129, you have all the HD TPs covered unless Dish sticks tour HD locals on 61.5.

 

HD LNBs are just like HDTV antennas - no different from the SD ones, they all capture certain frequencies of radiation.


Edited by Jim5506, 27 December 2013 - 03:28 PM.

Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#5 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,857 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 31 December 2013 - 08:11 PM

To answer your question, yes there a few, not many, HD channels on 110 that are not on 129. USA comes to mind. 119 has SyFi. There may be a very few more on each. Most all the HD channels  are not CONUS they are meant for places that can not get 129 or the Eastern Arc satellites.


Edited by tampa8, 31 December 2013 - 08:17 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,048 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 December 2013 - 08:54 PM

Just watch James  Long sticky  thread Uplink changes and you'll know when and what HD or SD channels come and go on all satellites... happy NY !






Protected By... spam firewall...And...