Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Windows XP going end of life


  • Please log in to reply
128 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,132 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 06 February 2014 - 06:13 AM

Two issues for me:

 

I can hardly give up outlook express.

 

Is there a GOOD email program similar to it? I like writing off line, more importantly, sending out links of various web sites is a snap, and I do this often. It has to be close, I don't have the time to learn another all over again, LOL.

 

Also, the other person in the house plays older video games like COD and ww2 stuff. Don't know if this will work for him.

When I got my new HP about 2 years ago with Windows 7 on it it did not have Outlook Express on it and I was upset.

I found this program called Windows Live Essentials and downloaded it and installed it.

http://windows.micro...live/essentials

 

It has plusses and minuses compared to Outlook Express. One minus is that when you put a link in it, it does not get underlined and therefore is not a link and just text, even with it in rich text mode. However, I have discovered if you get to the right end of it with the cursor and then hit enter it does underline it and turn it into a link.

A big plus is that ( I also got a Laptop close to the time I got the new HP desktop ) when I installed this onto the laptop, it picked up all my contacts and their information and the calendar stuff. If I remove or add a contact on one machine it is updated on the other.

 

You can add folders, make rules about emails and have them move directly from the Inbox to another folder determined by a rule you make up, etc.

It is very similar to Outlook Express.

 

You have to have Windows 7 or higher to use Windows Live Essentials.


Edited by jimmie57, 06 February 2014 - 06:15 AM.

  • satcrazy likes this

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,609 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 February 2014 - 10:14 AM

And for the old games, same advise as before, try an an XP VM or Windows 7 Pro or higher XP Mode if they don't work on Windows 7 itself.



#28 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 919 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 06 February 2014 - 05:25 PM

I know I read somewhere that running XP [ VM] or VM in 7 still exposes XP to viruses and of course, No updates.

 

Never ran a VM, but read about it, it can get snakey, I understand.

 

J57, I will look at W live, thanks........


chris


#29 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,375 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 06 February 2014 - 06:15 PM

Exposure to viruses under  a VM should be minimal, if you're not using email or a lot of surfing.


We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#30 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,609 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 February 2014 - 07:31 PM

Just thought of something, XP Mode may not be the best option, no 3D hardware acceleration. Virtualbox does support that (free download, you must provide the XP disc and license).

 

If the XP VM doesn't need network or Internet access, you can turn that off. So at that point you have a standalone XP machine that can't access anything. Hard for a hacker to get into or get a virus.

 

And of course you can use Firefox or Chrome (which aren't dropping XP support yet) and a third party AV after Microsoft drops Security Essentials support in 2015.



#31 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,132 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 08 February 2014 - 10:48 AM

Just finished updating my old desktop with all the Windows update and the updates to the updates and the optional updates.

Then I moved on to the security updates, Java, Adobe Reader.

Ran a full scan.

Holey Moley, 4 hours. That thing is slow. We have fast internet, Comcast 50 Mbps so the download time was minimal.

It had been about 6 months since I was on it.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#32 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,609 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 February 2014 - 09:14 AM

Just finished updating my old desktop with all the Windows update and the updates to the updates and the optional updates.
Then I moved on to the security updates, Java, Adobe Reader.
Ran a full scan.
Holey Moley, 4 hours. That thing is slow. We have fast internet, Comcast 50 Mbps so the download time was minimal.
It had been about 6 months since I was on it.


Don't forget Flash if it's installed, they had an out of band security update.

I like a program from Secunia, PSI. Free personal scanner that checks for security updates or end of life status for all your apps.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#33 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:50 PM

I think XP will last a few more years based on this.

 

If you use Audacity on XP, you can copy audio from Youtube or other streaming sources. There is a Bug in 7 which does not allow you to do this. Unless one of you knows about a DLL file to modify to regain the ability.

Audacity lets me capture audio on Windows 8.1. I haven't tried this on my Windows 7 laptop.


Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#34 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:52 PM

Two issues for me:

 

I can hardly give up outlook express.

 

Is there a GOOD email program similar to it? I like writing off line, more importantly, sending out links of various web sites is a snap, and I do this often. It has to be close, I don't have the time to learn another all over again, LOL.

 

Also, the other person in the house plays older video games like COD and ww2 stuff. Don't know if this will work for him.

I've been very happy with Thunderbird as my e-mail client for many years. I hardly ever used Outlook Express, so can't vouch for its similarity to Thunderbird.


Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#35 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,375 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:35 AM

I haven't been able to get Audacity to record from on-line audio on Win 8.1.  Haven't spent a lot of time with it - is there any quick fix?


We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#36 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,609 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 February 2014 - 10:21 AM

I'd think this kind of function could be affected by drivers as well.



#37 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,375 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2014 - 11:21 AM

A quick google found that you need to enable 'Stereo Mix' in the Sound / Recording.  Didn't see it but a Right-click showed disabled items.

 

Thanks for reminding me that I hadn't looked!


We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#38 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,609 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:43 PM

A compatibility update was released today for 8.1 that includes Audacity, though it really only has to do with Skydrive/OneDrive.



#39 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 12 February 2014 - 12:44 PM

I haven't been able to get Audacity to record from on-line audio on Win 8.1.  Haven't spent a lot of time with it - is there any quick fix?

Audacity 2.0.4 is working for me on Win 8.1 and records on-line audio with no special set-up needed.


Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#40 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,023 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 12 February 2014 - 12:50 PM

I find it suspect -that my XP machines would not work with win7 when first released and would need to be trashed (however) now all of a sudden My same xp machines can now suddenly work if I pay to install win7 32 bit on them- very strange?


"Let's Have Some Fun!"
SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK

#41 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,609 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 February 2014 - 02:16 PM

I find it suspect -that my XP machines would not work with win7 when first released and would need to be trashed (however) now all of a sudden My same xp machines can now suddenly work if I pay to install win7 32 bit on them- very strange?

 

What told you they wouldn't work? It's also possible that when Win7 was first released, there weren't compatible drivers, but drivers eventually came out and compatibility matrices updated.


  • satcrazy likes this

#42 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 919 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 13 February 2014 - 03:38 PM

A quick google found that you need to enable 'Stereo Mix' in the Sound / Recording.  Didn't see it but a Right-click showed disabled items.

 

Thanks for reminding me that I hadn't looked!

 

 

 

Had this same issue at first. Kept playing with the settings, and there it was. Viola!

 

The older version I have on XP didn't have that issue. So it was a small learning curve. I love audacity. Captures audio in W7 just fine.

 

Now I just need to try some of those older games on my new pc with 7 to see if I'm concerned over nothing....


Edited by satcrazy, 13 February 2014 - 03:41 PM.

chris


#43 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 919 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 13 February 2014 - 06:16 PM

OK,

 

I just installed windows live essentials for email.

 

So far, it isn't that difficult.

 

However, when I try to send link by mail on IE, the page drop down [ top right corner] the "send link" or "send page" is grayed out.

 

This is a must have for me as it worked perfectly in XP with outlook.

 

After I downloaded and went to install, I had the option of what to install. I only picked Mail, since I didn't see the need for the other programs. I wonder if I needed something else besides mail?

 

Any ideas? I hate not having that option.


chris


#44 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,023 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 13 February 2014 - 06:47 PM

What told you they wouldn't work? It's also possible that when Win7 was first released, there weren't compatible drivers, but drivers eventually came out and compatibility matrices updated.

When I ran the MS app on each machine to test if my machine was compatible -Can back with hardware was not acceptable -Now years latter and the app says it will work


"Let's Have Some Fun!"
SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK

#45 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 919 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 13 February 2014 - 06:50 PM

When I got my new HP about 2 years ago with Windows 7 on it it did not have Outlook Express on it and I was upset.

I found this program called Windows Live Essentials and downloaded it and installed it.

http://windows.micro...live/essentials

 

It has plusses and minuses compared to Outlook Express. One minus is that when you put a link in it, it does not get underlined and therefore is not a link and just text, even with it in rich text mode. However, I have discovered if you get to the right end of it with the cursor and then hit enter it does underline it and turn it into a link.

A big plus is that ( I also got a Laptop close to the time I got the new HP desktop ) when I installed this onto the laptop, it picked up all my contacts and their information and the calendar stuff. If I remove or add a contact on one machine it is updated on the other.

 

You can add folders, make rules about emails and have them move directly from the Inbox to another folder determined by a rule you make up, etc.

It is very similar to Outlook Express.

 

You have to have Windows 7 or higher to use Windows Live Essentials.

 

 

Thanks  a lot for the tip on the enabling the link to become "clickable". [ works well]

 

I first had to figure out how to set livemail as the default client to enable the page menu in IE to work.

 

I got it. [ must be in admin mode, start menu, default programs," set program access and computer defaults", choose livemail as client, reboot pc.

 

So far I'm liking livemail. Thanks for the download link!


chris


#46 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,132 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 February 2014 - 07:21 PM

Thanks  a lot for the tip on the enabling the link to become "clickable". [ works well]

 

I first had to figure out how to set livemail as the default client to enable the page menu in IE to work.

 

I got it. [ must be in admin mode, start menu, default programs," set program access and computer defaults", choose livemail as client, reboot pc.

 

So far I'm liking livemail. Thanks for the download link!

You are welcome. Glad it is working for you.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#47 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,609 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 February 2014 - 07:52 PM

When I ran the MS app on each machine to test if my machine was compatible -Can back with hardware was not acceptable -Now years latter and the app says it will work

 

I'm not surprised, drivers updated, hardware certified for 7, etc.



#48 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 15 February 2014 - 12:03 PM

I find it suspect -that my XP machines would not work with win7 when first released and would need to be trashed (however) now all of a sudden My same xp machines can now suddenly work if I pay to install win7 32 bit on them- very strange?

Can work or does work?

 

Give us some details on your XP machine.

 

I finally replaced my 7-year-old HP Pavilion running XP with a new HP Pavilion with Windows 8 (now upgraded to 8.1) last year.


Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#49 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,023 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 15 February 2014 - 12:18 PM

Can work or does work?

 

Give us some details on your XP machine.

 

I finally replaced my 7-year-old HP Pavilion running XP with a new HP Pavilion with Windows 8 (now upgraded to 8.1) last year.

Using the same MS app - Before I didn't have enough memory 2-gig - hardware (chipset) wasn't robust enough - Dell Insp laptop 9100(2004) - MS app Now proclaims can work just fine for win7. 32 bit. So I will just limp along till win 9 comes out - using chrome and norton should last.


"Let's Have Some Fun!"
SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK

#50 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 919 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 06 March 2014 - 09:05 PM

has anyone heard if there will be a round up cd of security updates? I think MS did this for other OS in the past.

 

Id like to keep one computer with XP.


chris





Protected By... spam firewall...And...